Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

male babysitters

• 29-07-2013 5:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭

The question is would you let a man babysit your kids ?. I would if I knew them well enough fact is I wouldn't even let a woman I dont know babysit my child so what's other peoples opinions ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

The question is would you let a man babysit your kids ?. I would if I knew them well enough fact is I wouldn't even let a woman I dont know babysit my child so what's other peoples opinions ?.
    Most kids I've heard of have at least one male parent, why would males be unable to babysit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Many atime years ago let my male nephews babysit, never saw a problem,But suppose would rather have female,s baby sitting it being what they be used to and all that...

bye :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

I used to baby sit neighbours' kids when I was a teenager. I don't really get why someone wouldn't let a man baby sit their kids. Unless they believed in media hysteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Ummmmmm...chips!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Most kids I've heard of have at least one male parent, why would males be unable to babysit?
    Did you not hear? All men are paedophiles now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I'm first call for my friend's four. Three boys and a girl. Sat with each of them while they waited for the next little brother or sister to arrive home too. What's the issue? They're fed, they're cleaned, and we have great craic altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

If I knew them I'd let a male babysit, no problem.

What does annoy me though is when men say they are "babysitting" their own children (it would annoy me if a woman said it too but I've never heard it). Men I worked with used to say "oh I can't go out for pints after work on Friday, my wife's going out, I've to babysit". They're your fecking children! I'm at home with the baby all the time by myself but I don't tell people I'm babysitting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Emmm. The 70s called, they want their job descriptions back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I babysit my nephews and cousins a good lot. Probably not the wisest choice their parents have ever made since I allow them to play GTA the whole time

My house, my rules :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Of all the babysitters I had most were fellas. They were way better craic. I'd have absolutely no letting a man mind my child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

BNMC wrote: »
    Did you not hear? All men are paedophiles now.

No but 99% of all paedophiles are men. Lots of people saying they would but only if they knew the guy for this reason, I would certainly agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Male or female I don't know why someone would want to voluntarily look after someone else's kids. They're horrible, sticky little things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Eh, people are saying that they'd let a man babysit "if they knew him"... so does that mean you'd let a woman you didn't know babysit?

I'd like to think anyone, man or woman, who babysits would know the parents!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

MurdyWurdy wrote: »
    What does annoy me though is when men say they are "babysitting" their own children (it would annoy me if a woman said it too but I've never heard it). Men I worked with used to say "oh I can't go out for pints after work on Friday, my wife's going out, I've to babysit". They're your fecking children! I'm at home with the baby all the time by myself but I don't tell people I'm babysitting

Jesus wept you're easily offended aren't you? It's a joke, bit of a laugh, some banter... My wife says it too btw!

You need to get out more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

No but 99% of all paedophiles are men. Lots of people saying they would but only if they knew the guy for this reason, I would certainly agree

Really?

I suppose you have scientific evidence to back this absurd claim up?

On topic, have no problem with male babysitters. Did a bit myself when a teenager and was far better than any of my female friends/sisters as I used to actually play with the kids, rather than just sit there and watch tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

dotsman wrote: »
    Really?

On topic, have no problem with male babysitters. Did a bit myself when a teenager and was far better than any of my female friends/sisters as I used to actually play with the kids, rather than just sit there and watch tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Shamrock231

I'm the regular lad for go to baby sitting where I live, regularly babysit for 5 families who live close by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Jesus wept you're easily offended aren't you? It's a joke, bit of a laugh, some banter... My wife says it too btw!

You need to get out more.

They weren't saying it as a joke and I didn't say it offended me, I said it annoyed me. It's hardly offensive

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

MadsL wrote: »
    Emmm. The 70s called, they want their job descriptions back.

What are they called now?,Infant supervising technicians?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭becost

The question is would you let a man babysit your kids ?.

There's something really gay about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Am entertaining my niece on my knee right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

This KILLS me! You are not babysitting, it's called being a parent!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

My 15 yr old is amazing with kids. They naturally gravitate to him and he just makes them laugh and feel happy so I would love for him to get some babysitting work but dont really know anyone who needs one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

I baby sit my nephews and nieces. There should be no problem at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

This article may help shed some perspective on this issue..

http://news.discovery.com/human/mother-killer-murder-child.htm

Here is a quote in any case..
    According to the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, "Based on what we know about those who harm children, the danger to children is greater from someone they or their family knows than from a stranger."

