Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Artic & Rigid Trucks (question for truckers)

• 25-07-2013 12:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

Hi

I've just been made redundant after working for 7 years. I have a bit of cash aside and am really thinking of getting a career in Arctic truck driving. I'm going to get my Theory test and everything else sorted and then do heaps of lessons. I have no experience driving trucks but if everything goes as planned and I get my licences, cpc certs etc I can get a driving job.

Now, can any Arctic drivers out there give me some advice about how the work is? I'm pretty ****e with directions but could I survive on a sat nav?

I'm looking on jobs.ie and the pay is way better than what I'm use to. I'm single and live at home. 25 too..

Cheers.

p.s I'm new on here and don't really know where I should post this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Moved to Work and Jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Hi op,
    Sorry to hear that you were made redundant as for the driving game at the moment there is heaps of drivers out there looking for a decent job,As for well paid it depends on what you mean by that most jobs advertised are mainly agency jobs and in my opinion the wages are crap.
    To go through the whole process of doing theory exams & tests could cost you about 2/3k depending on your ability,And even if you get the licence most companies want someone with years of experience driving on Irish roads.
    Also a lot of drivers are leaving the profession or trying to due to the low wage on offer and long hours involved,Remember that as a driver you could be in charge of a truck worth 100k plus the trailer and it's contents,Yet someone working stacking shelfs would more than likely get paid more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 g3lston

I originally worked in a warehouse. I was on next to nothing but by the looks of it. There are jobs advertised for artic drivers on 12 euro an hour. Now I've seen other driving jobs saying up to 52 k a year but you'll have to sleep in your truck..Seems fair. If I get my Licences and cpc stuff can I rely on sat nav?

I don't have any qualifications and I don't wanna sit on my arse on the scratcher like everyone else. That money seems pretty decent..well, to me anyway.

I don't have a girlfriend or kids and that seems like a lot of money for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

From what I heard the Job at 52k a year is actually €75 a day plus other sort of allowances delivering cars to garages so it does not add up to 52k.
    As for the other jobs paying 10/12 euro an hour that is a crap wage for a professional driver, Now fair play to you for not wanting to sit on your arse and living at home means you don't have bills coming through the door every month so the wage on offer seems good.
    But life as a truck driver can mean early starts anything between midnight and 5am working up to 15 hours a day, And as for using a sat nav they could lead you down a country lane or low bridge.
    Now there is ones built for trucks but they cost a few quid my self personally have always used maps when I was on the road.
    You should check with FAS if they will pay towards the lessons or put you on their driving course rather than spend your own money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

why not look into taxi driving or somthing? I guarantee if you are willing to put in the long hours then you'd make a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Personally OP I'd avoid the whole truck driving route. Is there anything else you might be interested in doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭btb

As Faith said, stay away, I took my own advice 5 years ago and did the same.
    If you still want to pursue a career (not sure if I would call it such) in this industry, start with FAS and see if you can got on contracted training, where they will pay for your lessons.
    There are many lads I know (and we'd all be middle aged) who gave up driving as its a young mans game and monkeys comes to mind.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 g3lston

Driving seems to be something straight forward - pick ups / drops and it seems fine. I don't want another Warehouse job and be on 8-9 euro an hour. I'm not certified in anything and all I have is my leaving cert..

There's only so many fields I'm limited to and driving seems grand. I tell you something, if I came home with more than 400 euro a week I'd be a happy man, I'd walk around with a permanent smile!

The taxi game seems like it's going down the toilet and you'd have to hire accountants etc to manage your taxes etc..
    Sure do you ever listen to FM104?

The taxi drivers are forever moaning and blaming the Nigerians for how little they make nowadays.