Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pres. Higgins & Forbes

• 25-07-2013 7:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭

OK, so here's my thoughts.

Maybe this was a signal from somebody for the Pres. to keep him out of political dealings. We've already seen since he won the election that he hasn't been afraid to voice his opinon on things. Unlike previous Irish presidents who for the most part just signed laws and went on foreign promotional trips, although in fairness to Robinson and McAleese, they weren't afraid to check out if a law was constitutionally sound before signing it.....

Maybe this is a way of keeping him quiet because they have some possible dirt on him from his past?

Opinions?
    I personally think there's much more to this story that meets the eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

This is this the article where they refer to him as a "well known homosexual"
    I take. I think if Michael D. was gay he'd have more support than he
    already does. xD

However in reality I chalk it up to good old fashioned American stupidity,
    I recon the author (Who apparently is an American living in Ireland)
    while writing on a deadline got Michael D mixed up with Sen. David Norris,
    who ran for president in the last election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Carra23

elfy4eva wrote: »
    This is this the article where they refer to him as a "well known homosexual"
    I take. I think if Michael D. was gay he'd have more support than he
    already does. xD

However in reality I chalk it up to good old fashioned American stupidity,
    I recon the author (Who apparently is an American living in Ireland)
    while writing on a deadline got Michael D mixed up with Sen. David Norris,
    who ran for president in the last election.

Logic, reason, sound mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Most definitely just a case of bad research = bad journalist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

He constantly spouts his communist collective tripe the stuff he cut his teeth on joinining the labour party hijacked at the top buy communists .Uses words like "sustainable" all the new wishy washy communist terms on how to control you from the top down communist systems he wants to see you will work for their communist system or else .
    No idea of his sexual preference .
    Breaking news yesterday about Higgins at MSIradio www.tnsradio.ning.com . However Higgins is hard core atheist , which along with his fellow labour hard core atheist Gilmore both could be in breech of the Irish constitution where they are obliged to swear their oath of office to GOD .There are no solutions to this in the Irish Constitution either you believe in God or you don't.If you don't believe in God then you cant possibly make a oath to God .So therefore there is no president Higgins and there is no position that Gilmore say he holds in the Dail as they could never qualify to enter these offices and in fact they cant even resign the post or get the pay or pensions and everything Higgins and Gilmore ever signed while imposters in this office is now null and void .
    more info youtube
    "Eamon Gilmore and Higgins are not in Office ? - YouTube"
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y1kKcMoBTuk

Derry

derry wrote: »
    No idea of his sexual preference .

Well given he's been married for 40 years with 4 children. That's at least some idea of his sexual preference. There's never been any indication he was gay beyond this journalist's mistake.

Well........ he does write poetry. And he's into 'the arts'. That evidence alone should be flimsy enough to qualify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

@Derry

It says he's agnostic which is very different from being an atheist. He believes in a god/creator rather than any organised religion which to me indicates he's more intelligent than those who are religious or atheist.

BloodBath wrote: »
    @Derry

It says he's agnostic which is very different from being an atheist. He believes in a god/creator rather than any organised religion which to me indicates he's more intelligent than those who are religious or atheist.

If he believes in a god/creator then he's hardly agnostic, in the common parlance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭Jack Kyle

Good article in today's Sindo by the author.

In summary, he's very sorry and contends that the error arose as a result of Forbes' quest for hits above all else.

He earned circa €2.70 an hour for his work on that article and a few others. Forbes journalists like him have no editors or subeditors and can put articles online by just pressing "post".

In his view the system is a joke.

True, sorry. That would be an agnostic theist.

It's still not the same as being atheist though.

BloodBath wrote: »
    True, sorry. That would be an agnostic theist.

It's still not the same as being atheist though.

Its sitting on the fence. Typical bloody politician!

Better than having blind faith in a religion run by the Catholic church imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

he's been married
    Elton John was married. Doesn't really mean anything. :pac:

I just said it should give "some idea" of his sexuallity. As in there's physical reasoning to him being straight and absolutely no evidence to the argument that he's gay.

Jack Kyle wrote: »
    Forbes journalists like him have no editors or subeditors and can put articles online by just pressing "post".
    I don't believe that for a second. Covering his tracks. No publication would give journalists such free reign.

I just said it should give "some idea" of his sexuallity. As in there's physical evidence to him being straight and absolutely no evidence to the argument that he's gay.

Just because he had sex with a woman at least 4 times doesn't prove anything. :P:P
    Maybe someone somewhere has evidence to the contrary?

I know from living in Galway many years ago that rumours concerning parties held at his house were quite often discussed in whispers. Now, of course, they probably were nothing more than simply rumours, but then this article comes out, when many would deem his recent out speaking on political issues as unwanted, and it made me wonder.

