Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anything to it?

• 18-07-2013 2:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭

I just want to run something by you lads and ladies for your opinion. This only happened at lunchtime today..

Anyway I was walking along a well known street in Dublin when I saw someone vaguely familiar coming the other way (female). I am male.. Anyway she nodded at me and said "Hi" and stopped. I was scrambling to remember who she was and she then introduced herself...

Turns out it was a girl (sorry now a woman) I worked with 15 years ago.. Always found her very attractive and we used chat and that quite a bit..

Anyhoo, one New Years I was out with friends and came across her and her friends... Bear in mind the night that was in it and a few shandies had been had... Anyway she asked me to dance and we ended up having a "romantic interlude"...

Now this was in the days before mobile phones and she gave me her number... I rang the number the following evening and was told she didn't live there... I put it down to my usual bad luck and moved on (we no longer worked together at this point)...

So anyway as I spoke to her today she teased me about never ringing her and I said I had.. She said she had waited and waited but was very disappointed the call never came (cross wires somewhere - or too many of the aforementioned shandies)...

Anyway turns out she is single (as am I) and I jokingly said that if she gave me her number now I would definitely ring it... I nearly dropped when she did...

So after all my waffle what I am asking is whether it is possible to re-kindle something after so long... I was really attracted to this lady on so many levels in the past but is that all water under the bridge??

Opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,617 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

She gave you her number so you would use it. So ring her, arrange a date. Stop over thinking it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

heretochat wrote: »
    I was really attracted to this lady on so many levels in the past but is that all water under the bridge??

Opinions?

You won't know till you try.

What exactly have you got to loose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭heretochat

Nothing to lose and everything to gain I suppose... I suppose I can't believe I would be so lucky to come across her again after so long...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

There shouldn't be any question in your mind about whether you should go for it! What a story :) Best of luck OP!

Am like the cat that got the cream :) Would naturally be a shy and cautious type of guy but I think I will have to go against the grain on this one.. One call to be made later this evening I think. Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

That's a feckin' adorable story. Do it, OP, and report back! I want this to be a big romantic love story! :D

Esoteric_ wrote: »
    That's a feckin' adorable story. Do it, OP, and report back! I want this to be a big romantic love story! :D

Still finding it sort of hard to believe myself to be honest. As I said before we (well I anyway) had such an attraction when we worked together.. I just hope we can re-kindle that after so long.

But meeting today there was no awkwardness and it felt natural to me. Nearly choked asking for her number and nearly fainted (and it wasn't the sun) when she gave it straight away and said not to let her down this time.

Will update tomorrow when I know whether it was just the sun or if there is a date in the offing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

CALL HER!! HAPPY DAYS!!

I adore this thread, seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭fibix

Omg, go for it!!! There's absolutely nothing to think about. Also, nevermind the past, whether you can re-kindle this or not, just start fresh.
    Good luck:)

Me here again.. Thanks again for the replies and the words of encouragement.. Just to be 100% clear - I am going to ring her... no doubt at all in my mind this is something to do and look forward to wherever the phone call leads...

My only surprise is she is still single.. The male populace has missed a trick there methinks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭m'lady

Go for it and enjoy- ya only live once ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Go and have fun you crazy kids!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

Your story sounds like ours except we are a few years down the road with house, baby etc.

Go for it. You will never regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 LoulouL

OMG... being a total girl about it... I Love this thread!!! let us know how it goes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Boofle

I just want to run something by you lads and ladies for your opinion. This only happened at lunchtime today..

Anyway I was walking along a well known street in Dublin when I saw someone vaguely familiar coming the other way (female). I am male.. Anyway she nodded at me and said "Hi" and stopped. I was scrambling to remember who she was and she then introduced herself...

Turns out it was a girl (sorry now a woman) I worked with 15 years ago.. Always found her very attractive and we used chat and that quite a bit..

Anyhoo, one New Years I was out with friends and came across her and her friends... Bear in mind the night that was in it and a few shandies had been had... Anyway she asked me to dance and we ended up having a "romantic interlude"...

Now this was in the days before mobile phones and she gave me her number... I rang the number the following evening and was told she didn't live there... I put it down to my usual bad luck and moved on (we no longer worked together at this point)...

So anyway as I spoke to her today she teased me about never ringing her and I said I had.. She said she had waited and waited but was very disappointed the call never came (cross wires somewhere - or too many of the aforementioned shandies)...

Anyway turns out she is single (as am I) and I jokingly said that if she gave me her number now I would definitely ring it... I nearly dropped when she did...

So after all my waffle what I am asking is whether it is possible to re-kindle something after so long... I was really attracted to this lady on so many levels in the past but is that all water under the bridge??

Opinions?

Wow, what a story...go for it!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Well?

