Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bar tape on handlebars

• 12-07-2013 3:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43

Hi All,

My lbs put bar tape on my handlebars about 2 weeks ago and yesterday I noticed that it wasn't covering all the handlebars any more. It seems to have moved on the handlebar after cycling the bike a few times. It can be seen in the picture.

7Dkc6hE.jpg?1

Is this normal? Recently had the drop bars added to my bike and wondering if I should go back to the bike shop and ask them to put better bar tape on or do it again.

Thanks for your help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Buy some cheap tape and give it a go yourself. It really is not that difficult to do an acceptable job.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHm88l3Vx-4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

Rob87 wrote: »
    Hi All,

My lbs put bar tape on my handlebars about 2 weeks ago and yesterday I noticed that it wasn't covering all the handlebars any more. It seems to have moved on the handlebar after cycling the bike a few times. It can be seen in the picture.

7Dkc6hE.jpg?1

Is this normal? Recently had the drop bars added to my bike and wondering if I should go back to the bike shop and ask them to put better bar tape on or do it again.

Thanks for your help.

Well it can happen as not all tapes have adhesive on the back to the lbs so they can slide to leave a bit exposed like you have.

On principle I would take it back and show them the bad work and ask them to replace as you are not happy.

No need for new tape (if you are not returning it), just unravel carefully down to the split and re-wrap and add a new piece of pvc tape at the end. Should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Shoddy job, not enough tension and the plug isn't flush.

Also, IMO that tape is wound the wrong way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Rob87

Thanks for the advice - I'm going to bring it back on principle as I already paid €15 for this when I got the drop handlebars and a few other parts changed on the bike. Wanted to make sure it wasn't normal first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

Lumen wrote: »
    Shoddy job, not enough tension and the plug isn't flush.

Also, IMO that tape is wound the wrong way.

Agree - clearly not well fitted to begin with. Many tapes don't have adhesive on the back, but the tension needs to be sufficient to stop in unravelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Rob87

letape wrote: »
    Agree - clearly not well fitted to begin with. Many tapes don't have adhesive on the back, but the tension needs to be sufficient to stop in unravelling.

Just back from the shop after getting it redone. The person there was shocked when they saw it and after fixing it asked me if I knew who had put it on so badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

Rob87 wrote: »
    Just back from the shop after getting it redone. The person there was shocked when they saw it and after fixing it asked me if I knew who had put it on so badly.

That's a good result - fair play for taking it back. People are too willing to accept what they get, not what they have paid for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

worst job ever take it off and start again go to utube for advice its not hard to do it right,unless of course its brooks leather tape pain in the arse to get spot on.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Lumen wrote: »
    ...not enough tension....
    letape wrote: »
    ... the tension needs to be sufficient...
    I find it difficult to get the tension right and usually end up breaking it!:(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I find it difficult to get the tension right and usually end up breaking it!:(

What brand of tape are you using? No way should it break.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Brian? wrote: »
    What brand of tape are you using? No way should it break.
    I can't recall any particular type. I leave it to the experts now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Wrap direction is important.

They did it wrong, so as your hands grip the bars, they are loosening the tape. You want it wrapped so your hands tighten the tape.

Shoddy, shoddy, shoddy!

I can't recall any particular type. I leave it to the experts now.

Tut tut. It's a 5 minute job.

Try it yourself next time using this:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/SRAM-Supercork-plugs-Handlebar-COLOURS/dp/B008R770CY/ref=sr_1_2?s=sports&ie=UTF8&qid=1373654636&sr=1-2&keywords=sram+bar+tape

Very easy to put on and hard wearing.

they/them/theirs

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Wrap direction is important.

They did it wrong, so as your hands grip the bars, they are loosening the tape. You want it wrapped so your hands tighten the tape.

Shoddy, shoddy, shoddy!

Clockwise on the left, anti clockwise on the right I believe.

they/them/theirs