Maybe somebody knows something and is using this to keep him quiet. The proof will be seen soon. If Higgins continues to be outspoken on current political issues then we know this was nonsense, but if he stays quiet for the remainder of his presidency then something may be amiss.

Also, why wouldn't he sue Forbes? Surely the article caused 'great hurt and distress' for him and his family and he could probably get a bucket of cash if they sued. Maybe he's afraid to in case something comes out in the court case?

I'm playing devils advocate of course, but it wouldn't surprise me one bit if this was the case. And I care neither way if the man is straight or not, but I'm interested to see how this unfolds over the next 6-12 months.

Just because he had sex with a woman at least 4 times doesn't prove anything. :P:P
    Maybe someone somewhere has evidence to the contrary?

Ah here this is getting ridiculous...this will be my last post. I fixed my above post to reflect what i meant to say.

Again it's not evidence, it's just "some idea of his preference" It's impossible to prove somebody's true sexuality unless you can read minds (wouldn't be surprised on this forum TBH).

In the real world we take peoples word on their personal identity unless there's actual evidence to the contrary. He identifies himself as straight and we have absolutely no reason not to believe him, the fact that he's been married for an age and has 4 kids is the only actual evidence we have on his sexual activities.

Thread now silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

would it really change your opinion of sqeee tho?

I for one don't really care if he likes it in the aras, I have no issue with a politicians sexuality, imo it only becomes an issue if there is hypocracy, if he or any other politician made sweeping statements decrying homosexuality and was subsequently discovered to enjoy a bit of cock I would take issue with that

Tzar Chasm wrote: »
    would it really change your opinion of sqeee tho?

Absolutely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Jack Kyle wrote: »
    He earned circa €2.70 an hour for his work on that article and a few others. Forbes journalists like him have no editors or subeditors and can put articles online by just pressing "post".

In his view the system is a joke.

This means I'm qualified to write for Forbes. I'd also like to add that I have a long list of people that I'm drying to make **** up about investigate thoroughly.

endacl wrote: »
    If he believes in a god/creator then he's hardly agnostic, in the common parlance.

LOL when is Irish atheist not an atheist when he swears an oath to God to ensure he gets his pay packet .

Higgins was deeply involved with the Irish Atheist movement before he became president.The atheist movement wanted Higgins to refuse to take the oath to God as part of the atheist agenda .It seems that Higgins knows which side his bread is buttered on and atheism doesn't pay his bills so fingers crossed say the oath between clenched teeth and grin and bear it and enjoy the pay packet and sod the Atheist movement :D

I do know a hard core gay guy who married and had kids simply because she was rich wife and he needed the cash and access to the business at the time .
    Many a gay can be married and remain closet gay until they don't have to live the lie for some reason .

However for me i dont care if Higgins is ac or Dc or even AC DC as thats his problem
    However the Irish constitution doesn't take the same attitude if the person lies to get into office that can be crime of treason and if found guilty under sovereign court of Eire for treason the only punishment for treason is death:eek:

Derry

LOL when is Irish atheist not an atheist when he swears an oath to God to ensure he gets his pay packet .

Higgins was deeply involved with the Irish Atheist movement before he became president.The atheist movement wanted Higgins to refuse to take the oath to God as part of the atheist agenda .It seems that Higgins knows which side his bread is buttered on and atheism doesn't pay his bills so fingers crossed say the oath between clenched teeth and grin and bear it and enjoy the pay packet and sod the Atheist movement :D

I do know a hard core gay guy who married and had kids simply because she was rich wife and he needed the cash and access to the business at the time .
    Many a gay can be married and remain closet gay until they don't have to live the lie for some reason .

However for me i dont care if Higgins is ac or Dc or even AC DC as thats his problem
    However the Irish constitution doesn't take the same attitude if the person lies to get into office that can be crime of treason and if found guilty under sovereign court of Eire for treason the only punishment for treason is death:eek:

Derry
    Jaysus Derry. Calm down!

ah c'mon, workarounds of oaths are a traditional part of irish politics, Dev refused to swear an oath to the queen of england during the first free state parliament, then it came to his turn to be taoiseach so he came up with a clever way round it, and that was an oath to a real person who was aware of the chicanery and could have actively voiced an objection, I wouldn't be overly worried about the skyfairy

I heard he's a witch as well. Burn him!!!

endacl wrote: »
    Jaysus Derry. Calm down!

Its not me that invented the Irish constitution for the Sovereign Irish Republic and it wasn't me that invented the rules and punishments.

I merely pass on the facts to you as they exist .

