Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What ye paying for milkings?

• 17-07-2013 7:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭

i have 2 lads i get 30 euros a milking, takes me 11/2hrs in morning 1 in the evening. What are ye paying, am i underpaying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

kevthegaff wrote: »
    i have 2 lads i get 30 euros a milking, takes me 11/2hrs in morning 1 in the evening. What are ye paying, am i underpaying?

I have a guy that comes in every 2nd weekend. He gets €50 euros/milking on weekends. If I need him weekdays €40. Milking times are around the same as yours. Hard to get someone good. This guy is fine, so I'm paying him a bit more than the going rate around here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

We pay the milkers €100/ day and the cows are in the yard and returned to paddock. They will bring if necessary and we pay €10 extra.
    They do 12 milking s per week. They are contractors so take care of tax etc. one herd is Spring so that guy is off for winter, winter/spring one he gets same money even when numbers drop and milking takes an hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

40 per milking here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

35 usually, 40 on a sunday. Only got this chap recently, use to use frs before, but that tended to be a lottery! Chap I have now seems very good, takes his time and does it right, he'd hopefully get to learn my herd over time also, best thing about having the same person in the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

its good money for 1.5/2hours work.

not really, if they do the job right, i wouldnt mind what i'd pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

And that's from an accountant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

whelan1 wrote: »
    not really, if they do the job right, i wouldnt mind what i'd pay

I agree. I cringe when you tell me the trouble you have when your away.

I use to work with a farmer in 2000 and i was on £2 an hour. I worked hard and i cared about the work i did and quality of work. Its about caring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

lad I know building a house has a labourer for €50 cash a DAY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Muckit wrote: »
    lad I know building a house has a labourer for €50 cash a DAY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

lad I know building a house has a labourer for €50 cash a DAY[/

Is he on SW as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

ah daaahh... yeah :rolleyes: Black economy alive and well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

ah daaahh... yeah :rolleyes: Black economy alive and well.
    So really the fella building the house and the doler are being subsidised by the taxpayer .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Lofty0990

40 per milking here

Without been nosey ,is that c--h or cheque, and if it's the first what's the story re insurance for injury to man or beast or a dodgey tank of milk even ?

Afraid of my life to get anyone other that FRS re above.

Lofty0990 wrote: »

Out of interest what does the FRS cover??? I know several years ago a FRS relief milker once forgot to close the valve on the bulk tank, 400L or so of milk pissed down the drain before he spotted it! I'm fairly sure we never did get anything out of them to cover the value of the lost milk, despite it clearly being their fault!!

But anyways, to answer your original question, no concrete agreement here with the milker if anything did happen I'll admit, but just simple as is have a basic system that works and stick to it, mine is double red tape on the tail for cows to be held, draft her around and milk at the finish, then hang a bucket off the jar so you dont forget to hold the milk, once the milker follows this there is almost no chance of letting her milk off. The chap I have I know does a good job and I trust him, if I didn't he wouldn't be in the parlour simple as is, and unfortunately my experience of the FRS is it can be a lottery, with some chaps with very little interest in your herd, get in and out as quick as possible, and move onto the next farm as they are doublebooked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Timmaay wrote: »
    Out of interest what does the FRS cover??? I know several years ago a FRS relief milker once forgot to close the valve on the bulk tank, 400L or so of milk pissed down the drain before he spotted it! I'm fairly sure we never did get anything out of them to cover the value of the lost milk, despite it clearly being their fault!!

But anyways, to answer your original question, no concrete agreement here with the milker if anything did happen I'll admit, but just simple as is have a basic system that works and stick to it, mine is double red tape on the tail for cows to be held, draft her around and milk at the finish, then hang a bucket off the jar so you dont forget to hold the milk, once the milker follows this there is almost no chance of letting her milk off. The chap I have I know does a good job and I trust him, if I didn't he wouldn't be in the parlour simple as is, and unfortunately my experience of the FRS is it can be a lottery, with some chaps with very little interest in your herd, get in and out as quick as possible, and move onto the next farm as they are doublebooked!

