Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 the Killer years

• 14-07-2013 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭

This is on over on BBC4 at the moment. Saw it during the week and it's well worth a watch, just started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 MacTazz

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Good episode, just shows you the lack of passion that is on display in modern F1.

Watched it last year. Really insightful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Going forward...

I think I saw it before. Pretty striking images. Bandini's body being lifted out of his car after putting the huge fire out in Monaco. The worst was watching Purley and the upside down car on fire with the other cars flying around while the driver burnt to death. I'm glad those days are long gone, passion or no passion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

Is this what ye are talking about? iPlayer: Hunt_vs_Lauda_F1s_Greatest_Racing_Rivals/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

Is this what ye are talking about? iPlayer: Hunt_vs_Lauda_F1s_Greatest_Racing_Rivals/

No that was on before it.

Was also pretty good actually, showing the 76 season when Hunt came in and the way the teams were. Cant believe the injuries Lauda sustained and raced again the same season.

Cant imagine having an F1 race at Nurburgring. crazy place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I think I saw it before. Pretty striking images. Bandini's body being lifted out of his car after putting the huge fire out in Monaco. The worst was watching Purley and the upside down car on fire with the other cars flying around while the driver burnt to death. I'm glad those days are long gone, passion or no passion.

That scene was horrific. I can be critical of Jackie Stewart, but when I think of 'his' F1, & what we have today, I tip my hat to him & anyone who even got into the cars. He done a lot for safety, & not matter what opinions are of him, he did contribute a lot to saving lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭frostie500

One of the best books I've read lately was Jackie's autobiography. Well worth a read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,476 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I did some reading about the crash at Rouen in 1968 where Jo Schlesser driving for Honda was killed. John Surtees tested the Honda saying the car was not ready and he labelled the Honda RA302 a potential deathtrap. Turned out he was right.

Honda built another RA302 which was modified for Surtees to drive it, but he refused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Going forward...

I'm nearly certain there is an interview with Surtees saying that in this documentary.
    Don`t get me wrong nobody likes seeing drivers killed, the last race I was in we had a driver killed its not pleasant at all. However looking at how sterile F1 has become its refreshing to see the sport as it was in the 60/70`s.
    I know what you mean. Different world completely. Look at the reaction to the camera man incident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Good episode, just shows you the lack of passion that is on display in modern F1.
    I don't think it's necessarily that modern drivers lack passion, they must have plenty of it to put in the work required to get into and stay in F1. It's just that drivers now hide their passion behind perfectly manicured PR practices.

The minute they acted like the old F1 drivers you'd have half the population of the world giving out they're being poor role models. It's the same in every sport, they avoid saying what they really feel and work off the predetermined PR sheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

Aha! I found it. I was searching for Formula 1 and couldn't find it. Its on the iPlayer: Grand Prix The Killer Years. (Maybe update the thread title?)

The iPlayer doesn't really work in Ireland, not unless your willing to set up proxies and the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Morgans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

watching just reminded me of the pure adrenaline rush you would get watching old races, todays feel like a showboating parade in comparison

not that i would want it to be as dangerous as the documentary showed i feel its less about trying to go faster and faster each lap like you'd see in other forms of motorsport, and more about the tyres/fuel/technology...

i suppose its natural progression, but its great looking at old races (the few with no injuries) and seeing the natural way they raced.

Old F1 racing was a completely different kettle of fish more in line with the Le Mans than modern F1. They had long tracks that were mostly flat out, modern tracks do offer more over taking points just for having more slow speed corners.

The other major difference is the professionalism of modern drivers. They have a much deeper understanding of the car because they have more information. You wouldn't have the knowledge and skill gap between drivers that would have had back then.