Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine Gael paid 10 grand to put their website up

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Do people/business just pick a number out of the air when quoting political bodied clients for work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

10 grand. Fcukin hell id be looking for a breakdown in those costs O_o

No Wonder they have brought in the household charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Mad, run a few chef recipes, a git pull and restore DB from nightly backup and you are back online in no time. Whoever got that 10k must be laughing at the clowns that approved it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Well it was down for 24 hours but it cost Fine Gael 10 grand to put it back up.

I would have done it for 5 grand :rolleyes:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/hacked-off-college-students-first-to-be-successfully-prosecuted-here-for-hacking-29424743.html

€10,000, ah here! Some one has to be taking the píss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Do people/business just pick a number out of the air when quoting political bodied clients for work?

Yes and then double it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pandaboy

Itzy wrote: »
    €10,000, ah here! Some one has to be taking the píss.
    Boombastic wrote: »
    Yes and then double it

Pretty much describes this scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

More likely scenario is they needed the work done quickly and lacked in house ability or knowledge to do it. Time constraints would have precluded going to tender so you go with the best of a few quickly obtained quotes

Its why vandalism like this should be prosecuted fully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Chinpool wrote: »
    10 grand. Fcukin hell id be looking for a breakdown in those costs O_o

Picked it out of their arse

tritium wrote: »
    More likely scenario is they needed the work done quickly and lacked in house ability or knowledge to do it. Time constraints would have precluded going to tender so you go with the best of a few quickly obtained quotes

Its why vandalism like this should be prosecuted fully

That would've been acceptable in the 90's. In the age of social media and the internet, the country's leading party should surely have its own established tech team, or an outsourced team ready at the helm. Ten grand to fix a site is a complete shambles of management and budget.

Also, being the leading party, and prone to online attacks, they should invest in a proper/secure system. Again, the age of social media and internet, they should surely have a back up in place.

Moral of story - these boys can't tell the difference between a modem and a scrotum. The only thing they seem to be good at is ballsing up a situation!

tritium wrote: »

More like ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Historically, businesses and organisations prosecuting this type of crime vastly overstate the monetary value of the damage.

(But I can picture FG paying that much).

pandaboy wrote: »
    That would've been acceptable in the 90's. In the age of social media and the internet, the country's leading party should surely have its own established tech team, or an outsourced team ready at the helm. Ten grand to fix a site is a complete shambles of management and budget.

Also, being the leading party, and prone to online attacks, they should invest in a proper/secure system. Again, the age of social media and internet, they should surely have a back up in place.

Moral of story - these boys can't tell the difference between a modem and a scrotum. The only thing they seem to be good at is ballsing up a situation!

They wouldn't have their own software development team, as it would cost them a few hundred thousand a year for a very small team. It would be out sourced. The company it was out sourced to should have all the source code backed up, and daily data backups (off site) incase something like a fire destroys the servers the site is hosted on. restoring a site from backups should take a few hours. as for the price, without knowing the breakdown, its impossible to tell if its expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ArseBurger

Sounds cheap for what it would have entailed.

- Lock down of the system for evidentuary purposes (usually requires a tool like Encase)
    - Forensic analysis
    - Root cause analysis
    - Fix security vulnerabilities
    - Identify what information had been taken
    - Probably rebuild a few servers
    - Then get it back up and online taking into account that traffic levels will go through the roof as soon as it's back online

And other stuff. Surprised they paid so little.

pandaboy wrote: »

Security work is expensive. As a result a LOT of companies don't bother and accept the risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The high-tech whizzkids, who used the online aliases 'Raepsauce' and 'Palladium', had been identified by the Garda Bureau of Fraud Investigation in conjunction with US law enforcement agency the FBI, Dublin District Court heard.

What's that all about? Crime committed in Ireland, by Irish people and against an Irish target.. why were the FBI involved? =/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Norma_Desmond

What's that all about? Crime committed in Ireland, by Irish people and against an Irish target.. why were the FBI involved? =/

Probably because the US agencies have records on everyone.

Everyone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I stopped reading at "the high-tech whizzkids".

They wouldn't have their own software development team, as it would cost them a few hundred thousand a year for a very small team. It would be out sourced. The company it was out sourced to should have all the source code backed up, and daily data backups (off site) incase something like a fire destroys the servers the site is hosted on. restoring a site from backups should take a few hours. as for the price, 10k for a few hours work is very expensive.

Completely agree with you. I was prone to think of the outsource model myself, which would then beg me to think that there surely is a contract with an outsourced company. They would not pay on a "per-job" basis, more of a yearly subscription, or whatever the case.
    ArseBurger wrote: »
    Security work is expensive. As a result a LOT of companies don't bother and accept the risk.

Gah, had a facetious statement regarding said party, but you make a fair point. The thing I disagree with though is that the country's leading party does not have such "security work" in place. They would surely have the budget for an out sourced contract, plus they would probably have state funding towards the cost of their site and maintenance. I just find it hilarious that this isn't in place. I can understand the cost of 10K for a full maintenance and security check, for the amount of staff involved and logistic costs. But surely, this should've been in place from the get-go. The site has been under attack numerous times in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Radiosonde

I stopped reading at "the high-tech whizzkids".

