Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Bike

• 11-07-2013 2:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭

Got a lecture from my Doctor recently, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, high blood sugar, overweight etc....

Problem is Wife & I work with 4 kids so time is scarce, however I fully appreciate I have to change some thing as I want to be around to raise and educate my kids and hopefully some day have some grand kids.

Given time is scarce I was considering the possibility of cycling to work a few days a week (e.g.. Mon, Wed & Fri), however work is 26 miles each way so I was considering getting an electric bike, in particular the Wisper 905 Classic.

I was told by a friend these can be de-restricted for off road use and would be capable of 30 mph assisted. If this were the case this means I could get to work in under an hour which would work for me and I could charge at home and at work, going on private roads and fields ;)

Can anyone confirm can this bike or other electric bieks be de-restricted to travel as fast as 30 mph de-restricted ? and if so what kind of range could I expect on a 16amp battery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Have a search for previous threads.

The only limit is your own sense of self-preservation and respect for the so-called "law".

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056471184

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

If you're worried about health and wellbeing why not just get a human powered bike.

Until you reach a point where the full 41km route is a realistic option you could drive partway and cycle the rest.

After a few months of regular cycling 40km one way could be the best part of your day.

I.e. drive to work with bike cycle home, followed by cycle to work and drive home.

Who knows, you might be talking about your 80km round commute this time next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭bambergbike

You will find that motorists will constantly misjudge your speed even when you are in the restricted mode simply because there aren't all that many of these things on the road yet and people are only gradually starting to realize that cyclists don't need to be in full lycra to be flying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

if your overweight and unfit 26 miles is a hell of a long way on a bike and come winter it will seem like a hundred miles electric bike or no electric bike.

change the way you eat exercise everyday take up walking,if you can manage a jog this will get you fit in a matter of months.then buy the road bike you will find the 26 miles a doddle.

btw i gave up all the medication on cholesterol (lipertor) serious pain in my legs using that s..t its one of the side effects (BAD )
    i'm also need to loose a couple stone,but i do a lot of cycling and walking and as soon as i stop eating rubbish i'll be back to were i was 10 years ago.
    anyway i reckon its a change of lifestyle and diet you need not an electric bike, your kids and grandkids will be very greatfull for it having you around.;)
    best of luck have faith .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭C3PO

I've a couple of friends who have bought electric assisted bikes. Initially I was very skeptical but in fairness they have been fantastic. These guys would never have stuck with a normal bicycle and would have left them in the shed long ago but both cycle their assisted bikes everyday with obvious health benefits! The bikes they bought were mountain bikes with Bosch motors from Germany and were very expensive but have been totally reliable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭2012paddy2012

C3PO wrote: »
    I've a couple of friends who have bought electric assisted bikes. Initially I was very skeptical but in fairness they have been fantastic. These guys would never have stuck with a normal bicycle and would have left them in the shed long ago but both cycle their assisted bikes everyday with obvious health benefits! The bikes they bought were mountain bikes with Bosch motors from Germany and were very expensive but have been totally reliable!

Hi would you have a link to those bikes you mention

These are the ones!

http://www.haibike.de/produkte_liste_de,758.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

C3PO wrote: »

Did they lose much weight? or get fitter?

beauf wrote: »
    Did they lose much weight? or get fitter?

Both! One of the lads in particular has lost a couple of stone and looks far healthier! I think the point is that the motor only "helps" so you still have to do some of the work! From what I understand it really makes longer/steeper climbs very doable! As I say my initial response was "HTFU and ride a proper bike" but for many people that is just not going to happen! Funnily enough one of the lads has bought himself a "real" bike as well now but I suspect it doesn't get used much!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭theSHU

I believe the law limits the speed of pedal assist bikes to 25kmph, derestricting may require you to get insurance etc. Anyway, your idea is just not realistic, you won't have the power to assist the bike at the speed your talking about, gaining you no fitness. You'll just be an uncomfortable passenger. Get up early and go for a run, and then drive to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭bambergbike

The idea of getting an electric-assist bike makes perfect sense. You can decide yourself how much assistance you want to call on - most people use very little on the flat, so you would still be doing a lot of "real" cycling and you would definitely get fit. When you're tired and in a hurry, you can call on the battery, and when you're feeling good you can challenge yourself.

