Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

spark plug threads stripped

• 15-07-2013 10:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

recently, I started having problems with my lawnmower spark plug so I bought a new one. my lawnmower is 11 years old this year and the spark plug has never been changed. When I took out my old spark plug, the threads from the spark plug hole in the lawnmower came with it and now my new plug won't tighten. Don't really want to use it in case the plug would blow off. How do I fix this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Helicoil or Time-sert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 walshoisin

I am a lawnmower mechanic and I see this in my shop the whole time. what happens is the plug bonds to the lawnmower threads over time and then when it needs to be changed, you have problems. change the plug once a year. if you want to fox the threads yourself get a helicoil thread repair kit or else go to your local lawnmower repair shop. it's an easy fix. but very common

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

walshoisin wrote: »
    recently, I started having problems with my lawnmower spark plug so I bought a new one. my lawnmower is 11 years old this year and the spark plug has never been changed. When I took out my old spark plug, the threads from the spark plug hole in the lawnmower came with it and now my new plug won't tighten. Don't really want to use it in case the plug would blow off. How do I fix this??
    walshoisin wrote: »
    I am a lawnmower mechanic and I see this in my shop the whole time. what happens is the plug bonds to the lawnmower threads over time and then when it needs to be changed, you have problems. change the plug once a year. if you want to fox the threads yourself get a helicoil thread repair kit or else go to your local lawnmower repair shop. it's an easy fix. but very common

Were you meant to log out and back in on another account before replying to yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭enumbers

wtf????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Busted:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Were you meant to log out and back in on another account before replying to yourself?
    Ooops.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭tonic wine

That's one of the weirdest things to do that I've come across in a long time
    PMSL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Just like yer wan on fb who won a competition and thanked herself as the manager :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Maybe he's bi-polar and doesn't realise it? He'll freak out when he sees his other reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Laughed Out Loud
    Total Shill Fail !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Wow

What a total fail.
    Anyone got a tdi lawnmower? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

This needs to be moved to AH for proper destruction of the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Jaysus, where did that come from. Could be a while before he posts again.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

What a flipping plonker. How much business was he hoping to drum up??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission