Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pair of Irish lads got beaten up in Perth

• 08-07-2013 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10

A pair of Irish people got beaten up pretty badly in Perth. Western Australia Police blamed it on their intoxication levels, and didn't bother to investigate it further.

It seems that attitudes are hardening towards the Irish in Australia, and that our cultural tendency to drink a few too many is getting on the locals' nerves. This won't end well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

The vast majority of people I know of that have gone to Australia have merely done so for holiday/drunken purposes. I'm having none of this s**** that we're in a recession so pack your bags and grab a job in Oz. It's just not the reality. The vast majority are piss-head d***heads who tarnish our image by only giving bad impressions of us. Throw them all into the Tasmanian sea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Very old news

A pair of Irish people got beaten up pretty badly in Perth. Western Australia blamed it on their intoxication levels, and didn't bother to investigate it further.

It seems that attitudes are hardening towards the Irish in Australia, and that our cultural tendency to drink a few too many is getting on the locals' nerves. This won't end well...

A broken foot, a broken jaw and multiple lacerations because a few fools can't hold their drink. Sounds about right?

What do you want the police to do, babysit the fcukers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It's all a bit kettle/pot for my liken. When I was over there many years ago, the Aussies were every bit as pissheadish as the Irish or British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Irish people got drunk and into a fight?

Meh. Happens in Ireland all the time. Wish they'd mind their manners when they're guests abroad though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 HatoftheRabbit

Very old news

Keeps reoccurring though. Our national image is being destroyed by it, though it wouldn't be such a problem if Fáilte Ireland and the DFA didn't market us as a land of drunken leprachauns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I would never go to Australia, id be too embarrassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

As a result, the 28-year-old man received a broken foot and the 31-year-old received bruising and lacerations.
    one of her brothers “is traumatised as he thought his brother was dead” from the attack.

Dead from a broken foot and bruises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I would never go to Australia, id be too embarrassed.

Ditto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

GAA jerseys everywhere... They don't even support the GAA when they are at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

This really doesn't appear to be a case of attack on Irish for being Irish. One of the other guys got a broken jaw too. Sounds like a bunch of drunken louts acting like dicks.

I spent a few months in Perth and it has the most Irish population in Oz but unfortunately a lot of the Irish that settle there aren't the travellers or honest emigraters, they're the ones who went for good money and lots of drink and are the same arse holes you'd avoid in Dublin if you saw them out.

Irish in Perth have a very bad reputation but it was earned and the not so few idiots spoil it for the rest. In Melbourne I was made feel very welcome in a job that had 2 or 3 non aussie workers. There are areas of Melbourne famous for Irish as well and honestly, it's a place I avoided too. But not as bad as Fremantle or North Bridge in Perth.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Why is this even news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

A sister of the brothers told TheJournal.ie that “apparently, this has happened to other Irish” living in the area.
    Getting pissed and starting fights with strangers. It's been happening to Irish all over the world, must be some sort of conspiracy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

A pair of Irish people got beaten up pretty badly in Perth. Western Australia Police blamed it on their intoxication levels, and didn't bother to investigate it further.

Harsh sure we're only having a bit of craic. Shame there isnt a boom in Poznan they love us there;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Well that's what happens when you keep telling people that a dingo ate their baby at 4am and you're Oliver-Reed-level-drunk.

(I didn't even read the story - who cares?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Well that's what happens when you keep telling people that a dingo ate their baby at 4am and you're Oliver-Reed-level-drunk.

(I didn't even read the story - who cares?)

It might be an idea to read the story before inputting your opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

It's all a bit kettle/pot for my liken. When I was over there many years ago, the Aussies were every bit as pissheadish as the Irish or British.

true. the aussies that i've met in london are much worse than the irish counterparts. they don't suffer as much embarrassment about it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

GAA jerseys everywhere... They don't even support the GAA when they are at home.

Exactly, it's a desperate attempt to say 'Hey look at me I'm Irish'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Exactly, it's a desperate attempt to say 'Hey look at me I'm Irish'

More than likely this is used to identify other Irish also. God forbid you head off to another country and get to know the natives or various other worldly travellers.

Nope its lob on the factor 30, the GAA jersey, down to the local Diddly Eye Pub and try to locate people who come from the safe country you grew up in and starting out shouting out names of people ye know until you realise that you shifted one of their cousins in Santa Ponsa after after the leaving.

Eventually the traveller will develop a network of Irish people and will solely depend on them when going anywhere. Same clannish attitude ye see back home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Prodigious wrote: »
    It might be an idea to read the story before inputting your opinion.

Why? I said I don't care.