Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Commercial Jeep

• 29-07-2013 12:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭

Folks,

The father is looking for a 2nd hand Jeep for work use, it's going to be a workhorse and he's insisting on a bigger engine I.e bigger than a 2.0 diesel. I'm fairly struggling here, but its going to need to be reliable and most likely under €6k although he told me he'd like no older than 2004. The year isn't so important IMO but that's just himself.

Suggestions folks? BMW X5 Commercial comes to my mind anyway...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

166man wrote: »
    Folks,

The father is looking for a 2nd hand Jeep for work use, it's going to be a workhorse and he's insisting on a bigger engine I.e bigger than a 2.0 diesel. I'm fairly struggling here, but its going to need to be reliable and most likely under €6k although he told me he'd like no older than 2004. The year isn't so important IMO but that's just himself.

Suggestions folks? BMW X5 Commercial comes to my mind anyway...:D

2.8 or 3.1 Trooper. Admittedly pre-04 but 1st is frugal and 2nd can pull a house down.

3.0 Patrol, should be able to get a cheaper one now.

3.0 Land cruiser, keep an eye on the fuel system. Unless your making serious money towing, the 4.0 is just too thirsty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭The_Chap

I have an 06 Nissan Pathfinder commercial I need to change soon, great workhorse, well maintained and 160km on clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

2.8 or 3.1 Trooper. Admittedly pre-04 but 1st is frugal and 2nd can pull a house down.

3.1 trooper is the job, you want a workhorse... well that's a workehorse. I prefer the old 2.8 one myself but if the man in question wants 04 or newer (why? what's the point if just looking for a reliable tough tool for work, newer they are the more complicated they get) then the 3.1 is "too old" and the 2.8 is waaaay older. A bit of dinosaur now but still one of the best 4x4s ever made. The old patrols are tough old beasts too, only thing with them is it's slightly harder to get second hand bits. Landcruisers are nice and all, but that generation in that price bracket are a bit overpriced IMO.

Discovery with an old school tdi engine (for simplicity) makes a good workhorse but you've got to love landrovers to have one... they require a particular kind of soul :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Automatic land cruiser obviously

Particular soul indeed:D heh, yeah Im not sure what the predisposition here for post 04jeeps is. Theyre a complicated crowd now and if youve got 6 grand to spend, youll get a bloody mint Trooper. Id hold few modern jeeps in the same regard as the older generation. The D-Max and Rangers arent bad, The Mazda (BT-200?) is a decent machine and you wont get a post 04 Hilux for 6k!. The Old Navaras tend to put legs out of bed While the new ones eat clutches,and axles.But theyre all pick-ups. As for Full bodied jeeps the majority now are just glorified cars. The Nissan Pathfinder is actually a good body on frame off roader but for 6k youll get a chicken house. The Terrano is a tough beast too but more vulnerable than the Pathfinder or patrol. As mentioned Land cruisers are overpriced thanks to the Hilux' reputation. Other than that the only real "work horses" are the older boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Sound advice lads and really appreciate the replies. You're guesses are as good as mine on the has to be newer than '04. Tbh any Jeep suggested will do.

The Landcruisers are tempting though expensive(!), think the Trooper might be too agricultural for him though I'll certainly suggest it.

Would an X5 be a big no-no? Part of me reckons he wants something that will look good for the company too.

I should point out he isn't interested in pick ups or anything, a commercial jeep is what he'd like I think.

Cheers folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

An x5 isn't a workhorse.

What about a van, does he need 4wd?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    An x5 isn't a workhorse.

What about a van, does he need 4wd?

Doesn't want a van either, I suggested the X5 because it looks good and drives reasonably car like compared to the others which would be preferred.

The Jeep would be towing on a regular basis, Id imagine 4x4 is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭The_Chap

Doesn't want a van either, I suggested the X5 because it looks good and drives reasonably car like compared to the others which would be preferred.

The Jeep would be towing on a regular basis, Id imagine 4x4 is needed.

Pathfinder tows 3 tons, mine has a hitch already fitted ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Mitsubishi Pajero? Might aswell throw that out since none else has :P

Sound advice lads and really appreciate the replies. You're guesses are as good as mine on the has to be newer than '04. Tbh any Jeep suggested will do.

The Landcruisers are tempting though expensive(!), think the Trooper might be too agricultural for him though I'll certainly suggest it.

