Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man defies receivers to move into house in ghost estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

take off your tinfoil hat and go get a tan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

This kind of thing, one would hope, is contagious. More will follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Fair play to him!

What a sickener for himself and his son to have this grief through no fault on their part. Hope he gets some satisfaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Free gaff then so, apart from his deposit.

Win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

MadsL wrote: »
    Free gaff then so, apart from his deposit.

Win.

He legally owns the house and has been paying a bridging loan for the last 7 years on it ,the problem is the rest of the estate is in legal limbo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

Good man, Mr Ryan! Best of luck to you in your new home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Just watched the RTE video,
    Fair play to you Mr. Ryan,
    I loved the line "... The banks are are throwing people out of their homes, now I'm throwing the bank out of my home."
    Well done and well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

Hope the son moves in now for a bit of security and company. Good sound normal man with common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

It will get interesting if they decide to level the estate and return it back to a green field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,730 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Im presuming that Nama are involved in that estate. Surely it should be an objective of NAMA to work in a manner that facilitates the normal citizen who bought in good faith. This guy paid his cash and gets left in limbo for 7 years.
    Do anyone even care about these estates anymore? They are a liability, not an asset to the owners and require money just to make safe.
    If I was that home owner, I would move in also. He has got power & water connected. I would also have no issues with installing a septic tank adjacent to the house site if it was a case that no sewers were completed or connection was not available to the public sewer due to legal difficulties or politics or whatever.