I bet hacking it was a piece of piss, only surprise is that anyone bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Not one bit surprised. The overall standard of web developers in Ireland is very poor, and any of those that are decent will command huge fees. Developers hold businesses to ransome both here and in the uk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Seems like a standard enough rate.

Sure didnt they pay like 2 million for ireland.com. I know a lot of it was for the domain but still huge numbers compared to this.

Also wasnt it fine geal's website that had some hacking done by SQL injection there a year or 2 ago ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Thom Merrilin

The only danger now is if they become martyrs after sentencing in October

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

"Sounds cheap for what it would have entailed"..........."Surprised they paid so little".....

You've got to be kidding, really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/hacked-off-college-students-first-to-be-successfully-prosecuted-here-for-hacking-29424743.html

It would be super if someone on here went through the company that has this contract and see who they are related too.
    Taps nose

Because they were probably spying at the time .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Drumorig

Here's a hacked cybercrime conference call where the FBI & scotland yard mention the two of them, it's towards the end https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1PaIQyKTuI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

could imagine these lads trying to pick up in a bar.

"so, i was in jail there for a bit"

"hacked the fine gael website so i did..... does that turn you on ?"

also obligatory "you turn my software to hardware"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

behold fine gael web guru who made that site via @suzybie http://www.mamanpoulet.com/tag/ravi-singh/

because they were involved with lulzsec to some extent http://www.irishexaminer.com/text/ireland/kfidgbgbcwid/

this US indictment probably exaggerates the extent of their involvement http://www.scribd.com/doc/141904061/Indictment-of-Ryan-Ackroyd-Jake-Davis-Darren-Martyn-Donncha-O-Cearrbhail#download

but the examiner says the were involved in hacking a fbi/uk/irish conference call on cyber crime four months later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Better Up than Down.
    What's the problem here?
    Every party has a website.
    Or should have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

because they were involve with lulzsec to some extent http://www.irishexaminer.com/text/ireland/kfidgbgbcwid/

this US indictment probably exaggerates the extent of their involvement http://www.scribd.com/doc/141904061/Indictment-of-Ryan-Ackroyd-Jake-Davis-Darren-Martyn-Donncha-O-Cearrbhail#download

but the examiner says the were involved in hacking a fbi/uk/irish conference call on cyber crime four months later

Wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭fibonaccii

They paid for security they didn't have, not just the cost of restarting the server ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The site – set up for the election campaign– had invited readers to submit comments and contact details and had just under 2,000 subscribers.

FG really in touch with the people of Ireland. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

The website was hosted in the US, meaning that's where all the data was that was stolen. So technically the crime was committed in the US too.

(And before people go mad about the site being hosted in the US, boards.ie already had their boring rant about it at the time it happened).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Mark200 wrote: »
    The website was hosted in the US, meaning that's where all the data was that was stolen. So technically the crime was committed in the US too.

(And before people go mad about the site being hosted in the US, boards.ie already had their boring rant about it at the time it happened).

Blacknight FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

fibonaccii wrote: »
    They paid for security they didn't have, not just the cost of restarting the server ;)

Which would beg the question who were they paying for hosting and what level of security the host was providing and how much was that host charging for the obviously sh!tty service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

jester77 wrote: »
    Mad, run a few chef recipes, a git pull and restore DB from nightly backup and you are back online in no time. Whoever got that 10k must be laughing at the clowns that approved it.

Which nightly backup? do you really think they're that organised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Jesus, the two guys are not helping the nerdy/hacker stereotypes with their looks are they?

Which nightly backup? do you really think they're that organised?

do you think the site would have been up in 24 hours if they didn't have backups?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,891 ✭✭✭✭ted1

policarp wrote: »
    Better Up than Down.
    What's the problem here?
    Every party has a website.
    Or should have.
    The fact it cost 10k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

The original investigation was led by the FBI. These are the same two lads who were facing US federal charges when Lulzsec members started being arrested, although no charges will be brought against them for those crimes.

Seachmall wrote: »
    The original investigation was led by the FBI. These are the same two lads who were facing US federal charges when Lulzsec members started being arrested, although no charges will be brought against them for those crimes.
    why not

why not

Wasn't reported, I presume they were low value targets and a deal was met to charge them on this crime instead of handing them over to the U.S.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

EazyD wrote: »

You've got to be kidding, really

Why? Sounds about right to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Such a load of horseshite.

"I am Stttttanding down the website."

mikom wrote: »

Christ, couldn't he have at least looked at the camera while he was speaking?

I feel we should set up a charity to fund charisma coaching for our politicians to make them more like the yanks.

They'll still be untrustworthy but at least they'll be that bit more bearable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

mikom wrote: »

No more can we afford to have young people emigrating in order to find work...
    Let's instead arrest them for hacking our shite website.

On a side note, it must be crazy for old people who may have been reading newspapers for 70 odd years to come across an article with the word 'Raepsauce' in it :P

Edit: In fact, I really want to hear an Irish news anchor say Raepsauce now.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Which would beg the question who were they paying for hosting and what level of security the host was providing and how much was that host charging for the obviously sh!tty service

You should stay away from the Internet.