Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Comfortable Boots for everyday wear (Male)

• 29-07-2013 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10

Hi everybody,

I'm looking for light(ish) boots for day to day wear. I've got a big pair of cats for outdoor work etc. but I'd like something more comfortable, though still rainproof.

Would it be worth getting something from the Army Surplus?

Any recommendations? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Rockport. Very light, waterproof and comfy. Usually have some nice styles in the range. Occasionally crop up in TK Maxx too.
    I have two pairs and they last well, even though the soul does wear a bit because it's soft.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Clark's and Ecco should be getting Autumn stuff in now and would be worth a look! Both usually have comfortable, but still stylish leather boots. Army Surplus tend to be more Docs/CAT sort, from what I remember anyway! It's been a while since I've been in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Keep an eye on Lidl/Aldi - my hubbie got a pair of boots from Aldi a few months back as he marshalls at car rallies and wellies hadn't the grip but runners weren't waterproof - he says their great and very comfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Good timing. Rather than start another thread, I'll be up in the smoke next week, and on the look out for a pair of boots that look like this:

http://goo.gl/49Xf11

There are lots of boots that look similar, but not the same. Basically, what I like about these is the shape of the toe, the heel and the buckle. Most others I see aren't as nice.

Have a look in China Blue in Temple Bar for boots like that.

Cheers for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 AnFearDorcha

Awesome! Thank ye!

And China Blue seem to have similar boots to what you were looking for Seachto7- awesome btw

You also wouldn't go wrong with a classic pair of 8 hole Doc Martens....

Are docs comfortable? I know they're pretty classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭joeperry

Checkout Grisport, they are very comfortable and Italian made.

Are docs comfortable? I know they're pretty classic

They are indeed, especially when they are broken in. First month is a bit tough! They usually last a long time as well. They came in handy during the winter just gone....

I love my Docs, have a few pairs. They do need time to break in though. Unfortunately I have a wonky knee so find them too heavy for every day wear now, shame as they're so comfortable! I can't win!

My shoes and feet got destroyed in the rain today so I bit the bullet and got a pair of black 8-hole Docs. So far they're pretty comfortable and, most important, they're keeping me dry and happy.

You won't go wrong with Docs. They look a bit clumpy at first, but once they are broken in and soften up, they look cool as well..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Never had problems getting my docs to break in. When I took them off the first night after doing a fair bit of walking I didn't go "Ah" when I took them off, my feet were grand. Can't recommend them highly enough.

Doc Martens are the most comfortable things my feet have ever been in. They are a BITCH to break in though and it took me about a week. For the week though, wear 2 pairs of SPORTS socks or really wooly socks and that usually solved it although I didn't know that prior to getting them and got a blister on my 1st day of breaking them in! :/ China Blue is the place to get them and I think you can actually buy some of them broken in but I'd probably be against that as you want them shaped your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Wore Docs in school. 2 or 3 pairs. And then wore them for a couple of years working in an airport (steel toe, padded ankles).
    Tbh, they're heavy, hard and flat. Alright for knocking around in but walking anywhere in them is not nice. 2 years living in them gives you a unique perspective on them. Built to last though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭W123-80's

These lads are pricey. But they are worth it.

http://www.greatoutdoors.ie/index.php?manufacturers_id=17

They are lightweight, comfortable and waterproof. They will more than likely out live you also..!
    Considering any pair will set you back €100 I think these are worth the xtra bobs if your budget stretches.