Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wicklow golf?

• 24-07-2013 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭

Going to be staying in Wicklow(delgany)from the 5th-10th of August,wife depending, im hoping to get in a round somewhere during the week,
    i've never played any of these courses before,which of these events would ye recommend going on quality of the course and proximity to Delgany.
    cheers,chalkie:)

Druid's Heath Stableford Singles All 18 05/08/2013 €25

Baltinglass Stableford Singles All 18 07/08/2013 €10

Macreddin Stableford Singles All 18 08/08/2013 €15

Glen of the Downs Stableford Singles Mixed 18 08/08/2013 €25

Wicklow V Par Singles Men Only 18 08/08/2013 €15

Druid's Heath Stableford Singles All 18 08/08/2013 €25

Charlesland Stableford Singles All 18 09/08/2013 €15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭whizbang

Nearest:
    Glen of the Downs, 2mins, mixed feelings about the course, not sure myself...
    Charlesland, 3 mins, maybe not.
    Druids heath; long, tough? but well worth a 5 minute spin
    Wicklow, 20-30mins, great sea views
    Baltinglas, dont know. 45mins hard driving.
    Macreddin, dont know, 45-60mins drive

10mins away:
    Greystones, Old Conna, Dunloaghaire, Bray, Powerscourt, Woodbrook,
    20mins:
    Arklow, European,
    30-45:
    Coolattin, Blainroe, Rathsallagh, Tulfarris, Bunclody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

I've heard Delgany Golf Club itself is supposed to be pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

For somewhere close and if wife is expecting you back - Glen of Downs

If she doesn't mind you being gone an extra 2 hours - Macreddin

If you're a long hitter and like a stern test - Druids Heath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Personally Id go with Druids Heath, Macreddin or Wicklow. Druids Heath is closest, Macreddin farthest. Wicklow only 15-20 mins from Delgany. Charlesland, Glen of The Downs, Baltnglass, I wouldn't bother. Depending on the tees Druids Heath might be the toughest. Wicklow from Whites is very short with reachable par 5s and 2 to 3 driveable Par 4s for long hitters but in terms of location and views along the cliffs towards Wicklow Head its second to none. Macreddin is a great track, beautiful and not that easy but a bit more of a hike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

whizbang wrote: »
    Nearest:
    Glen of the Downs, 2mins, mixed feelings about the course, not sure myself...
    Charlesland, 3 mins, maybe not.
    Druids heath; long, tough? but well worth a 5 minute spin
    Wicklow, 20-30mins, great sea views
    Baltinglas, dont know. 45mins hard driving.
    Macreddin, dont know, 45-60mins drive

10mins away:
    Greystones, Old Conna, Dunloaghaire, Bray, Powerscourt, Woodbrook,
    20mins:
    Arklow, European,
    30-45:
    Coolattin, Blainroe, Rathsallagh, Tulfarris, Bunclody

Looks like he wants to play a singles.

Also Blainroe is closer than Arklow and the European.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

Top Golfer Junior Scratch cup on at Woodenbridge on the 5th August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

Thanks for the good info lads,
    like the look of Druids Heath and its really nearby,now i just need to escape the missus for a few hours:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,647 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Thanks for the good info lads,
    like the look of Druids Heath and its really nearby,now i just need to escape the missus for a few hours:P

You're only playing one of the days??? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭wilfitz

Your on your hols. Play Druids Glen!! Macreddin would be worth the drive, fabulous course.

If you find yourself with a last minute pass, there's a magnificent par3 at Glen Mill if it helps, 5mins away, but needs more than 2hours to enjoy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Razor6969

For me definitely Druids Heath and Macreddin (with a buggy).

Wicklow GC is too short and poor finish from 14-18th holes..disappointing

Charlesland is a decent track nothing brilliant , but open so wont test ya.

Glen of the down, not bad but too many blind spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    You're only playing one of the days??? :)

If i'm lucky:(
    think if i suggest to herself while i play golf she heads into Dublin shopping that could work....could be a very costly round of golf though!!

Bring her to Dundrum SC, the amount of time the women spend there, you could get 2 rounds in ;)