Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your proudest Post on Boards ?

• 12-07-2013 12:58am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭

Forget the ones where you shamelessly whoared yourself out for the thanks button.

What post or thread are you actually proud of in its own right?

I've just spent a wine inspired hour (Chateau Charron 2002) traipsing throgh some of my old posts and I'm happy with this one.

I threw it up here the day after Brian Cowan was interviewed on morning Ireland while he was a bit the worse for wear. He was kind of running the country at the time.

Don't post here without linking the post you're proudest of.
    And give us a brief description of why you are proud of it.

All the penis movie perverts can go here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Probably this one.

Link ^

Don't know how to link. Should probably go to bed now...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

endacl wrote: »
    Probably this one.

Too soon man.

Too soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

endacl wrote: »
    Don't know how to link. Should probably go to bed now...

Too late man.

About 16 years too late.

Lapin wrote: »
    Too soon man.

Too soon.
    Oh yeah? Well, when a bajillion people thank it and I'm crowned king of the interwebs we'll see who was right!

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Forget the ones where you shamelessly whoared yourself out for the thanks button.

I've just spent a wine inspired hour (Chateau Charron 2002) traipsing throgh some of my old posts and I'm happy with this one.

I threw it up here the day after Brian Cowan was interviewed on morning Ireland while he was a bit the worse for wear. He was kind of running the country at the time.

I don't like op's with instructions.

kneemos wrote: »
    I don't like op's with instructions.
    But if you try to assemble them without instructions, you end up with loads of fiddly little bits of leftover OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Gokei

Seeing as how I have more cp visits than posts, they must be all gold, bar this one obv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I still chuckle at this one :D

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I still chuckle at this one :D

Very 'target-audiency'. Nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I said a funny thing and everybody thanked it and I was all like 'yay, I'm funny me'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Probably the one with the most thanks, ah I see it entails sexual Innuendo cant say Im surprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭kc90

Don't post here without linking the post you're proudest of.here.

I do what I like :cool:

I'm proud of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

This
    Not really much of a point to this thread but I was out in a nightclub there a few weeks ago and I asked for a shot of Jameson. The bar-woman said they had none and offered me some Bushmills instead. I'm not gonna lie I was fairly ****ed at this stage. Being the smart fella I am I replied "Bushmills, that's a Protestant whiskey?" Clearly she wasn't a fan of the show at all and just stared blankly back at me, so I just got a JD instead.

Must say I walked away with an awful happy grin on my face. Have been waiting a few years to use that line. Unfortunately I wasn't as lucky as McNulty was that night. While he got the ride I managed to break a friends window, which means a couple of hundred euros to fix it.

Yea so here ends probably the most pointless thread I'll ever start on Boards haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I do like to think I saved a life with this

TL;DR version is crazy location for one of those JC Decaux scrolling displays in Dublin right next to a crossing. The thread got it removed as boards bombarded councillors with texts and emails.

Stole it from somewhere else.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055822243

A simple test of the power of the human mind...
    We've all heard of the things our minds can do with placebos etc. but this is prob the easiest test and it comes down to taste..

What you do is tilt your head back slightly, put your tongue out and pretend to a shake a salt shaker into your mouth..
    If ya do this for a few seconds, you can actually get a salty taste in the back of your throat.

Post if it works :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Probably this one because I was quite drunk at the time.

bronie82 wrote: »
    Is match of the day live or recorded?

Recorded, most of the matches were actually played earlier today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Re: The Anglo Tapes... Do people still use tapes?? Someone replied that it was just a turn of phrase, the type of recording device that was used and an example of where else such terms of phrase are used in the English language. This amid a thread of great anger and moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭apollo8

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Re: The Anglo Tapes... Do people still use tapes?? Someone replied that it was just a turn of phrase, the type of recording device that was used and an example of where else such terms of phrase are used in the English language. This amid a thread of great anger and moaning.

Dont mind the great anger and moaning its just the orangemen upset they cannot march past a catholic area,its their idea of having the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

bunch of show off's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

ahh, I've always had a soft spot for this one..

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

That time when everyone liked me and the voices stopped for a while

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I believe that all my posts are equally fantastic

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I have a few that I'm pretty proud of --

This picture in You Laugh, You Lose, which led on to this post.

When I discovered that you really can't be friends with yourself.

And then when I found the horse.

I've a few other ones, but those are the ones that have made me laugh the most.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

For the uninitiated, "boosting" is when 2 players kill each other over and over until one player reaches a score of 25 in Call of Duty to win the game.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055810981

However, I enjoyed taking one poster down a peg when he tried to be smart about the story. This probably my favourite as it was completely off the cuff.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64188624

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Enjoyed getting an infraction for insulting Rafa Benitez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mr kr0nik

You only got thanked 6 times in that post chief. Nothing to be proud of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

My old account had some classics. But I deleted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

mr kr0nik wrote: »
    You only got thanked 6 times in that post chief. Nothing to be proud of.

6 times more than you though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

My old account had some classics. But I deleted it.

No plans for resurrection then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Good lord. This thread is grossly sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

FoxT wrote: »
    ahh, I've always had a soft spot for this one..
    Pfftt, pretty pointless post:D

If it's trumpet blowing, I like to think my post on Overage Drinking could have brought about the reforms I expected;).
    Between the lines it had little to do with drinking.
    However we still have a bunch of feckless eejits messing up the pi$$ up in this brewery still blaming the previous landlords and still completely missing the point - a bit of fairness and cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

wil wrote: »
    Pfftt, pretty pointless post:D

If it's trumpet blowing, I like to think my post on Overage Drinking could have brought about the reforms I expected;).
    Between the lines it had little to do with drinking.
    However we still have a bunch of feckless eejits messing up the pi$$ up in this brewery still blaming the previous landlords and still completely missing the point - a bit of fairness and cop on.

pointless? perhaps!
    Pithy? Plainly!
    Prim? Paltrily.
    properly paced? possibly.
    Plentifully padded P's? Painstakingly!

-FoxT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

I said a funny thing and everybody thanked it and I was all like 'yay, I'm funny me'.

Do people actually say 'yay'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Good lord. This thread is grossly sad.
    Pighead would have been proud to have posted this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,636 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

One about a group of lions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Ive heard that if you look up your old posts too much you go blind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

I was always proud of this.
    Hadn't much of a post count at the time but was chuffed with my 30 Thanks.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056895913/1/#post83526297

Don't know how to make it show the actually post I intended to show but it's the first post of the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Ive heard that if you look up your old posts too much you go blind

I seriously doubt that. IJHRD6YT RR HKHFSXSQDVW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I think my proudest post would have to be this.

Despite the controversy it generated, it was conducive to active discussion and changed peoples minds concerning Praveen Halappanavar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

This one is mine. It's a moment in time when I finally got up off me hole and didn't some useful.

http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056884317&page=69

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

retelling a football match we played in as a kid

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80564501&postcount=119

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

Looking back on that, nearly 3 years ago. It's weird, it's things like this that will be remembered. We're part of history, kinda cool.

I presume the whole bankers on tapes thing will be the same in a few years and beyond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

This one.

One of few serious posts I made and loads of mods thanked it so I felt like teachers little pet. Awww.