Ive a regular lad I pay through frs super lad never an issue. He's on hols for a week so have new lad coming tomorrow bit nervous cos ya bever know what way it upsets the cows.

Lofty0990 wrote: »
    Without been nosey ,is that c--h or cheque, and if it's the first what's the story re insurance for injury to man or beast or a dodgey tank of milk even ?

never ever paycash for milkings. i either pay for diesel in local shop for them or as i have done this year i paid the insurance for the guys car in lieu of milkings. Worked out grand til guy left last week owing me over 400 euro for milkings- but i will sort it out:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

never ever paycash for milkings. i either pay for diesel in local shop for them or as i have done this year i paid the insurance for the guys car in lieu of milkings. Worked out grand til guy left last week owing me over 400 euro for milkings- but i will sort it out:D
    did ye pay in advance, 2 lads i have are young, one better than the other lad but know the cows and the setup. they are also only within a mile away

Some of it was payment for work done and rest was in advance. I also have another lad and i do the same for him. I never ever pay cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Neighbour pays €50/milking 50 cows
    lad forgot to switch on milk tank and lost two milkings
    The relief milker has milkers himself and would be very good at what he does,but it shows what can happen.

td5man wrote: »
    Neighbour pays €50/milking 50 cows
    lad forgot to switch on milk tank and lost two milkings
    The relief milker has milkers himself and would be very good at what he does,but it shows what can happen.
    sure we all make mistakes, happens to the best of us, just a pain in the arse when you are paying someone and they mess up

True, but its the attitude that you have to all of this, and having afew simple rules in place to avoid mistakes as such, I remember once or twice forgetting to turn on the tank back when I start milking full time, thankfully my dad spotted it at the end of the milking. But anyways, my dads simple rule was you always always turn on the tank just after you turn off the washer, no exceptions. I always glance at the temp of the tank when removing the pipe also, it will tell me quick if anything is amiss, I try get the milker to follow a similar routine to what I do.

i always check the dairy after i have put the first row on....leave all gates set at end of milking for next milking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

True, but its the attitude that you have to all of this, and having afew simple rules in place to avoid mistakes as such, I remember once or twice forgetting to turn on the tank back when I start milking full time, thankfully my dad spotted it at the end of the milking. But anyways, my dads simple rule was you always always turn on the tank just after you turn off the washer, no exceptions. I always glance at the temp of the tank when removing the pipe also, it will tell me quick if anything is amiss, I try get the milker to follow a similar routine to what I do.

For a relief / part time milker, checklist, checklist, checklist.
    Important tasks listed. Lad ticks off one by one. Signs the dotted line.
    Simple. As in hotels. Proper hotels that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

For a relief / part time milker, checklist, checklist, checklist.
    Important tasks listed. Lad ticks off one by one. Signs the dotted line.
    Simple. As in hotels. Proper hotels that is.

Was in a parlour recently and the milking routine was printed out a put up on the wall. A step by step checklist.

In honesty alot of the guys milking know it already and no checklist where ever situated will be adhered to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

This the same as paying cash
    If anything happens to him her u are responsible
    both for injury ortheir tax

Hmmmm yes in terms of injury its like cash, in terms of their tax, it means nothing to you at all, its up to them to declare any cash, or benifits in kind, such as free diesel as an income? However what happens with the receipt for the diesel? Is there any issue in you putting it down in your books as a valid expense, I suppose not if they genuinely used that diesel for travelling to their place of work (ie your farm), but it all sounds like abit of a grey area?

out of interest how do other people pay? cash is drawings is it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

out of interest how do other people pay? cash is drawings is it not?

Direct debit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Hmmmm yes in terms of injury its like cash, in terms of their tax, it means nothing to you at all, its up to them to declare any cash, or benifits in kind, such as free diesel as an income? However what happens with the receipt for the diesel? Is there any issue in you putting it down in your books as a valid expense, I suppose not if they genuinely used that diesel for travelling to their place of work (ie your farm), but it all sounds like abit of a grey area?

You are liable for to collect tax unless u get a receipt from the person who is self employed contractor
    yes they can declare benefit in kind but u collect tax and make tax return