Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Video] Latest in the Gardai crackdown on errant cyclists on red light jumping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ah now, you know how it works - do as I say, not as I do! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Brilliant well posted :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

You started moving before the lights went red also. Those without sin and so on.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Aren't Gardai exempt from the rta when on duty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

MugMugs wrote: »

Do they sell second hand ones ? Sorted then

worded wrote: »
    Do they sell second hand ones ? Sorted then

This statement does not make sense to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

You started moving before the lights went red also. Those without sin and so on.
    It's not me!

Also, the cyclist clearly knows the light sequence and knew it was changing. He was anticipating it by readying himself! Something which drivers should be doing too since they wait until the light is solid green and then panic like it's a drag race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Nothing surprises me anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Not unless they have good reason to break the RTA I thought?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

I would have thought that would be in emergency situations only, not all the time. Perhaps someone on the job could confirm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Tallon wrote: »
    It's not me!

Also, the cyclist clearly knows the light sequence and knew it was changing. He was anticipating it by readying himself! Something which drivers should be doing too since they wait until the light is solid green and then panic like it's a drag race!
    Ah sorry, didn't realise it was someone else.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

Gardaí (and other emergency services) are subject to the rules of the road the same as everyone else unless it's an emergency situation requiring the use of lights and sirens. This could get a little murky for the bike guys since they don't have lights and sirens though :)

Chimaera wrote: »
    Gardaí (and other emergency services) are subject to the rules of the road the same as everyone else unless it's an emergency situation requiring the use of lights and sirens. This could get a little murky for the bike guys since they don't have lights and sirens though :)
    They could wave their arms around while shouting "999 emergency!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

No Pants wrote: »
    They could wave their arms around while shouting "999 emergency!"

Team America :cool:

Chimaera wrote: »

it doesn't say Emergency here.

Have you got a source for the emergency bit?
    Exemptions for emergency vehicles.

27.—Requirements under the Road Traffic Acts 1961 to 2004 relating to vehicles and requirements, restrictions and prohibitions relating to the driving and use of vehicles, other than those provided under sections 49 and 50 (inserted by sections 10 and 11, respectively, of the Act of 1994), 51A and 52 (inserted by sections 49 and 50, respectively, of the Act of 1968) and 53 of the Principal Act and sections 12, 13, 14 and 15 of the Act of 1994, do not apply to a driver of a fire brigade vehicle, an ambulance or the use by a member of the Garda Síochána of a vehicle in the performance of the duties of that member or a person driving or using a vehicle under the direction of a member of the Garda Síochána, where such use does not endanger the safety of road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

it doesn't say Emergency here.

Have you got a source for the emergency bit?

There is exemptions to this; they cannot drive dangerously or without due care and attention or under the influence of drink/drugs.

BX 19 wrote: »
    There is exemptions to this; they cannot drive dangerously or without due care and attention or under the influence of drink/drugs.

Granted however in the instance above, it appears that that Garda was operating within his rights as an on duty Garda.

Not disputing that. If he'd creamed a pedestrian, I'd be saying otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Not disputing that. If he'd creamed a pedestrian, I'd be saying otherwise.

Ah come on...he was at walking pace and checked left and right before correctly reading the situation and anticipating the light sequence. He was hardly going to "cream" a pedestrian!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

It's not me!

I'm no cycling Garda groupie, but I would have thought this was also what the Gard was doing. Presumably he knows the route and light sequence if it his usual patrol route.
    He may have slightly pre-empted the lights, but in this situation I would have done exactly the same as the Garda (obv doesn't make it right, esp within the letter of the law).
    Sometimes it is safer for cyclists to move off slightly ahead of traffic :)

veetwin wrote: »
    Ah come on...he was at walking pace and checked left and right before correctly reading the situation and anticipating the light sequence. He was hardly going to "cream" a pedestrian!

That's what I'm implying. Christ, people are ready to jump down your throat here.....

