Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hunting Tips for Beginner

• 09-07-2013 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭

what sort of equipment [would you need/ could you benefit from having] when hunting medium/small game? A rifle, knife....

also any recommendations for a good hunting knife? cheap knife will do but I would mind paying extra for an exceptional knife e.g Cold Steel

once an animal has been killed, what should you do , for example a goat .

I'll appreciate anymore advice that you feel is relevant to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

I think a decent pair of binoculars are one of the most important bits of kit you can have, A range finder is something else that can make life easier. But binos are it for me, I spend alot of time glassing the hillside the more you move there is a bigger chance of them seeing you. So if you can see them first you've a better chance.
    As for a knife i would recommend anything Fällkniven the F1 is a great knife i have two.:D:p
    If you are going to be shooting goat I would treat it the same as if you shot a deer etc.. Remove the digestive system as soon as it's shot. Cut along the throat and separate/tie off the food pipe, Cut around the rectum ensuring not to cut into it, cut down the belly and pull everything out. If it was a chest shot bleed it first or it'll be very messy. Shove your knife in between the ribcage and neck and lift it from the rear to let the blood drain from the chest cavity. I hear they are awful smelly buggers. :D:D:D so an awl cloths peg on the nose may come in handy. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭lb1997

juice1304 wrote: »
    I think a decent pair of binoculars are one of the most important bits of kit you can have, A range finder is something else that can make life easier. But binos are it for me, I spend alot of time glassing the hillside the more you move there is a bigger chance of them seeing you. So if you can see them first you've a better chance.
    As for a knife i would recommend anything Fällkniven the F1 is a great knife i have two.:D:p
    If you are going to be shooting goat I would treat it the same as if you shot a deer etc.. Remove the digestive system as soon as it's shot. Cut along the throat and separate/tie off the food pipe, Cut around the rectum ensuring not to cut into it, cut down the belly and pull everything out. If it was a chest shot bleed it first or it'll be very messy. Shove your knife in between the ribcage and neck and lift it from the rear to let the blood drain from the chest cavity. I hear they are awful smelly buggers. :D:D:D so an awl cloths peg on the nose may come in handy. lol
    Perfect reply! exactly what i needed to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

lb1997 wrote: »
    Perfect reply! exactly what i needed to know

david dunne has loads of info on the matter he has a few very good dvds on how to do it
    ya can ask all the questions on here but seeing it been done is the only way to learn
    youtube is a great tool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

And don't use V-Max/Ballistic ammunition on deer/goats

4200fps wrote: »
    And don't use V-Max/Ballistic ammunition on deer/goats

what ammo would you recommend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭fiacha

As far as knives go, you can't go wrong with anything by Mora. Cheap, good materials, great quality control and light. They also come in bright orange, so when you leave it down in the grass you have a chance of finding it again :D

You have the choice of Carbon (easy to sharpen, but wil rust if not kept clean / oiled) or Stainless (won't rust so easily but a bit harder to sharpen in the field).

I don't know if the blade shape is ideal for dressing deer / goats, but they do seem to be popular with hunters in the UK / Europe.

I wouldn't worry about spending a lot of money on a knife when starting out. It's going to be getting chipped on bone etc while you are learning to dress game. You can always upgrade to a nice custom made by Davy Moore once you have all your other kit bought :)

fiacha wrote: »
    As far as knives go, you can't go wrong with anything by Mora. Cheap, good materials, great quality control and light. They also come in bright orange, so when you leave it down in the grass you have a chance of finding it again :D

You have the choice of Carbon (easy to sharpen, but wil rust if not kept clean / oiled) or Stainless (won't rust so easily but a bit harder to sharpen in the field).

I don't know if the blade shape is ideal for dressing deer / goats, but they do seem to be popular with hunters in the UK / Europe.

I wouldn't worry about spending a lot of money on a knife when starting out. It's going to be getting chipped on bone etc while you are learning to dress game. You can always upgrade to a nice custom made by Davy Moore once you have all your other kit bought :)

yep good advice, will pick of those up instead :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Goats are stinking feckers. And taste just as bad. Remember goats will eat anything!!
    Don't forget a game bag to carry whatever your shooting. I know a goat won't fit in it but for most things don't forget one.

Goats are stinking feckers. And taste just as bad. Remember goats will eat anything!!
    Don't forget a game bag to carry whatever your shooting. I know a goat won't fit in it but for most things don't forget one.

yeah they may smell bad but the taste is quite nice , at least for me anyways:)
    and by game bag do you mean just any old bag?

yeah they may smell bad but the taste is quite nice , at least for me anyways:)
    and by game bag do you mean just any old bag?

Go into any outdoor shop or hunting and fishing shop and they'll have one. Usually only about 15 quid or so. Just easier to put rabbits or pigeons or whatever into.
    I have a jacket that has a keep pocket in the back and is very handy to have. Paid 25 on eBay for it. Use for falconers but I use it for ordinary hunting aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

First and most important , a gud pair of boots or wellies !!! I don't know why people spend little on foot wear after all it the only thing between you and the ground .

Knife : simple get ur self a vitronox 4 inch straight knife , ask any butcher will they order it for ya or order ur self ( Brennan butcher supplies ireland ) about 20€ , get a leather smith or shoe maker to make you a holder , job done !

Binos a must , but no need to spend huge money , konus binos are around 100 euro and more than you need !
    Lakeland shooting centre .