Would an X5 be a big no-no? Part of me reckons he wants something that will look good for the company too.

I should point out he isn't interested in pick ups or anything, a commercial jeep is what he'd like I think.

Cheers folks

X5 is not the same thing as any of the others there, it is a nice big toy, a fancy bmw car pretending to be a 4x4. More comfortable? probably? More car like to drive? Yes, but as a result it's less able for the job, far less able.

Being properly and professionally set up with the right tool for the job, kept in good order can look good for a company too, as opposed to looking good by being flashy.

An x5 "commercial" is just an excuse for a company executive to have cheap tax on a fancy car.

He should have a go in some of them too see what they're like. A lot of people, particularly a certain generation of auld lads who remember when a jeep meant a series 3 landrover or a BJ40 landcruiser (which although both lovely are pretty close to just being a well covered farm/construction implement) and as a result of that, despite not having been in many assume a 90s 4x4 is going to be like that, which they're not. You can drive any 90s or 00s 4x4 that's widely available in this country as a daily driver, and while they're not very fast and dont handle like car car they're not uncomfortale by any means.

Agreed. I own a Frontera A (97) and theyre essentially a trooper underneath right down to that precarious fuel tank, just with slightly weaker axles (off rrecord, trooper axles and shafts are a direct swap:D). You can get them with the trooper 2.8 (fitted from factort with 3.1 turbo, pump and possibly injectors) and the Isuzu Wizards, which is what they are, come regularly with the 3.1 fitted! Mine is a 2.5tds, love it. Much more gutsy than the 2.8, It can bloody haul ass for an old school jeep but it can be troublesome:o. The lwbs are a very capable tower and look well when cleaned up. Though mine is private, there was decent enough mileage on it before I parked it up. 180mls iirc. And the fella I bought it from was honest, saying it went to southern France every year with double axle, five berth caravan in tow. The service history however, was more like an encyclopedia! They bloody used,it but by god did they maintain it. I know many would rather shave with a chainsaw than own one but I picked mine up for 1200,(Not only is it an english yoke but it was at the youghal coast too!) put another 4 into a massive service, given it dogs abuse, minded it and It only ever let me down one morning when the glow plug loom came loose. Im afraid the Frontera B however does deserve its reputation:rolleyes:

Didn't bother mentioning fronteras because the good ones are even older than the 3.1 trooper, and yes lots of isuzu in those and they are proper old workhorses. It's too hard to even bother trying to convince people that the first generation are good because of how bad of a reputation the stupid B generation got.
    They're also not helped by a particular bad review on the internet based on somebody driving a 2.0 petrol swb vauxhall one and comparing it to a car.
    For me it has to be the LWB 2.8 or even the (horrificly slow) 2.3td but anyway we're going off topic here.

Advice to op still stands get him to try out a few, and if it's to be used for serious towing stick to a serious "agricultural" 4x4 not a car like imposter

Just remembered the Kia Sorrento. The older model is a tough old beast exept when people leave its part time 4wd engaged on the road:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

Discovery. Good for towing, great off road, looks the part for a business and this one is commercial. An 05 reg. Seems to tick all the boxes

http://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/discovery-needs-to-go-this-week/4775110

LandCruiser, Pajero and Trooper are all being looked at until I came across this today...

http://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/grande-cherokee/5362367

Very tempting by the looks of it...

LandCruiser, Pajero and Trooper are all being looked at until I came across this today...

http://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/grande-cherokee/5362367

Very tempting by the looks of it...

Oh dear. Fancy looking, but not really a workhorse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Kia sorento , cheap, easily found in automatic , body on frame, low range box, full time 4wd , reliable and you should get an 04-05 one under budget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Gona throw my 2 cents in here

Would you consider a Nissan navara? Or a landrover defender? both with 2.5 engines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭sandin

I'll suggest a Jeep Jeep!! :) - Grand Cherokee 2006 / 2007 should eb in your budget

I had one for years - did 150k miles with zero problems. Drive is extremely comfortable and it could probably pull an air plane. Has a 3.0 Mercedes engine and does abut 25 mpg

I traded in last year and the garage put it for sale at 8995 (incl vat) and probably got 8k. Year was 2007.

They never took off with the public and so suffered heavy depreciation - but that gives you an absolute bargain.