Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

July weather

• 11-07-2013 9:05am
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just a random thread about the hot spell we're blessed with.
    Off this week and cycling every day and God isn't it just wonderful...
    Everyone is in good form, the country looks simply fabulous and it's so nice to cycle that you could literally tip away all day long.
    Thats all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

bah humbug. its too hot. the tar is sticky. some of us dont have this week off. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Great weather. You could be anywhere...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭flatface

so hot my bikes melting...

17993511e11aa6bdeeeb917c119d1b716df6dcde.jpg

Having to go in to work an hour late everyday to take in a morning sunny climb, glorious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

I saw actual heat shimmer up in the feather beds on Tuesday.

Last night I did my weekly commute to Bray with a longsleeve jersey and tights, I actually set a PR of 46:47 for 19.7km on the way out despite the lack of comfort, I was however supplying my own lake and waterfall by the time I got to my destination.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

RobFowl wrote: »

Everyone is in good form, the country looks simply fabulous and it's so nice to cycle that you could literally tip away all day long.

I'm hoping to this on saturday. Wife is heading down the country and heading out with friends. Junior is being looked after by his grand parents. Gona cycle down and take the extremely scenic route!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

If this keeps going I give it 'til Monday before the farmers start whinging - then it's officially an Irish heatwave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Jawgap wrote: »
    If this keeps going I give it 'til Monday before the farmers start whinging - then it's officially an Irish heatwave.

Jawgap . Give the farmers a few extra days. You'd be surprised how much moisture is still in the ground so the grass will grow.

The one thing you should all be enjoying for the first time in years when enjoying the countryside is Smell of Great Hay.:D

Esroh wrote: »
    Jawgap . Give the farmers a few extra days. You'd be surprised how much moisture is still in the ground so the grass will grow.

The one thing you should all be enjoying for the first time in years when enjoying the countryside is Smell of Great Hay.:D

It's not all about beef and dairy;)

Yields per hectare are well up, I see. A lot of lads will be getting a second cut in soon.

.......and that's about all I know about farming until I overhear my brothers-in-law next weekend :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

It's weeks like this that I'm so happy to be a research student, working my own hours...

....the other 51 weeks of a year it's heart breaking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Billycake

I'm just back from physio, diagnosed with tendonosis in left achilles so off the bike for now until it heals up so I'm missing the good weather on the bike. Still I'm just back from the Alps with the bike and I've decided to take the week off work so I can think of worse things to be doing than sitting in the garden sunning myself with feet elevated and an ice pack on. This weather just makes everything good with the world, even injuries................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I've been out every evening since last thursday and each day has been warmer than the one before. I do between 40 and 50km each evening but this eveing there wasnt a breeze out and the heat was unreal, I found it tough enough on the hills, I had to fully unzip my jersey at one stage just to cool down a little but its thoroughly enjoyable and i've lost 5lbs weight in the last week (probably from sweating so much) Long may it last!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

CJC999 wrote: »
    I've been out every evening since last thursday and each day has been warmer than the one before. I do between 40 and 50km each evening but this eveing there wasnt a breeze out and the heat was unreal, I found it tough enough on the hills, I had to fully unzip my jersey at one stage just to cool down a little but its thoroughly enjoyable and i've lost 5lbs weight in the last week (probably from sweating so much) Long may it last!

Did 2 hours today with the young fella (11). Was very hot and towards the end it got a bit much for him.
    I'm finding you're ok when moving but once you stop the sweat starts rolling off you.
    Not complaining mind, it'll be back to normal service soon enough :rolleyes:

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Last time we had decent weather in Ireland I was in Brazil. This time I'm in Florida.

Make the most of it guys as autumn will hit hard when I get back in another week or so ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Just a random thread about the hot spell we're blessed with.
    Off this week and cycling every day and God isn't it just wonderful...
    Thats all...

:(
    Feckin northerners. It's miserable, high winds, 3cm of rain a day here :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

New Plymouth? Pah! It's even worse in Wellington. Cold, windy, driving rain...

