Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Professional cyclists drinking coke

• 20-07-2013 9:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42

Just curious - I've noticed that professional cyclists drink coke to quench their thirst. I would have thought that they would only drink energy drinks. Any idea why - stupid question I know but just curious!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

when you spend 5 hours a day drinking energy drinks and popping gels youll realise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

IM0 wrote: »
    when you spend 5 hours a day drinking energy drinks and popping gels youll realise

I'm curious too and you haven't answered the ops question? I'm assuming sugar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

It's very tasty, full of sugar and more importantly, caffeine. And it's easy on the stomach, which can feel a bit dodgy after a few gels and bars and stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Because ice cold Coke tastes good.

I'm curious too and you haven't answered the ops question? I'm assuming sugar?

I meant drinking sports drinks and popping gels and eating fake bars all day eventually makes you feel yucky, you get sic of it and coke is a nice change too full of sugar, gives you a nice lift. its a psyhchological thing mostly

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

It's nice. Really nice. The fizz is really nice on a dry mouth.

Also Coke sponsor the Tour so it's the only fizzy drink they can hand out.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Brian? wrote: »

I doubt that somehow, its not like any other products the riders consume is strictly controlled by the tour, unless youre talking about the red bottles? thats not coke in it its just branding with a bottle full of their usual water, the only coke they have are those small little cans occasionally when they are in the break usually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭moby2101

After 5 - 6 hours in a hunched over position your stomach "flattens"..

A fizzy drink "blows" out your stomach to its proper size..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It's very tasty, full of sugar and more importantly, caffeine.

Absolutely, nothing better than an ice cold can of coke when you're really out on your feet, particularly in hot weather.

Edit, luckily I read my post over before posting, autocorrect substituted come for coke, now that would have been embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Con41 wrote: »
    Just curious - I've noticed that professional cyclists drink coke to quench their thirst. I would have thought that they would only drink energy drinks. Any idea why - stupid question I know but just curious!!!

Simple coke is an energy drink!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I heard on some programme it's just for the mind, I'd say gels and powder mixtures must drive racers demented every day.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,524 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

IM0 wrote: »
    I doubt that somehow, its not like any other products the riders consume is strictly controlled by the tour, unless youre talking about the red bottles? thats not coke in it its just branding with a bottle full of their usual water, the only coke they have are those small little cans occasionally when they are in the break usually

The red bottles available on the motorbikes are Vittel water.

I saw a rider drinking Fanta at the end of a stage, although that is made by Coca-Cola.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Con41 wrote: »

its all sugary water. coke is the nicest of the sugary waters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭velopeloton

When it's hot, there is nothing better than a cold coke. Plus all that sugar and caffeine gives you a real boost. If I'm doing any big climbs in the heat along with two bidons I take a can of coke or sometimes fill one of the bidons with coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

When running marathons & ultras we'd often arrange to have bottles of flat Coke positioned late in the course.

When your body is flagging there's nothing better for a kick than the sugar & caffeine rush from Coke (and you don't need to be dealing with the fizz at that stage).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭XtotheZ

replace depleted glycogen stores with all the suger in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭NS77

I read somewhere that some teams give their riders soft drinks like this because they're full of phosphates which help aid recovery....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

us auld guys have been using coke as an energy drink this past 30 years
    half coke half water pinch salt.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

us auld guys have been using coke as an energy drink this past 30 years
    half coke half water pinch salt.:cool:

Jaysus. Eye of a toad too ?

:p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,665 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I saw a rider drinking Fanta at the end of a stage, although that is made by Coca-Cola.
    can't remember if it's fanta or club orange, but one of those two is about one and a half times as sugary as coke; a coke can is 139 calories, but fanta or club is aroun 190 or 200 i think.

worth reading up about the history of fanta too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

I'm pretty sure its flat coke as fizzy coke would surely do them more harm than good in the middle of a race.

How would they flatten it, they get unopened cans don't they? Yesterday I saw a rider take a can from a spectator, crack it open and glug it down.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Tastes nice and has sugar and caffeine. Ideal at the tail end of a hot stage. suspect its as simpe as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

ThisRegard wrote: »
    How would they flatten it, they get unopened cans don't they? Yesterday I saw a rider take a can from a spectator, crack it open and glug it down.

I'm sure coca cola would supply flat coke canned to professional teams. Its not unusual for professional teams to get special treatment from corporations like coca cola. We see them drinking it, free marketing, which this post proves. Also I doubt that was a spectator, it was probably a team helper.

It could be fizzy but I wouldn't think that's a good idea considering the effects it would have on the stomach which I think would affect them more than help.

Nah, pretty sure it was a spectator, she was offering it to anyone who wanted it. The fizziness is part of what makes it refreshing, I'd be surprised if they had a separate line of non carbonated coke but who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Nah, pretty sure it was a spectator, she was offering it to anyone who wanted it. The fizziness is part of what makes it refreshing, I'd be surprised if they had a separate line of non carbonated coke but who knows.