A 2000 report by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Programs reported that over three-quarters of kidnappings were committed by family members or acquaintances of the child. The study also found that children abducted by strangers were harmed less frequently than those taken by acquaintances.

In fact, children are in far more danger of being abused, kidnapped or killed by their parents than any stranger on the street.

Nor is Duley's gender particularly unusual. Depending on which study you look at, mothers kill children at least as often as fathers do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Witchie wrote: »
    My 15 yr old is amazing with kids. They naturally gravitate to him and he just makes them laugh and feel happy so I would love for him to get some babysitting work but dont really know anyone who needs one!

My son, aged 16, is exactly the same. My sister is bringing him to Spain with her to help with her three boys under the age of 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I've never heard a man saying it about himself but I've heard plenty of women saying it about their husband/boyfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Shamrock231

Take it easy, all it means is that they're the one who's been designated to look after the kids that night. Everyone knows that's what it means. What's the big issue. It's not as if they're complaining that their wife/husband should do it instead, it's just an easy way of explaining exactly why you're not available.

What would you rather they say, "I'm sorry, however I am unable to partake in tonight's festivities as I am fulfilling my duty as a parent to supervise my off spring - Toodle pip." ??? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

I have no problem with male minding. I have done it for over tens and I'm a male

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

As long as you know the guy I don't really see a problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

dotsman wrote: »
    Really?

Yes it's in the Scientific Journal of Learning Not to Take Everything Literally, 2013, Chapter 1, p12-34 :pac:

Interestingly from a quick google this news item suggests the following:
    An influential study in the US in the 1980s suggested 20% of all offences against boys and 5% against girls were by women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

My father, one of my brothers, his other grandfather and two male friends of mine, if it was an emergency.

Wouldn't be comfortable with anyone else watching my son. The list is just as short with women though.

My father, one of my brothers, his other grandfather and two male friends of mine, if it was an emergency.

Wouldn't be comfortable with anyone else watching my son. The list is just as short with women though.

Why would you deem only one of your brothers competent enough to look after your son?!

..on the other hand, my nephew was up in bed til 3am the other night and I wasn't exactly demanding he go to sleep so yeah :o needs a stern voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I would never hire a babysitter to mind my child. Only close friends and family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

What would you rather they say, "I'm sorry, however I am unable to partake in tonight's festivities as I am fulfilling my duty as a parent to supervise my off spring - Toodle pip." ??? :rolleyes:

How about "I have to look after the kids"? :P

Why would you deem only one of your brothers competent enough to look after your son?!

..on the other hand, my nephew was up in bed til 3am the other night and I wasn't exactly demanding he go to sleep so yeah :o needs a stern voice.

I wouldn't trust my other brother with a goldfish. He would crap himself if I asked him. The one I would trust has 3 kids!

A goldfish, what about a hamster I accidentally crushed my more competent yet dumber brother's one year ago. If he has kids, I will ensure not to do likewise?!

Tried my damnedest to resuscitate that thing too. With a straw; think I exploded its little lungs.

A goldfish, what about a hamster I accidentally crushed my more competent yet dumber brother's one year ago. If he has kids, I will ensure not to do likewise?!

Tried my damnedest to resuscitate that thing too. With a straw; think I exploded its little lungs.

If your brother has kids and trusts you to mind them, then that's great.

I wouldn't feel comfortable leaving my son with my brother. That's ok too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭jetsonx

This is actually more common than people think.

The real reason being the bean an ti does not want some 16 year female hottie in the house as a temptress
    for her husbando.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

The only time I've let a stranger babysit my kids is if I've been at a wedding and the hotel provides a babysitter. You'd hope that they'd be vetted. They're usually young girls or aul wans.

Otherwise if the youngest is under one and likely to be waking in the night I'd usually ask a friend who's also a parent- we've had males and females. When they're older we get a local teenager who we know and trust and also know their parents. Again we've had boys and girls. I have some female friends that I would never ask (don't like kids, actively scared of babies) and some male friends who are brilliant. One of these did work experience in a crèche while he was still at school and loved the work but was basically told by the staff that no one would hire him! :( He went on to be a care assistant for people with special needs. At our kids kindergarten they had a male student teacher in for a week last term- some of the parents were raging, even though they have regularly had female students in without comment.