I left Dublin 10 days ago- the weather improved as the plane was taking off I'd say.

We should turn this into a misery thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

It's such a pleasure cycling in this weather. The generally slack winds and the hot temps are just perfect. Every day when I get to work, I just want to roll on past and see where the road takes me.

I reckon that the person who invented the bike did so in weather like this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

its too warm....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

lennymc wrote: »
    its too warm....
    Mr Garmin told me it hit 30.4 this am (seem to over estimate tbf) but feck it I'm loving it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Mr Garmin told me it hit 30.4 this am (seem to over estimate tbf) but feck it I'm loving it....

That's because the temperatures you get in the forecast are shade temperatures*. Your garmin will be measuring sunshine strength also. Same goes for the temperature displayed on the dash of your car...

* Air temperatures are measured in a Stephenson Screen where the sensor is shielded from sunshine.
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRCi6buz7aoiDUQthkZNlHMSrc5Ww2RM45-x5ua68h1uOniR1fz3Bn1AA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

It's such a pleasure cycling in this weather. The generally slack winds and the hot temps are just perfect. Every day when I get to work, I just want to roll on past and see where the road takes me.

I reckon that the person who invented the bike did so in weather like this!

TBH I don't need the sunshine for that - but it's even harder on days like these.

31 this afternoon at 1500hrs as I rolled through Gormanston.

As a fully paid up member of the Honourable the Worshipful Company of Gingers, Red Hair and Freckles Brigade - I'd concur with the idea that this weather is starting to get a bit out of hand.

I understand the Air Corps are standing by to air drop emergency supplies of Factor 50 on to beaches up and down the country, and industrial strength after sun lotion is being stockpiled at A&Es everywhere!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Thunderstorm here at present (hence I'm online;))

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Beasty wrote: »
    Thunderstorm here at present (hence I'm online;))

I think you're safe on a bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

What a perfect weather, coming down Sallygap towards Manor Kilbride I felt like I was in a valley somewhere in France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

I hate to be auld misery guts here but how in the hell are ye dealing with the treacle like road conditions?

Don't know what its like wherever ye are but the road conditions are crazy bad here in Galway. The tarmac surface has completely melted so to deal with that the council has just started gritting everywhere resulting in tyres that look like the were dipped in superglue & rolled through a quarry.

I was on a flat section of the Monivea Road today & moving nicely & suddenly I just ground to a halt. The tyres are just picking up too much grit & sh!t and completely seizing up & it's impossible to avoid it, it's everywhere. I packed it in after 7 miles, I was standing on the pedals & going nowhere. It was like a turbo session with the resistance up full.

Apart from that I'm loving the weather. Long may it last :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

It's kid of cloudy in Dublin today and temperatures have dropped and dare I say it....I'm sort of delighted.

I love the good weather but I was finding it difficult to sleep, not only that but I had to keep the garden watered and shower twice a day.

I feel sorry for the plants and trees in this weather. I'm actually looking forward to some rain at this stage. I wouldn't mind maybe 2 days of rain and then sunshine again for a week or so and then rain and you see what I'm getting at...

Am I completely bonkers? :)

maguic24 wrote: »
    It's kid of cloudy in Dublin today and temperatures have dropped and dare I say it....I'm sort of delighted.

I love the good weather but I was finding it difficult to sleep, not only that but I had to keep the garden watered and shower twice a day.

I feel sorry for the plants and trees in this weather. I'm actually looking forward to some rain at this stage. I wouldn't mind maybe 2 days of rain and then sunshine again for a week or so and then rain and you see what I'm getting at...

Am I completely bonkers? :)

Yes!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

The yellow grass makes for a nice contrast to all this green, I had to nip out under cover of darkness to water a tree that is loosing its leaves due to lack of moisture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

It's raining. ^__^ Yay for the planties and trees and the poor yellow grass. :)