Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Itchy Feet, Groupset or Wheels!!!

• 17-07-2013 9:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭

I've just clocked up 2k on my Allez Sport since I picked it up a few months ago and I'm really getting into the cycling but now I'm getting serious itchy feet to upgrade parts.

The reason why Im looking at parts is because I already have a decent frame to start with in my opinion, its only a few months old and I cant afford to be forking out on another brand new bike.
    My sticky situation is about what I'm going to upgrade, I feel the need to upgrade :D

The bike is used for commuting but also weekend rides, I'm out north side so get good practice in and around Howth, the hills a regular on my rides. I'm now in the predicament of whether I go with wheels or groupset and from talking to a few different people it's pretty much split on which I should go for!

Some have said the Sora set up on the bike as is is pretty decent and that wheels would make a big difference while others have said the groupset would work out better. Im just wondering what people think, as I said Im not in the market for spending a massive amount, my budget would probably be 500 max?

Getting a good feel of the bike at this stage and I think I would do well to upgrade the groupset to 105 Ultegra and stick with the current wheels (Axis Classic). The wheels I was tempted by were the Campagnolo Zonda's which are not overly expensive but I'm not really sure whether they would be much of a step up from what I currently have! But if they are a slight step up, then does that beg the question for me to really try and stretch the budget to include these wheels and go with the 105??? :eek:

Any advice would be appreciated as I've a couple of long cycles / charity events coming up over the next couple of months and would like to get the parts in before hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Wheels without a doubt! If you upgrade the groupset it only means that you will have very slightly less weight and smoother shifting but if you plan on keeping the same gear ratios (ie compact) then its not going to make any significant difference to your daily commute or weekend spins whereas lighter wheels will make a big difference.

I've ridden the same bike as mine but with lighter wheels (Fulcrum 3's) and the difference is huge, the bike gets up to speed so much quicker and its easier to maintain speed/cadence with the lighter wheels, you wont get that kind of improvement by changing the groupset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Shoes, pedals (if you're not using clipless yet), saddle, Aksiums.

Spend the rest on socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Jocry

Cheers Lumen, already have shoes, pedals, Garmin, need to push the boat out a bit with this one :D

Appreciate the info CJC999 I'm actually hoping to get a lend of a set of wheels to try out. As for smooth shifting I would like to improve on what I have but regarding gearing ratio, I have yet to decide on what to go for should I upgrade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

Of the 2 you mention I would go for wheels first. Then upgrade your group set after you have got a good bit of use out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Not sure I see the point in Sora-105.

You're at 9sp, 105 is 10sp, Ultegra has already gone 11sp.

You'll spend all that money and be at a dead end.

Not that there's anything wrong with 10sp, but you could say that about 9sp too.

If you want slicker shifting, buy fancy cables (e.g. Alligator i-Link).

Not expensive enough though. :D

Thanks lumen, appreciate this :/ I think what I meant is I was hoping to upgrade everything to full Ultegra 105 but that's just me!

Have been doing a good bit of research and pretty much decided to go with the wheels and have narrowed my search down to a set of Campagnolo Zonda's however I'm trying to find the best price to either get them delivered online or from a LBS in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Lumen wrote: »
    Shoes, pedals (if you're not using clipless yet), saddle, Aksiums.

Spend the rest on socks.

Athletes foot talc might help too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

happytramp wrote: »

Yeah I saw that thanks, also looks like I can get them for 360 delivered from bike24 which I dont think Im going to beat elsewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

your rushing slow down,if you gonna go with wheels then get them built, hand made is better get advice on rims spokes hubs tyres you wont be sorry believe me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Oldlegs

Jocry wrote: »
    Yeah I saw that thanks, also looks like I can get them for 360 delivered from bike24 which I dont think Im going to beat elsewhere

€351.90 from CycleSuperstore with free delivery to Irl/UK.

Oldlegs wrote: »

€351.90 from CycleSuperstore with free delivery to Irl/UK.

€410.99 no for Shimano?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Jocry wrote: »
    Thanks lumen, appreciate this :/ I think what I meant is I was hoping to upgrade everything to full Ultegra 105 but that's just me!

105 is one groupset, ultegra is another. 105 is 10 speed and I believe new ultegra is now 11 speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 835 ✭✭✭countrykid

You could upgrade your group set as follows quiet cheaply
    Change out the levers for 105's ( available online for between €175/180)
    Rear mech 105 € 55 aprox
    Front mech € 38 approx
    Cassette € 40 approx
    Leave the calipers and the crankset as is....so approx €€320

Then zondas for €360...
    Best of both worlds for €200 extra

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Don't fall into the trap that so many beginners make of upgrading loads of parts on a cheap frame.

Frame is the most important part of a bike. When it comes to sell it on, that's what buyers are going to see, not the components on it. Allez is a grand frame, but quite entry level.

If the bike is running well, leave it be and save your money to get better bike later on. You can then keep this bike as a commuter/winter bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

Zondas are €319 on bikecomponents.de with €10 postage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭joxerjohn

Itchy feet indeed... it is like that when you get into chopping and changing components on you bike, there is no end to it.

What I would say is that the wheelset upgrade is the way to go, I would recommend zonda' as being a very good quality product for the price and you would definately see the difference when climbing in Howth. I would also recommend Cycle superstore in term of their aftersales service on these wheels. The extra few quid is worth it for the the aftersales.

As for the group, I would leave it for now. The new Sora 9 Spd you have is very solid and works well, no significant performance benefits to be gained here with 105. You would be better off to upgrade the whole bike maybe next year for a better spec and you will of course still have your Zonda wheels that you can put with a new bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭KAZ0077

I hope I am not hijacking the thread, I have a basic Allez, 2012. 8 Speed 2300. I was thinking of changing the wheels to the Zonda's.
    Just wondering would the shop you buy them from change them for you?
    Also, are they compatible with the 8 speed cassette on my bike?
    Probably won't be in a position to upgrade the bike for a good while so thought best I could do was the wheels for now, these were recommended to me by a friend and seem to be well thought of.

Thanks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭joxerjohn

I am pretty sure that Cyclesuperstore would be happy to sort you out and change over the cassette for you on a new pair of Zonda's. As far as 8spd compatability goes a spacer may be required but it shouldn't be a problem. Also as I previously alluded too I have found the CSS aftersales service very good and the workshops guys knowledgeable and very helpful. That said I am sure that other reputable LBS's in Dublin would also sort you out as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

joxerjohn wrote: »
    change over the cassette

If you buy new wheels get a new cassette for them. Use the old wheels for commuting. Use the nice wheels for the weekend.

I would not upgrade the groupset, especially if you are using the bike for commuting. Sora is cheap to replace and shifts very well if looked after. You can learn to maintain it yourself and if you mess up any part it won't cost an arm and a leg to buy a replacement.

I have Tiagra and Ultegra (6700) and I can't feel any performance difference. If anything Ultegra shifting is less slick because of the cable routing.