Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hybrid suggestion.Budget ~€500

• 27-07-2013 6:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭

Hi folks,
    I had a fine Grand Rapid 4 I got on the bike to work scheme, left it for 1 hour and some dirty c**t stole it from Blanch Centre so am back to using the old one now, heavy enough hybrid and gets me from A-B but doesn't have the speed I like for the flat parts of the journey.

I'm not a fan of racers as I don't like the dropdown bars and find them awkward steering and I'm accident prone, don't like full mtb as too much effort required on fat tyres for straight flat runs, so ideally I would like a flat bar racer/hybrid for good speed as most my common routes are flat 1km,traffic light,1/2 km,junction etc.

Any recommendations from your esteemed selves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

Thats a bummer, i have a rapid 4 and was half thinking of locking it at blanch as well, not now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Trademark

Not to detract from the original thread idea of suggestions, but to reply to you Robertxxx, circumstances were this.
    Left work at 1.30pm, locked bike at 1.40pm using one of the ~5ft long coil locks around the front wheel, back, frame and the little eyelet lock thing on one of the upside down L shaped bays at the left of the Green entrance of Blanch centre.

Came back at 3.20pm and it was gone. Said it to the security guy inside the door and he radioed to office to check the cameras. Got home after reporting it in Blanch Garda Stn and one of the security lads from Blanch Ctr rang me. Guy was caught on cam doing it, took something out of backpack,broke lock and was gone in about 20 seconds.

The sick irony of the thing is I had a good U lock on the frame, but rarely used it as the bike had quick release wheels so it wouldn't fit the full thing, it would leave the front wheel open to be whipped off. Disgusted over the whole thing and if by chance I find it on adverts or donedeal I'm going Sharia style and cutting the bastards hands off.

Lessons learned - Use a strong U lock and take off the front wheel if it's quick release to lock it too. Coil/flexible locks can be broke by just twisting the frame clockwise around to put pressure on the lock and break the lock mechanism inside.