Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PHP response

Options
  • 15-07-2013 10:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭

Hi guys,

I'm new to PHP and I'm stuck on something which seems quite simple.

After entering data into an input field I have to generate a response for the ajax request. I have the ajax code down but the php has me confused as I am not exactly sure what I am supposed to see in the console log on firebug.

Here's my code:
    AJAX:

var email = $('#subscribe-textarea').val();

var varData = 'email: ' + email;
    console.log(varData);

$.ajax({
    type: "POST",
    url: 'example.php',
    data: varData,
    success: function() {
    alert("It was a success");
    }
    });

PHP:

$email = $_POST;
    $url = 'example@example.com';

$request = new httpRequest($url, HTTP_METH_POST);
    $request->setRawPostData ($email);
    $request->send();
    $response = $request->getResponseBody();

The url is just a page with "Hello world" in the body.

What exactly should I expect the result to be and how will I know if the request was successful?

Any help is appreciated!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 17 dxter

what do you get for $response. Just use var_dump($reponse); on the last line.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

Ok, a few things..

Im assuming you're trying to send an email? Not sure that PHP script will work for that, you normally need to use a mail transport protocol, or a library such as sendmail. That aside, however..