Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another recommend a tractor thread

• 15-07-2013 6:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

Need a bit of help. Our MF 135 is struggling with round bales. The father won't sell it because it's working perfectly and it's in as new condition.

Anyway, we probably need a second heavier tractor for lifting bales. Our budget is around 5k. Reliability is our main driver because we don't want another set of bills on our hands.

Any suggestions?

Cheers,
    M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭jp6470

Fiat..780 or likes, budget willing 80-90 etc..Wouldnt consider anything else.love them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Ok these threads basically always decent into a post up a photo of your favourite tractor! In my case, its one of theses: http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/1982-case-international-1394/5063735 have had afew here over the years, fairly bulletproof, will pickup bales grand, cheap to service etc, and wont depreciate a penny more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mikefoxo

How about a Ford 4600? 65 hp, quiet cab etc. They seem to be going for handy money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

mikefoxo wrote: »
    How about a Ford 4600? 65 hp, quiet cab etc. They seem to be going for handy money

I'd second that, but not all come with a quiet cab!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭himwdah

nashmach wrote: »
    I'd second that, but not all come with a quiet cab!

i wouldnt as if u have wet bales it aint a pile better than a 135 for lift, case would be the better option or else a bigger ford than a 46 or 4610.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

2wd 955 ? I think they would be under 5k and reliable and would deffo lift a bale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Floody Boreland

moy83 wrote: »
    2wd 955 ? I think they would be under 5k and reliable and would deffo lift a bale

are you sure?

http://www.donedeal.ie/gardenequipment-for-sale/john-deere-955-compact-tractor/5350386

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

moy83 wrote: »

Most are very rough though at this stage with questionable cabs in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

mikefoxo wrote: »

they are a great little tractor but it wouldnt be much better then your little massey. they are a 3 cylinder so would still be light up front and if your struggling withthe massey the 46 will be only slightly better. as your keeping teh massey get a bigger yoke. the case's would be ok for your budget. neighbour has a 1495 from new and while its a bit rough now its still working away fine. i'd have a softspot for the fords. plenty of 2wd tractors on fore courts these days and lots of lads are looking to trade up to a 4wd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭TippNorth

Would you consider getting a set of weights for the front of the 135? You would have the flexibility of putting them on for handling the bales and could take them off when not needed. It would probably only cost a few hundred euros and spare you spending 5k or so on a second tractor plus upkeep. It's just an option really but might make sense if the current tractor is managing fine for all other jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Personally, if I could get by with a 135 for everything but the bales, I wouldn't be thinking about spending €5k on a tractor. I'd look at a bigger 1 series like a 165, 168, 175, 178, 185 or 188 for 2k to 3 k. This is essentially the tractor that you already know how to maintain because it is just a bigger version of your 135. No point in spending money on something that you don't need!

Something like this. reconditioned 212 engine (easy started), square axel (good brakes), wide tyres, etc. There's 40 more years life left in her. She'll only go up in value from here on in.

http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/mf-165/5257192

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭tmboy95

Be hard to get a nice 188 for under 5k I'd say. Going by what you say you only want if for drawing bales, so it wouldn't matter if it was abit rough looking? Drawing bales the other evening in 188 multipower , dry bales off a fusion and it flew with them :) lifted going on to the bridge If you didn't get easy, also had weights on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

Why the feck are masseys so dear. The aul lad bought a 1984 290 a few years ago and spent 12 grand on it. He could have bought a lovely John Deere with the gear sticks up on your right and not down below you in the middle

But like OP, me aul lad is a Massey fan and won't change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Why the feck are masseys so dear.

they make silly money, like the 390 and 390T

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Why the feck are masseys so dear.

We have a 40 year old Mf 168. It starts first turn, is easy on ground, can do most jobs, parts are cheap, it's a miser on diesel, it's safe, tough as nails. Had her engine done at 30 years old and should run for 30 years on that engine.

You don't get that from most tractors. Any tractors that you do get it from are dear for that reason!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭tmboy95

I agree masseys are dear enough alright but they're such a great tractor. As someone else along here said you get what you pay for. We've a Massey 178 with a loader on it and it still would do all the winter feeding , and as reliable as you will get. My father said it was one of the best investments he ever made on the farm. And this is on the fawn since the 80's. few years ago he put it aside and got resprayed and crack bit of tlc but it will always be there so why not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

Yeah. The aul had just loves masseys, but in sayin that a year after buying it, it gave trouble and hasn't been the most reliable.

I just hate the gear sticks down the middle if you in the older masseys. The John deeres with their gear sticks on the right of you is alot slicker - argued this with him but he was having none of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

nothing like grinding the stick between your legs