Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mastitis and cow advice

• 17-07-2013 5:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭

Hi all.
    Hope this isn't too dumb a question but its just that I'm minding the farm for my dad at the min as he's in hospital, and I have noticed one of the cows boobs is really sore. To touch, it feels super hot and yesterday morning I spent almost 30 mins milking it out by hand as it seemed completely clogged up by a thick, jelly like, yellowy coloured gunk. There didn't seem to be any blood in it, I checked. She was obviously distressed as I was milking it out too.

Yesterday evening it was milked out some more, and this morning there was a small bit of gunk and then some milk coming out, this evening it seems to be mostly milk.

I am worried though. I have no idea how to assess how bad it is, if she needs a vet, if she needs anti biotics or if you can get rid of it by purely milking it out. I can post a pic of what/how much came out yesterday if that can help you answer my question.
    I just don't want to call a vet out for something my dad would give out to me for,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

is she a milker or a suckler ? is she sick with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Suckler means she feeds calves? Yeah that's what she is. She doesn't seem to be sick, but she's not herself. She usually loves biscuits and wouldn't even look at one this morning, but she's drinking and she's able to walk and she doesn't hold her ears back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Call out the vet and be sure she is looked after . You can always "big up " how bad she was to your dad . She could turn sick very quick in this weather with mastitis and your dad will deffo give out if she keels over :D
    Fair play for helping your dad and dont be shy looking for advice here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

to be on the same side best to call vet,

in the interm keep doing what your are at ,, , ie make sure she drinks plenty of water and keep drawing out the teat, every hour if possible

hope ur dad (and the cow) make a speedy recovery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Ive a suckler with mastitis is rear quarter, its hard,hot and swollen and I failed to strig anything out of it and or get tube into ... safe enough to say its gone?

Ive given her 20cc antibiotic and stock tarred other 3 teats, she is 3rd calver calving in January but no calf on her this Summer as I held her over as too late calving.

She is not sick and in far too good condition, she has been thrown around and grazing odd bits away from the house with others and I should have tubed her in hindsight:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Silly question I don't know... but does mastitis affect the whole animal? Ie could you send a cow with it straight to factory or would it be condemned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Bump. God I'd thought someone could give me a quick answer. Assume no antibiotics given. Does mastitis itself in early stage affect meat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

In general no.

Most clinical cases are confined to the udder. I will cause discomfert and will collect but doesn't effect the meat.

In some cases a cow may become very sick very quickly and I am talking ecoli. In this case because the infection is so vigerous it can kill or make an nimal very sick. You would want to spot early to get her to a factory so they are usually treated with fluids and copious amounts of antibiotics. This is usually and emergency situation. Cow sick with ecoli I call knacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Muckit wrote: »
    Silly question I don't know... but does mastitis affect the whole animal? Ie could you send a cow with it straight to factory or would it be condemned?
    If she has high temperature could affect meat