Spotted that myself and iirc it looked like a larger can than the standard 330ml.

Yeah, it was a regular sized 500ml or whatever it is, not one of the mini ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

NS77 wrote: »
    I read somewhere that some teams give their riders soft drinks like this because they're full of phosphates which help aid recovery....
    can't remember if it's fanta or club orange, but one of those two is about one and a half times as sugary as coke; a coke can is 139 calories, but fanta or club is aroun 190 or 200 i think.

worth reading up about the history of fanta too.

Phosphates and sugar (all that corn syrup!!) - Fanta was in vogue for a while because it's phosphate content was higher.

Just don't chug it all in one go after a long cycle or you will know the true meaning of the words 'gastric distress.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

They should drink Mountain Dew on the climbs, Dr Pepper during recovery and Club when they are back home...riding with their club.

Jawgap wrote: »
    Phosphates and sugar (all that corn syrup!!) - Fanta was in vogue for a while because it's phosphate content was higher.

Just don't chug it all in one go after a long cycle or you will know the true meaning of the words 'gastric distress.'

No corn syrup in Europeon Coke. All sugar. US coke is the only one with corn syrup, possibly Canadian as well.

Strangely, in Arizona you can get Mexican coke that's made with sugar like here. People go mad for it.

You also get pepsi throwback which is made with sugar instead of corn syrup. Which to anyone outside the US is simply Pepsi.

My knowledge of cola products appears to be quite broad, which is odd given how rarely I drink it.

Anyway, as I said; cyclists drink it cause it's lovely.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

el tel wrote: »
    They should drink Mountain Dew on the climbs, Dr Pepper during recovery and Club when they are back home...riding with their club.

Mountain Dew Code Red! That'll get you the Alpe no bother. The stuff has enough caffeine and sugar to put you in a twitchy diabetic coma.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,524 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

No corn syrup in Europeon Coke. All sugar. US coke is the only one with corn syrup, possibly Canadian as well.

Strangely, in Arizona you can get Mexican coke that's made with sugar like here. People go mad for it.

You also get pepsi throwback which is made with sugar instead of corn syrup. Which to anyone outside the US is simply Pepsi.

My knowledge of cola products appears to be quite broad, which is odd given how rarely I drink it.

Same in Texas. I lived in Houston for six months and you could get Mexican Coca-Cola in glass bottles in certain supermarkets. When served ice cold ... absolute heaven :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

I noticed the cans of coke seem to be a little more sticky than a bottle also when handed from a team car..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

mloc123 wrote: »
    I noticed the cans of come seem to be a little more sticky than a bottle also when handed from a team car..

You might want to edit that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

mloc123 wrote: »
    I noticed the cans of come seem to be a little more sticky than a bottle also when handed from a team car..

Haha thank you auto-correct for another gem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Is that the one you sniff or drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Eamonnator wrote: »
    You might want to edit that

Bah.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Is that the one you sniff or drink?

Confusing Mexico and Columbia?

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,665 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

plus, coke in glass bottles is more concentrated than coke in cans or plastic bottles.
    that's because it is usually served in pubs, i.e. with ice, and has to be more syrupy because of the dilution due to the ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭elnino23

I used to be involved in a different pro sport and we would drink a pint of half Coke and half water. it got the sugar in your body quicker and helped with rehydration. it was much easier on the stomach and toned down the gas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

in some parts of spain they drink coke and red wine:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Darkstrike

studiorat wrote: »
    in some parts of spain they drink coke and red wine:)
    I suppose a buzz will make the miles melt away.

Seriously though, tasty combo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

Drink coke with beer in Germany , pure dirt ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Guybrush T

No they don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

shaka wrote: »
    Drink coke with beer in Germany , pure dirt ..

I was a barman years ago and one of my regs drank Guinness with a Coke head.

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-202_162-57592714/mexico-takes-title-of-most-obese-from-america/

http://www.smigroup.it/smi/repository_new/doc/ARCA_UK.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

The Mexicans have an excuse though, the price of fast food and junk is a lot cheaper than fruit and vegetables in most villages, and because a lot of the country is still in poverty they don't have the money to eat well.

Americans on the other hand don't have that excuse 90% of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

I spotted Sagan getting a can of coke from the team car on yesterdays USA pro challenge stage

Obviously worked for him as he went to win the stage

bazermc wrote: »
    I spotted Sagan getting a can of coke from the team car on yesterdays USA pro challenge stage

Obviously worked for him as he went to win the stage

Yeah I was in A4 and struggling to finish races and then I started taking a can of coke half way through each race. After about 6 months i got a pro-contract and won the king of the mountains in the Giro d'Italia. So take it from me they do work.