DavyD_83 wrote: »
    I'm no cycling Garda groupie, but I would have thought this was also what the Gard was doing. Presumably he knows the route and light sequence if it his usual patrol route.
    He may have slightly pre-empted the lights, but in this situation I would have done exactly the same as the Garda (obv doesn't make it right, esp within the letter of the law).
    Sometimes it is safer for cyclists to move off slightly ahead of traffic :)
    No, he had no time to judge the lights... He arrived, checked it was clear, and went... on a solid red light!

veetwin wrote: »

So as a motorist, am I allowed run a red light as long as there is no cars or pedestrians coming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

So as a motorist, am I allowed run a red light as long as there is no cars or pedestrians coming?
    As a Garda I think you are. IMO it's bad form to do it without a good reason, though.

Not as a motorist but as an on duty member of An Garda Siochana as dictated by the law of your land. :)

Anan1 wrote: »
    As a Garda I think you are. IMO it's bad form to do it without a good reason, though.
    Not as a motorist but as an on duty member of An Garda Siochana as dictated by the law of your land. :)

Are they actually allowed though? Sure they have to be responding to or from something?

They can't just go around running red lights or driving on the footpath

Are they actually allowed though? Sure they have to be responding to or from something?

No, in the course of their duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

They can't just go around running red lights or driving on the footpath
    I think it has to be 'in the course of duty', although I've never heard of a prosecution for it.

No, in the course of their duty.
    Anan1 wrote: »
    I think it has to be 'in the course of duty', although I've never heard of a prosecution for it.

Jesus Christ, that's ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Surely "in the course of their duty" does not include driving to the shop to pick up a roll for lunch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Lads, any Garda will tell you that "In the course of duty" does not mean "when on duty". There is a clear difference here.

In the course of duty means they need to break a RTA law in order to carry out their work. Getting from A to B, double parking at lunch, breaking the speed limit when in the course of normal working activities is not in the spirit of these exemptions. Gardai have been pulled on this before be their superintendants.

In an age where there is virtually no policing of driver behaviours except speeding the gardai really should be leading by example at the very least. How can they expect young impressionable drivers to take them seriously when they wont even respect the rules of the road themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

cpoh1 wrote: »
    Lads, any Garda will tell you that "In the course of duty" does not mean "when on duty". There is a clear difference here.

In the course of duty means they need to break a RTA law in order to carry out their work. Getting from A to B, double parking at lunch, breaking the speed limit when in the course of normal working activities is not in the spirit of these exemptions. Gardai have been pulled on this before be their superintendants.

In an age where there is virtually no policing of driver behaviours except speeding the gardai really should be leading by example at the very least. How can they expect young impressionable drivers to take them seriously when they wont even respect the rules of the road themselves.

That's sounded extremally strange for me from the very beginning when someone quoted this law a while ago on this forum.
    How could garda be allowed no to obey traffic law, except in emergency (f.e chasing criminals, etc).
    Most driving garda does is just moving from A to B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

What's wrong with starting to move when light is still red.

There's nothing prohibiting anyone to start to move on the red light.
    All you are not allowed to do, is proceed beyond the traffic light when light is red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Does RTA not stand for road traffic accident anymore? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

CiniO wrote: »
    What's wrong with starting to move when light is still red.

There's nothing prohibiting anyone to start to move on the red light.
    All you are not allowed to do, is proceed beyond the traffic light when light is red.

There is a big white line painted on the road that you shouldn't cross untill the light turns green.
    Only then you should proceed with caution if your way is clear.

Years ago Garda use to pull up motorists for crossing this stop line before they became obsessed with speeding fines.

creamed a pedestrian
    Cycling bukkake is difficult to perform and requires a fair amount of skill and practice. However, when done right, it does convey a certain measure of contempt for other commuters. I don't think it's appropriate for Gardai, on or off duty.

mb1725 wrote: »
    Does RTA not stand for road traffic accident anymore? :confused:

Road Traffic Act...