Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Predict the rest of the SFC

• 22-07-2013 11:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭

So just a bitta craic, do what it says on the tin and try and simulate the rest of the games/draws and see if anybody gets it right by September.

All Ireland Phase 4

Cavan vs London- Cavan
    Meath vs Tyrone- Tyrone
    Galway vs Cork- Cork
    Laois vs Donegal- Donegal

All Ireland QF (im simulating the draw)

Tyone vs Dublin-Dublin
    Cork vs Mayo- Cork
    Donegal vs Kerry- Kerry
    Cavan vs Monaghan- Monaghan

All Ireland SF
    Cork vs Monaghan- Cork
    Kerry vs Dublin- Dublin

All Ireland Final
    Cork vs Dublin- Dublin

I was very tempted to stick down Monaghan to the very end, but in the end my head ruled my heart. I would love to see us take on Cavan in croker, some day out for a rematch

• Registered Users Posts: 2 McGeeeee

Id have to agree with you on the phase 4 results but with regards to QF id have to say that I fancy Donegal against Kerry. After a somewhat humiliating defeat at the hands of the hungrier monaghan team theyre gonna want this game A LOT. I think McGuinness will be fit to rally the troops and scrape a win. And being the pessimist id have to agree in saying monaghan wont go all the way. After winning the ulster i think theyll get a tad over-confident and wont have the metal to beat the stronger teams.

All Ireland Phase 4

Cavan vs London- Cavan
    Meath vs Tyrone- Tyrone
    Galway vs Cork- Cork
    Laois vs Donegal- Donegal

All Ireland QF (im simulating the draw)

Tyone vs Dublin-Dublin
    Cork vs Mayo- Cork
    Donegal vs Kerry- Donegal
    Cavan vs Monaghan- Monaghan

All Ireland SF
    Cork vs Monaghan- Cork
    Donegal vs Dublin- Dublin

All Ireland Final
    Cork vs Dublin- Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 37,804 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

All Ireland Phase 4

Galway vs Cork- Cork
    Loais vs Donegal- Donegal to scrape it
    Cavan vs London- Cavan
    Meath vs Tyrone- Tyrone

All Ireland QF

Tyone vs Dublin-Dublin
    Cavan vs Mayo- Mayo
    Donegal vs Kerry- Kerry
    Cork vs Monaghan- Monaghan

All Ireland SF (Draw is Connuacht vs Ulster and Munster vs Leinster)
    Mayo vs Monaghan- Monaghan
    Kerry vs Dublin- Dublin

All Ireland Final
    Monaghan vs Dublin- Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

McGeeeee wrote: »
    After winning the ulster i think theyll get a tad over-confident and wont have the metal to beat the stronger teams.

Teams don't really come much bigger and stronger than the reigning All Ireland champions. There is no bigger scalp than them, especially if it is a small county outside of the traditional powerhouse set up, that is the one doing the scalping. If Monaghan (or counties like them) did it once, they can do it again imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭chubba1984

All Ireland Phase 4

Galway vs Cork- Cork
    Loais vs Donegal- Donegal
    Cavan vs London- Cavan
    Meath vs Tyrone- Tyrone

All Ireland QF

Tyone vs Dublin-Dublin
    Cavan vs Kerry- Cavan
    Donegal vs Mayo- Mayo
    Cork vs Monaghan- Monaghan

All Ireland SF (Draw is Connacht vs Ulster and Munster vs Leinster)
    Cavan vs Dublin- Dublin

All Ireland Final
    Mayo vs Dublin - Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

All Ireland Phase 4

Galway vs Cork - cork
    Laois vs Donegal - laois
    cavan vs london - cavan
    meath vs tyrone - meath

the teams with the more open brand of football seem to be leading the way this year.

cant predict the quarters draw but fancy dublin like almost everyone else to win it outright ,

with laois and meath pulling of big scalps before there summer ends.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

In the quareter final repeat pairings would be avoided?
    So Monaghan couldnt play Cavan

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Best to wait for Saturdays draw to many if buts and maybes at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Grand.
    Then we have next week to speculate about whether the draw was rigged or not!
    I assume it'll be done on radio so nobody can see what's going on

• Registered Users Posts: 15,019 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Teams don't really come much bigger and stronger than the reigning All Ireland champions. There is no bigger scalp than them, especially if it is a small county outside of the traditional powerhouse set up, that is the one doing the scalping. If Monaghan (or counties like them) did it once, they can do it again imo.

