Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed limits through Road Works.

• 20-07-2013 1:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭

Are they enforceable by the Go Safe Vans?

100kph section of road that I sometimes use, has a Go Safe Van on it probably 75% of the time that I use it. Today driving through, Road Work signs are up, with a 25kph sign underneath it, rectangular shape with a black boarder. No van today, and usual space is covered in loose chippings and traffic cones.

Could Go Safe have an absolute field day here, or does the sign have to be the white background with red boarder.

Oh and I am aware why road work sections have temporary speed limits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Speed limits must be set by the Dept of Transport. Now as far as I'm aware, if there's a change to that limit for roadworks, a local by law must be enacted to make it binding, otherwise you might aswell be flying the national flag of Japan as much as putting up a sign because both will be useless.

Remember, don't trust guards or go safe van drivers when it comes to them deciding where a limit starts and ends. Can you imagine how unemployable you have to be to get either job. These are morons and they love and aul power trip. Question everything. There's endless cases of fines for speeding handed out in the wrong, especially in situations like this.

Rule one : Never confuse authority with intelligence. Most guards took the job for a pension. Most Go safe drivers are too stupid to sew teddys in a Bangladesh factory. Do you really trust them to know what they're up to because I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Mint Sauce wrote: »

100kph section of road that I sometimes use, has a Go Safe Van on it probably 75% of the time that I use it. Today driving through, Road Work signs are up, with a 25kph sign underneath it, rectangular shape with a black boarder. No van today, and usual space is covered in loose chippings and traffic cones.

Could Go Safe have an absolute field day here, or does the sign have to be the white background with red boarder.

Speed limits ending in 5 are advisory limits, not actual speed limits.
    Legal speed limit signs come in 30, 50, 60, 80, 100, 120

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Speed limits must be set by the Dept of Transport.
    Thats news to me
    Now as far as I'm aware, if there's a change to that limit for roadworks, a local by law must be enacted to make it binding,

Almost correct, but we'll give you that one, you're very close

don't trust guards or go safe van drivers when it comes to them deciding where a limit starts and ends.
    ehhh. the signs indicate where the speed limit begins/ends
    Can you imagine how unemployable you have to be to get either job. These are morons and they love and aul power trip. .
    ??????

Question everything.

WHY
    There's endless cases of fines for speeding handed out in the wrong, especially in situations like this..

What situation ?, no enforcement was seen

Most guards took the job for a pension. Most Go safe drivers are too stupid to sew teddys in a Bangladesh factory. Do you really trust them to know what they're up to because I don't.

any stats/evidence to support this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Rippy

Speed limits must be set by the Dept of Transport. Now as far as I'm aware, if there's a change to that limit for roadworks, a local by law must be enacted to make it binding, otherwise you might aswell be flying the national flag of Japan as much as putting up a sign because both will be useless.

Remember, don't trust guards or go safe van drivers when it comes to them deciding where a limit starts and ends. Can you imagine how unemployable you have to be to get either job. These are morons and they love and aul power trip. Question everything. There's endless cases of fines for speeding handed out in the wrong, especially in situations like this.

Rule one : Never confuse authority with intelligence. Most guards took the job for a pension. Most Go safe drivers are too stupid to sew teddys in a Bangladesh factory. Do you really trust them to know what they're up to because I don't.

That's really insulting to the many intelligent and honourable Gardai out there.
    AFAIK they need a pretty good leaving cert. score and competition for places is very fierce .
    Go-safe operatives , though I disapprove of the use of them in place of Gardai who can at least apply some common sense and discretion , Ard only doing their job, and glad to have one as if you haven't noticed they are scarce at the moment! They are surely assessed as to they have a sufficient level of intelligence for the job as part of the recruitment process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

**** the man trying to slow you down. Op you sail through there as fast as you like sure if you slide on the loose chippings youll probably have a good run off area where the lads are working and those boys are easily replaced anyway, no one will miss them ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

So what exactly are you trying to say? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

**** the man trying to slow you down. Op you sail through there as fast as you like sure if you slide on the loose chippings youll probably have a good run off area where the lads are working and those boys are easily replaced anyway, no one will miss them ........

Hence my comment of understanding why the restrictions are in place.

But I have seen in these temp zones. Keeping to the advertised limit, and other cars flying by you at the earliest opertunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

In a nutshell Yes, the Manager of a City or County Council can reduce the speed limit on a road undergoing road works for a stated period of time by executive order under powers available to him/her under the Road Traffic Act 2004. The reduced speed limits are typically 30, 50 or 60 km/h and they are binding on drivers and it is an offence to exceed a road works speed limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

K.Flyer wrote: »
    In a nutshell Yes, the Manager of a City or County Council can reduce the speed limit on a road undergoing road works for a stated period of time by executive order under powers available to him/her under the Road Traffic Act 2004. The reduced speed limits are typically 30, 50 or 90 km/h and they are binding on drivers and it is an offence to exceed a road works speed limit.

How can you be done for 90kph when the speed limit doesn't exist under Irish legislation ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭pug_

I got caught for speeding through road works about 5 years ago. The only time in my life I've ever gotten a ticket for anything.

At the time I felt a bit hard done by because it was a Sunday, on a a very wide road, with a mile or so of cones well inside in the hard shoulder, no works at any point, and no damage to the road surface at any point. I was under the speed limit for the road in normal use, and not that much over the road works limit.

But such is life. I paid the fine, had my 2 points for 3 years and it's all water under the bridge now.

How can you be done for 90kph when the speed limit doesn't exist under Irish legislation ?

Typo error.
    Meant to be 60kph

Still doesn't change the answer to the OP's question though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Typo error.
    Meant to be 60kph

Still doesn't change the answer to the OP's question though.

Yes it does as the limit is 25km/h in the OP. Is that a legal limit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

I was done for speeding through roadworks by a gosafe van. Usual speed limit was 100km/h down to 50km/h for roadworks, the road was cleared for the evening but the 50 signs were still up. The fixed penalty notice I got out in the post had it listed as a "special speed limit zone" or something similar.

So, yes, you can definitely be done for speeding through a temporary roadworks limit.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Yes it does as the limit is 25km/h in the OP. Is that a legal limit?

I asked a relation of mine the same question earlier this year. He works for his local council and is involved in setting the speed limits at road works about the legality of road works speed limits.
    He told me that they can set the speed limit to whatever they feel is appropriate given certain criteria and guidelines to the road conditions, the safety for the workers and road users safety and that it can be as low as they feel is appropriate.
    He said that the new speed limit is then the legal speed limit for that section of road until you pass the "End of Works" signage which is usually accompanied by a sign indicating the usual speed limit for the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

I asked a relation of mine the same question earlier this year. He works for his local council and is involved in setting the speed limits at road works about the legality of road works speed limits.
    He told me that they can set the speed limit to whatever they feel is appropriate given certain criteria and guidelines to the road conditions, the safety for the workers and road users safety and that it can be as low as they feel is appropriate.
    He said that the new speed limit is then the legal speed limit for that section of road until you pass the "End of Works" signage which is usually accompanied by a sign indicating the usual speed limit for the road.

They can't set it just any arbitrary figure though, they can only select from the legal "special" speed limits which are prescribed by law as 30, 50, 60, 80, 100 and 120 km/h (eg sects 9 & 10 Road traffic Act 2004). These are the normal round signs with the red border and are enforceable for the duration of the road works.

The small rectangular signs with speeds ending in "5" are only advisory and are not enforceable limits. GoSafe can't get you for breaking the advisory limits but they can get you for breaking the special limits.