Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying alarms

• 19-07-2013 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭

Ok so theres a house 2 doors down from me whos alarm goes off at least 3 or 4 times a night and sporadically during the day, in this heat having your windows open is a necessity but this arseholes alarm goes off and between that and the heat im up most of the night ;/
    Was thinking of dropping in a strongly worded letter ha but doubt that would do anything also theres the boy who cried wolf affect, if his alarm goes off so much nobody would be any the wiser if his gaffs getting fleased, plus im sure house insurance would be void on a faulty alarm system?
    Anyway my question is, is there any laws or somebody i can alert to this nuisance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

mrDerek wrote: »
    Ok so theres a house 2 doors down from me whos alarm goes off at least 3 or 4 times a night and sporadically during the day, in this heat having your windows open is a necessity but this arseholes alarm goes off and between that and the heat im up most of the night ;/
    Was thinking of dropping in a strongly worded letter ha but doubt that would do anything also theres the boy who cried wolf affect, if his alarm goes off so much nobody would be any the wiser if his gaffs getting fleased, plus im sure house insurance would be void on a faulty alarm system?
    Anyway my question is, is there any laws or somebody i can alert to this nuisance?
    Yes there are sound pollution laws. Is there anyone living in the house? Those alarms can go off even if the powers cut.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

ehm... could you not talk with them about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 banjomac

what is the best and easy alarm panel to install

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

a) call in and ask that they turn off the alarm until they can have it serviced.
    b) if that doesn't work write your strongly worded letter, preferably signed by as many as the neighbours as possible telling them if the alarm doesn't stop that you will be approaching your local authority and the Guards with a view to taking them to the district court: http://www.dublincity.ie/WaterWasteEnvironment/AirQualityMonitoringandNoiseControl/NoisePollution/Pages/NoisePollution.aspx

The fastest thing will be to actually speak to them directly and, unless they are a right bollox, you won't have to go near option 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Rob the gaff - that'll teach 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Massey N

HI

any help would be gratefully appreciated as I dont know where to TURN to and nobody cares as its a NOBODY problem but could be someday

i have an alarm going off for two days now in the adjoining 3bed which is vacant and in disrepair as a result for nearly two years. I rang the gardai one guy called to my other neighbour and said it WAS THEIR ISSUE..the Owner doesnt give a CONTINENTAL about the property as the weeds out the back are as HIGH as the fences now etc and the havent called to the property since it was rented over 18 months ago.

CAN ANYONE Please advise me as to where i can turn. The buzzing noise of the INTERNAL alarm is in my head constantly even though I wear ear plugs in the house to cut out the sound. I CANT DO THIS Indefinitely IM paying a mortgage like everyone else..Surely I deserve to be able to find peace in my own home.

THANKS FOR LISTENING
    M.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Massey N wrote: »
    HI

any help would be gratefully appreciated as I dont know where to TURN to and nobody cares as its a NOBODY problem but could be someday

i have an alarm going off for two days now in the adjoining 3bed which is vacant and in disrepair as a result for nearly two years. I rang the gardai one guy called to my other neighbour and said it WAS THEIR ISSUE..the Owner doesnt give a CONTINENTAL about the property as the weeds out the back are as HIGH as the fences now etc and the havent called to the property since it was rented over 18 months ago.

CAN ANYONE Please advise me as to where i can turn. The buzzing noise of the INTERNAL alarm is in my head constantly even though I wear ear plugs in the house to cut out the sound. I CANT DO THIS Indefinitely IM paying a mortgage like everyone else..Surely I deserve to be able to find peace in my own home.

THANKS FOR LISTENING
    M.

You're council should have a plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

HI

THANKS FOR LISTENING
    M.

call the alarm company their name should be written on the box, if that fails in the early hours of the morning try and cut the wire at the box maybe

Thanks very much for Youre replies
    I will try those suggestions:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

SILENT ALARM ACTIVATED!

BluesBerry wrote: »
    call the alarm company their name should be written on the box, if that fails in the early hours of the morning try and cut the wire at the box maybe

BluesBerry the external alarm obviously has died down ITS the INTERNAL buzzing

would cutting the wire cure that. and dont know if the alarm co is still in existance..its an old box. THANKS.m:)

Thanks very much for Youre replies
    I will try those suggestions:)

I doubt you'd be prosecuted if a lump hammer accidently fell and hit the alarm box.

TheComeUp wrote: »
    SILENT ALARM ACTIVATED!
    WHAT do you mean? sorry

kneemos wrote: »
    I doubt you'd be prosecuted if a lump hammer accidently fell and hit the alarm box.

yes but its the INTERNAL thats the problem and Im a woman alone.. I cant do heights even though Im not a chicken when it comes to Other issues.TA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

People with un monitored house alarms are the most selfish and ignorant prick going. "my possessions are more important than the quality of life of my neighbours"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I lived in a neighbourhood where they neighbours had gone on weekend break, and their alarm was going off every 90 minutes for 10 minutes and then turning off again.

After 1 day and night the alarm ended up falling off the wall repeatedly and ended up at the persons front door.

Had to fall off a good few times too, they have a backup battery inside them.

The Gardai do sh&g all as well.

I lived in a neighbourhood where they neighbours had gone on weekend break, and their alarm was going off every 90 minutes for 10 minutes and then turning off again.

After 1 day and night the alarm ended up falling off the wall repeatedly and ended up at the persons front door.

Had to fall off a good few times too, they have a backup battery inside them.

The Gardai do sh&g all as well.

That was lucky.

nobody takes responsibility
    its like Barking dogs

but hey if you dont pay your household charge or property tax THERES HELL TO PAY!! Banana republic