I'm back... Ok so one element of the story that I stupidly forgot to include is that I am away for two weeks from tomorrow on holidays with a few friends.. Anyway I digress... Anyway I rang her last night and we had a great chat. Caught up on a lot of things and time flew by. Was a real enjoyable chat.. Anyway it turns out that we are both going to the same gig in a few weeks time shortly after I come back from hols. So we made loose arrangements to meet beforehand.. Going to head off and enjoy the hols tomorrow knowing that I have something really good to look forward to when I come back...

So the improbable love story of the century is being placed on pause for now... Although I will bring her back a stick of rock :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

wow what a story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Chara1001

Brilliant OP- rooting for ya:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

Enjoy the hols :)

Brilliant :D Enjoy your holiday, OP. Hope it all keeps going smoothly for ye both. :)

OP back here again... Had a blast on the holidays and hard to re-adjust to life at the mill again...

I rang herself on Sunday night for a chat and arrangements are in place now to meet before the gig next weekend...

So it is all looking good for now... thanks for all the kind words here. They helped me no end..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

OP back here again... Had a blast on the holidays and hard to re-adjust to life at the mill again...

I rang herself on Sunday night for a chat and arrangements are in place now to meet before the gig next weekend...

So it is all looking good for now... thanks for all the kind words here. They helped me no end..

This story is very similar to mine. There was a thirteen year impasse where we lost contact until we saw one another again. We're now married and totally loved up. :D I cannot wait to see how this pans out!! :) Best of luck, do please keep us posted!! xx

Merkin wrote: »
    This story is very similar to mine. There was a thirteen year impasse where we lost contact until we saw one another again. We're now married and totally loved up. :D I cannot wait to see how this pans out!! :) Best of luck, do please keep us posted!! xx

I won't be telling anyone to be going out and buying a new hat just as yet :). However, I am very excited at the prospect of seeing her again which must be a good sign...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I won't be telling anyone to be going out and buying a new hat just as yet :). However, I am very excited at the prospect of seeing her again which must be a good sign...

Awww, lovely to be excited. I do think that if you had good chemistry in the past, it doesn't matter how much time has elapsed, that spark still burns bright! Hope it goes really well. Funny but I started an anon thread in PI when I was due to meet up with my guy too and it's so lovely/funny to look back on! We're all rooting for you!

Merkin wrote: »
    Awww, lovely to be excited. I do think that if you had good chemistry in the past, it doesn't matter how much time has elapsed, that spark still burns bright! Hope it goes really well. Funny but I started an anon thread in PI when I was due to meet up with my guy too and it's so lovely/funny to look back on! We're all rooting for you!

I think this is the thing that is making me ever so hopeful of making this work. We were really close at one point and got on exceedingly well as friends. So the groundwork as such has already been done. I am hoping it is just a case of building on that now. As I said I am really looking forward to spending time with her again and seeing where it goes from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭apieceofcake

What a lovely story. It's like something out of a film :)

Best of luck and enjoy getting to know each other again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Best thread ever! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Anahita

I can't wait to see how this all turns out. Not that I'm a big mushball or anything, but this kind of stuff is very sweet. Aw...

So tomorrow night is the night for our first "date" - hardly the most romantic of settings (a gig with other friends around) but I think it's relaxed and not too pushy for a start.. See how we get on and then take it from there..

Back again.. So we met on Saturday night as planned anyway. I was with my friends and we met herself and some of her friends for a couple of drinks and then headed to the gig. Didn't want to come across as needy or anything so we both went seperately with our friends. We arranged to meet again afterwards. However, I took a chance and went to the pub on my own... And it turned out that she had done the same.. So we talked about the gig and this and that.. Found the night flew by... So I walked her to a taxi and we parted there... And a gent never tells ;)

So an encouraging start... And will take it from there... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭maria34

Awwwww...

Im sooooo jelous!!

First time anyone has ever uttered those words in any way relevant to anything I am involved in :p

I'll tell you all when to be going and buyig the new hats...

Seriously though time to take it sow and steady....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭NicoleL88

This thread is awesome. I completely forgot about what I was watching on the telly and was like "Next page! Next page!"

Just seeing all those typos in my last post... told you all there was nothing to be jealous of.. :D

I will do my best to keep this bestseller on the rails.. who needs Fair City eh??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Anahita

Heretochat, what's the update on this romantic situation?

Anahita wrote: »
    Heretochat, what's the update on this romantic situation?

First "date" on our own this Thursday night. Just keeping it casual and taking it slowly.. I think it is the way to go.. Not one for jumping in the deep end straight away.. But definitely wanting to make a go of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭fibix

First "date" on our own this Thursday night.

Well? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

OK closing this thread as it is no longer suitable for RI. Has moved more into blog territories. Can I also remind those asking for updates that this can result in a warning / infraction or ban being issued against you so before you post in RI again ensure you have read our charter.

Taltos