But I would stick with a standard model where the motor cuts out once you reach 25 km/h. Even at 25 km/h - normal cyclist speed -you will encounter a lot of motorists who think - if they see you at all - that you are actually only travelling at 10 -15 km/h (basically: at the speed they would cycle at themselves in "Sunday cyclist" mode). They do very stupid things on the basis of that misjudgement (pulling out in front of you at junctions, pulling in right after overtaking and so on.) Even at "only" 25 km/h, you have to cycle along constantly making eye contact with other road users and deterring stupidity through good road positioning and so on. At faster speeds, you need a LOT of skill and experience to do that well - most cyclists acquire those skills as they build fitness. The risk with bikes with batteries is that your speed can easily get ahead of your skill. And riding something which looks like a bicycle but isn't a bicycle is just inviting misjudgements on the part of other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭shleedance

I have one and it's great. It also has helped a bit in terms of fitness too since I usually crank up the gears to put some work into it. Mine's from CIE, have it for over a year and had no problems so far.

Something like this is fine for anyone who simply wants to get from A to B without issues of sweat etc. Basically for the average Joe such as myself, who do not want to commit to wearing lycra and having to exercise to use it at any reasonable distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭2012paddy2012

shleedance wrote: »
    I have one and it's great. It also has helped a bit in terms of fitness too since I usually crank up the gears to put some work into it. Mine's from CIE, have it for over a year and had no problems so far.

Something like this is fine for anyone who simply wants to get from A to B without issues of sweat etc. Basically for the average Joe such as myself, who do not want to commit to wearing lycra and having to exercise to use it at any reasonable distance.

Would you recommend the one you have if so on me details please

This is the one I have:

http://www.ciebike.ie/spark-iii.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Looking into purchasing an electric bike but don't have a great amount of knowledge on them.

I see Giant are mentioned a bit, would they be reputable makers?

Also would an electric bike climb a hill unassisted or would you always need to pedal some bit? I don't ask that out of laziness, just for a health reason. Road traffic also wouldn't be a problem as it would be used on a very quiet road.

Any recommendations of ones would be extremely gratefully received.

Giant seems pretty good. Most electric bike brands are decent. CIE and Kenbay are options too.

Some pedaling is needed for the electric motor to kick in (pedal assisted), but you can climb most hills without effort and it takes nowhere the same amount of energy compared to a normal bike. You can get a throttle too but you'll need the bike taxed, insured and to have a driver's license in order to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Jabel

Giant wouldn't be one of the brands at the forefront of electric bike movement, there are much better manufacturers pushing this increasingly popular mode of transportation forward such as Haibike (mentioned already), Kalkhoff, BH Emotion, Cytronex and many others.
    If you're in Dublin have a look at Greenaer who sell a few different models and speak to Olivier who is very knowledgeable on the subject. The shop ran an 'ELECTRIC BIKE CHALLENGE' during the summer which involves a spin from the city centre up to Howth Head, a tough climb, and I went along as I've long been an admirer of electric bikes. I tried out a BH Emotion Neo Race as it was the closest looking to a 'normal' bike. Well... I can only say I couldn't wipe the smile off my face for hours afterwards, it was great fun, didn't need the motor on the flat at all and bike was light enough to get up to 30kph (assistance cuts out at 25kph anyway) but on the steep hill it was brilliant, you still had to pedal for sure and still get a workout but imagine a hand on your saddle pushing you along on the tough bits. Seriously good fun.
    I don't buy the whole 'cheating' argument, do whatever works for you, you can use the assistance as much or as little as you want. Only thing that is stopping me from buying one is the cost (around €2300) but you'd save some money on fuel and you're still out in the open (almost) under your own steam!
    On the other side of the argument what the people on here will tell you about getting a proper road bike and building up your fitness is true. I've gone from a 3 day commute to a 5 day commute (16km each way) despite thinking that I could never get to that level at my age. Feeling better than I have in years too and am even doing the 5km park run!
    Still love a leccy bike tho... :D

Took my mate's Bosch powered Haibike for a quick spin last night and was really impressed. Doesn't take all the effort out of cycling but makes everything just a bit easier and "wow" it hoofs along - I was doing an indicated 60kms per hour on a very slight decline! Great fun and I could understand how somebody who wants to commute everyday but isn't very fit might buy one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

shameless plug - my mother is selling an electric bike. i have no details on it at the moment (but am going up to her later and can get details if you want).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 tfingleton

I too am looking at Electric Bike to purchase. I love cycling but now in 50's and two dodgy knees so, Electric Bike is the way forward.

I have NO connection to the following brands but these are the ones I'd look at.
    Stromer ST1:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rIEWCgEsNt4 ( good video)

They just introduced a the ST2 this week - looks like a real beast.

Also Grace : MX2 or Grace Easy
    http://www.grace-bikes.com/Bikes/Mx2

All are available in Ireland

Yup - upper end of the scale but, would last years