When the 1916 revolution took place and the 32 county elections in 1919 the Sovereign Irish Republic was born and the first parliament was made in the Mansion house and they invented the whole stuff .
    Under threat of war against Eire King George got all the gomebeens in Ireland to set up a alternative government in 1926 the pretenders government and that became the King george the 3rd Lienster House 26 county provisional Irish Government to hijack power from the sovereign government and King Georges government with help of the traitors like De Velaria who was British agent they moved the into the Leinster House a British owned building from which the present Gombeens still rule us and still pay rent to the British royal family for the Leinster House and still have as their top boss the royal families Queen lizzy the 2nd to rule over them.
    The Entire Lienster House of Gombeens is a complete treason and the president included .When they make the oaths they make they essentially make oaths to the Queen under god as she owns the Leister house they rent from her and their titles they use such as TD .
    When Ireland joined the EU the pointed out there was serious issue the that the Sovereign Irish republic cound not join the as they did not have a sovereign Irish court of justice but a British run system called the BAR and sovereign Irish republic had to have such a entity to be part of the EU .The gombeens in Lienster house got into a tizzy because if there was Sovereign Irish Republic court system they would face treason in it and the punishment for treason if guilty was death from firings squad or hanging .The Gombeens In Leinster House came up with a fudge solution they made one Sovereign Irish Republic court in a army barracks but never appointed any Judge for it and never do any trials in it as they could be the first to go on trail in it and hang .They never published this fact or admit it even exists and ask any half knowing gombeen from Leinster house about it and he starts to loosen his tie as the thought of hanging start to increase his pucker factor.
    So Higgins is in good company he swears a oath to another Jurisdiction commits treason to receive his gombeen wages and the Queen wont wont hang her good gombeens who do her dirty work from Lienster house and bleed Eire dry of all its money and tax the landless peasant to death when the IMF turns the gaff into one big plantation where the serfs work for less than €1 euro a day
    If you dought what I say ask the present President of Eire Mr billy Maguire who represents the IRB and the Sovereign Irish government still in existence and original the authors of the Irish Constitution written in 1916 .
    He will tell you and the full facts about the gombeens in the Lienster House provisional Irish government all info can be seen at his site www.billymcguire.com or F/B
    https://www.facebook.com/billy.maguire.71

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,913 ✭✭✭Absolam

Soooo..... I don't have to pay taxes is what you're saying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

Derry, the Irish constitution was written in 1937

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Indeed - by that self-same 'British agent', Dev.

I'm curious about this supposed rent paid to the Queen for Leinster House, given that the Free State bought it in 1924, from the RDS, and that it hadn't had any link with peerage of any sort since 1815. Someone is owed a substantial rent rebate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Derry, still wouldn't fall under the legal definition of treason in Irish law. Secondly, the death penalty hasn't been available here in decades. Are you really that upset about having an agnostic as president?

I've found he's been a perfectly good president so far and hasn't put a foot wrong. The Forbes article was an easy to explain error as a result of shoddy journalism.

This gentleman in the video below " Mr Billy McGuire president of the legitimate Sovereign republic of Ireland of 1922 will in this video explain to all the claims on the different Irish constitutions that came into existence after 1922 and why non of them after 1922m are valid He also exposes why the gombeens of the King Georges the third 1926 Leinster House 26 county Provisional Irish Government with swearing allegiance to King George and the royal families of the UK are always guilty of treason to EIRE and the only punishment for treason in the Sovereign Irish court is death from execution squad .So not only is Higgins in that category but so is the entire bunch of gombeens in the British owned house of the Leinster house still owned by the British crown .He/she who owns the gaff sets the rules for their gombeens .We the people don't live in that Leinster house gaff so we are not subject to the traitors rules laws or any other traitorous stuff they come out with

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6c7duFU8D0&feature=youtu.be

Derry

edit.

This gentleman in the video below " Mr Billy McGuire president of the legitimate Sovereign republic of Ireland of 1922 will in this video explain to all the claims on the different Irish constitutions that came into existence after 1922 and why non of them after 1922m are valid He also exposes why the gombeens of the King Georges the third 1926 Leinster House 26 county Provisional Irish Government with swearing allegiance to King George and the royal families of the UK are always guilty of treason to EIRE and the only punishment for treason in the Sovereign Irish court is death from execution squad .So not only is Higgins in that category but so is the entire bunch of gombeens in the British owned house of the Leinster house still owned by the British crown .He/she who owns the gaff sets the rules for their gombeens .We the people don't live in that Leinster house gaff so we are not subject to the traitors rules laws or any other traitorous stuff they come out with

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6c7duFU8D0&feature=youtu.be

Derry

Well if you say we should follow an old constitution then I go one better and say we should follow the Bible only

even the bits that totally contradict themselves?

Tzar Chasm wrote: »
    even the bits that totally contradict themselves?

Yes