Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sun protection

• 07-07-2013 9:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

just wondering with the sun we are getting do ye wear sun cream? factor 50 here ! One of the kids had a friend over yesterday and i asked her had she suncream on, she said we never use it:eek:. wear a hat aswell when sun is really strong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I think its factor 50 the kids use here aswell so if its hot I dose the snout and tops of my ears in it and leave the t shirt on .
    No fear of needing it today though :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Usually I would. Yesterday was very deceiving as was overcast here but I still got scorched on back of neck and arms!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

moy83 wrote: »
    I think its factor 50 the kids use here aswell so if its hot I dose the snout and tops of my ears in it and leave the t shirt on .
    No fear of needing it today though :mad:

Roasting down here this morning so I think we ll head to that beach.

Always wear a hat when I'm out, have a collection of baseball and wolly caps. When its warm like now I wear shorts and a polo shirt with the collar up. If I have the shirt off and I'm then I'll usually slap on some sun cream on my neck and shoulders. Slap on the after sun in the evening if I need it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Factor 50 for the kids, I wear 20, my wife works in oncology and would go mad if we don't wear the stuff, she has seen to much skin cancer from stupidity of not putting on suncream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

hugo29 wrote: »
    Factor 50 for the kids, I wear 20, my wife works in oncology and would go mad if we don't wear the stuff, she has seen to much skin cancer from stupidity of not putting on suncream

Never used it I don't burn. Are you at risk if you don't burn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Remember to apply it 30 mins before you go out into in the sun. And reapply ever few hours and put a decent amount on your face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I don't use any, usually have a brimmed hat and t-shirt or something with a collar on. I find when I do put it on and I'm out working, the sweat just washes it off fast anyway, usually into my feckin eyes.

On cancer, I agree the sun will give it to us, but the more I read the more I see last weeks cancer cure will give it us next week. It's in the family genes anyway, and my star sign*, so I stopped worrying about it a long time ago, going to die of something sooner or later.

* load of ****e anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

No, I don't put it on usually. But that's not to say I don't think I should...

I try to keep out of the sun - never take off my shirt, don't wear shorts, wear a cap - although thats cos the natural protection (hair) is getting a lot lighter lately :)

But my arms wouldn't really burn... But - not sure not burning is the same as having the protection of sunscreen. Hard to know....

I have a terrible farmers tan... Think the Missus is a bit embarrassed, if I wear a t-shirt out that has a slightly higher sleeve than the normal farming ones...:( :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Each to their own lads, I used never wear it until I met my wife, stories she told me about skin cancer would make you go out and buy a bottle, ( mind you I still have the odd cig)

Just because you dint burn means nothing, do you come up in freckles, if so it's your skins way of trying to fight the sun, you will burn in the tractor,

It's easy to say that when your healthy conmaicne and I had that attitude but I want to be around for me kids so fcuk it taking 5 mins to throw on a bit suncream is worth it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Got a scare with skin cancer a few years back, so use F 50 on my face now. If anyone is unsure about a mole or something get it checked out. The earlier you get it checked the easier it is to deal with. Also if you need to get it re-checked 6 months or a year later it is vital to get it done.

slip
    slap
    slop

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i throw on oil and grease:D