Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've lost my personality

• 22-07-2013 3:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Over the last 18 months I have lost my personality. I used to be really good fun, always laughing, joking and I was pretty witty. But over the last 18 months that has pretty much disappeared. Now I'm pretty boring, don't have much to say and get bored in situations that shouldnt really bore me. When out with friends after the initial hellos I have very little to say. I find it difficult to join in in the jokes and just kind of feel removed from everything.

I've noticed this change over the last 18months and it appears other people do to. While away at a stag recently someone even said it me, "jaysus what happened you you used to be great craic."

My brain just isn't sharp like it used to be, Im bored by everything, find it hard to apply myself to anything and Im just not enjoying life like I used to. I look back at old photos of me on facebook and I long for the days when I used to be the person i was.

I feel pretty crap these days. I just can't seem to get my brain to "wake up" - it feels dead, bored and not interested in anything.

Has anyone gone through something like this? Where they able to get back to their old fun self, or has my personality changed and this is just how things are now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

OP, before we go down the route of asking you 'are you feeling depressed or anxious about something in particular' or 'are you happy in work/relationship' etc etc..., let me ask you this: Are you sure you haven't just 'outgrown' your friends? Do you still have things in common with them, or is it simply a thing where you've known them for a long time, and there's really not much there any more except rehashing old stories of 'Glory Days' when ye meet up, etc? It happens to the best of us, I've recently been slipping out of contact with a friend I've known for 12 years or so, simply because our lives have taken us in different directions and we just don't have as much to chat about anymore :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

No its not my friends. I have a few different groups of friends, the older friends Id get bored with a lot quicker but I have a lot in common with the newer mates and find them good fun.

I do feel depressed. Don't know why, nothing in particular, but just feel generally crap. No apparent reason for it. I just long to be the old me again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Sandypants

Suppose the typical line of maybe u should see ur gp??... Could it be ur sick of going out drinking.... Or maybe you want a relationship or not happy in your present one?could it be work?..you really need to think what or why this is happening.... 18months is a long time to fell like this.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

How's the old diet there, OP? Food affects mood. If you eat crap you feel crap and your brain turns to crap.

If you have a relatively healthy lifestyle I'd be going to see a GP or a few sessions with a counselor.

im feeling this way at the moment, and have being like this since march every1 of my friends have noticed and keep saying there has to be something wrong, but I haven't a clue what it is ive just lost interest in life, and feel like crap all day every day, I hope its a phase and that things get better for you

Been feeling the same way myself for a long time now but like a previous poster said, the diet is important. I know that when I was eating healthy and exercising I did feel good, sharp and had more life in me. Finding the motivation is hard though when you feel like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭iusedtoknow

I had this for a long time, it was a mixture of stress with my job and depression. I didn't really like myself and felt like easy going free and easy me was gone.

I made a few changes (came off drinking, stopped indulging in other non addictive substances) and also made some other lifestyle changes. For one thing, I stopped coming home from work and just opening my laptop and that being it for the evening.

I started cooking and reading in the evenings, going across town to meet my then gf for dinner (she was usually working a nightshift at work, but would have 30 minutes for food), just getting out and around even through it really was the last thing i felt like doing. I did also get some medical help. My doctor was very good and gave me a "pick me up" - basically pills to get me out of the funk, but not long term. I stayed on them for 2 or 3 weeks, felt good enough to come off them and went from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

Absolutely see a Doctor.
    It could be any number of things.
    Can you pin point a time when it started?
    Are you grand getting into the swing of things and then just find yourself dropping the connection and going "wtf? I'm just gone away out of it and as bored as plank of wood, why am I here?"
    Or does it just never get going at all? Meet up, smile, say hi, but just can't get into it at all.