Clothes that do not make noise when rubbing together !! A lot of shooting clothes out there are noisey as hell !

A gud quality scope !! It make all the difference between a gud stalk and a stalk u will remember all ur life !

Oh and if shoot a goat , a bar of carbolic soap cause that smell stick with ya for a while .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭xchrisshana

On the knife side I have a bark river very good knife cuts well holds its eage and is very good for delicate work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭silverfox1

As above footwear is most important. If your wet or cold it doesn't take long to get fed up.
    Second is don't cut corners with optics. Binos or scope. You can't shoot what you can't see.
    Pretty much any rifle these days will shoot grand so don't get too hung up on any particular one. As long as it suits your needs.
    50 euro should get you a good folding knife, buck or similar will do grand.

what ammo would you recommend?
    I'd recommend polymer tipped ammunition that doesn't fragment like Hornady SST or Hornady GMX, Federal Trophy copper, hollow points but i'm not a fan of soft points. If you shoot a deer with a v-max the mess will be horrific also there poor penetration only huge destruction also high chance of a runner. I leave v-max for foxs only. Any round with solid copper or lead core and you be sound,copper will always give deepest penitration

Best all round knife I know. They are £70 but worth their money. you wont burst a stomach with these also they are easy to sharpen and hold a razor edge. They have a serious name for their quality world wide.
    http://youtu.be/6ggxURrsRNs AKA Swingblade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

where can you purchase these in ireland

ferrete wrote: »
    where can you purchase these in ireland

Swingblade is it? Only place I know you can get one in in Home Field and Streams, main street , Enniskillen , Co Fermanagh. I but my ammunition of Karl Scollan in Drumshambo, co Leitrim. If you but the Swingblade only use the gutting hook for gutting nothing else. Its a tricky blade to resharpen but its a blade you never have to sharpen if its only used for gutting. I can get the blade well down by the nee cap where the skin is very tight. Its a top class feature! I give the knife 10/10 all round and comes with a really cool looking holster
    https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/1072461_618864048131361_1040827211_o.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/1072666_618865048131261_1789517113_o.jpg

just something I was wondering.... what animals do you guys like to hunt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Glenbulldog

Vermin :)

just something I was wondering.... what animals do you guys like to hunt?

The ones with a heartbeat :)
    I love pigeon shooting.
    Can be challenging as they are quite fast and can pull off some nice shots aswell.
    Ferreting with a shotgun is fun also

I enjoy fox,crow,greycrow,mags,rabbit,duck,goat and deer shooting. mainly foxing and deer

and yer favorite game to eat ?

Of all I love venison ( whenever I get some off someone) and pigeon
    Love pigeon. Real nice taste off it.

Of all I love venison ( whenever I get some off someone) and pigeon
    Love pigeon. Real nice taste off it.

great! cant wait to get into hunting ... such a great sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Buy the best gear you can possibly afford when it comes to clothing and footwear, cheap stuff wont last you no time and there is nothing worse than getting soaked if you cloths are not fully waterproof or your cheap boots have split.
    Mora kives are fairly cheap but perfect, when it comes to binos and scopes try stretch your budget as much as possible,you can keep upgrading all the time with optics and guns .
    When choosing a gun try get a decent make even if second hand ,too many lads get put off shooting all because they bought the wrong starter gun and it broke their heart.
    As for eating what you shoot ,well you can basically eat anything you shoot it all depends if you like how it tastes or have the stomac for it.
    Just dont let yourself by railroaded or stung by some dealers who will sell a noobie ****e just the get it off their shelves.

lb1981 wrote: »
    Buy the best gear you can possibly afford when it comes to clothing and footwear, cheap stuff wont last you no time and there is nothing worse than getting soaked if you cloths are not fully waterproof or your cheap boots have split.
    Mora kives are fairly cheap but perfect, when it comes to binos and scopes try stretch your budget as much as possible,you can keep upgrading all the time with optics and guns .
    When choosing a gun try get a decent make even if second hand ,too many lads get put off shooting all because they bought the wrong starter gun and it broke their heart.
    As for eating what you shoot ,well you can basically eat anything you shoot it all depends if you like how it tastes or have the stomac for it.
    Just dont let yourself by railroaded or stung by some dealers who will sell a noobie ****e just the get it off their shelves.
    good advice :),
    and also we have very similar user names haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭DubPredator

have u got a gun yet? or what and where are you intending to shoot??

took up archery instead, i was finding it hard to obtain a license and iwas also struggling to get the money for the a rifle , the local gun dealers prices are some what more elevated than those online. will leave it a year or 2 when i get a job or a source of money.its a shame i cant hunt with the bow but i guess it will it improve my aiming/reflexes etc. for the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Rabbit, Pheasant and Venison, :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

for rabbiting, I only bring a Stanley fat max twin blade utility knife. it has two blade slots. I have a standard Stanley blade and a carpet blade. I use the carpet blade as a gut hook and I never need to sharpen cause a new blade is razor sharp. it's perfect for rabbits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

for rabbiting, I only bring a Stanley fat max twin blade utility knife. it has two blade slots. I have a standard Stanley blade and a carpet blade. I use the carpet blade as a gut hook and I never need to sharpen cause a new blade is razor sharp. it's perfect for rabbits.

thats gud thinkin with the carpet blade nice little hook in the end of them and hold edge well