Actually beating defending champs is not as big a deal as people may make it out to be.

Sure what Monaghan sis was great for them but as I have said a million times here, winning back to back titles is very rare and defending champions are vulnerable at all stages of the championship.

Mayo have beaten the last two defending champions and went on to loose their next games, Down beat Kerry in 2010 and won nothing, Cork beat Tyrone in 2009 and lost the final.

Until the quarter final draw is made this thread is nothing more than wishful thinking from people.

The idea that Monagahan would win it or even contest a final just because they beat a jaded Donegal is fanciful at best.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,019 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

In the quareter final repeat pairings would be avoided?
    So Monaghan couldnt play Cavan

The only repeat paring that is not allowed is Provincial Champion v Looser of Provincial final
    All others are allowed.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

chubba1984 wrote: »

Cavan vs Dublin- Dublin

All Ireland Final
    Mayo vs Dublin - Dublin

Fair play to Mayo losing semi final but still somehow getting to the final!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Stevecw wrote: »
    Fair play to Mayo losing semi final but still somehow getting to the final!

they must have a very good county board...monaghan must have fielded an illegible player..some predicting all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

they must have a very good county board...monaghan must have fielded an illegible player..some predicting all the same.

Mayo are'nt bet even when they're bet

• Registered Users Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Dont know what happens in between, but Dublin and Mayo to be in the final with Mayo sadly to lose once more......

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Its not his fault they couldn't read his name! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

All Ireland Phase 4

Galway vs Cork - Cork
    Loais vs Donega l- Donegal
    Cavan vs London - Cavan
    Meath vs Tyrone - Meath

All Ireland QF

Donegal vs Kerry - Kerry
    Dublin vs Cork - Dublin
    Cavan vs Mayo - Mayo
    Meath vs Monaghan - Monaghan

Mayo vs Monaghan - Mayo
    Kerry vs Dublin - Dublin

All Ireland Final
    Mayo vs Dublin - (with a heavy heart...) Dublin

Hard to see anyone beating Dublin this year to be honest. I think Kerry could catch them on the hop and give them a scare, but probably wouldn't be able to keep up with them for 70 mins.

I said Monaghan would beat Meath but if Meath get past Tyrone I don't think anyone would fancy playing them.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Hibbeler

More my dream scenario than what I think will happen....

All Ireland Phase 4

Galway vs Cork- Cork
    Loais vs Donegal- Laois
    Cavan vs London- Cavan
    Meath vs Tyrone- Meath

All Ireland QF

Cork vs Dublin-Dublin
    Laois vs Kerry- Kerry
    Meath vs Mayo- Meath
    Cavan vs Monaghan- Cavan

Meath vs Cavan - Meath
    Kerry vs Dublin - Dublin

All Ireland Final
    Meath vs Dublin - Meath

Though in all seriousness I think 2 out of the 4 provincial losers will get into the QFs, with Cavan and Laois. Donegal and London to loose out on the 6 day turn around. Donegal could still have a say in the outcome but I don't think they'll win outright. Meath have improved in each game they played so far and could take Tyrone's scalp.

Monaghan if they get a favorable QF draw could get a rare semi final appearance (they could probably beat the likes of Cavan or Meath). Mayo have played 3 challenge matches in the run up to the QFs and if they are vulnerable in this championship it will be in the quarter final which should be their first competitive game.

I think Dublin will win outright unfortunately but I'll be happy if Meath can continue to improve and hopefully a big win this championship.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭harpsman

Padkir wrote: »
    All Ireland Phase 4

Galway vs Cork - Cork
    Loais vs Donega l- Donegal
    Cavan vs London - Cavan
    Meath vs Tyrone - Meath

All Ireland QF

Tyrone vs Kerry - Kerry
    Dublin vs Cork - Dublin
    Cavan vs Mayo - Mayo
    Meath vs Monaghan - Monaghan

Mayo vs Monaghan - Mayo
    Kerry vs Dublin - Dublin

All Ireland Final
    Mayo vs Dublin - (with a heavy heart...) Dublin

Hard to see anyone beating Dublin this year to be honest. I think Kerry could catch them on the hop and give them a scare, but probably wouldn't be able to keep up with them for 70 mins.

I said Monaghan would beat Meath but if Meath get past Tyrone I don't think anyone would fancy playing them.
    I knew mcguinness was a bit of a magician but making donegal disappear was some trick