Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Price - Thompson

• 06-07-2013 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭

Cracking action, Price isn't very good is he? Knocked Thompson down in the second but looks like either could end this fight soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Price looked in big trouble at the end of the 4th. The bell came just in time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,217 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Jasus price is feckin gassed after 4 rounds he needs to KO thompson quick or he will be taken out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Price's career could be over

All over thats it Price career is over no way he will ever make it at the top level now

Thompson wins. Price is actually shit.

The end of price and of Frank Maloney promotions big blow to boxnation, just shows how overhyped price was cant blame that on a lucky shot just not a top heavyweight

Hahaha! Thompson what a legend! Said he's going to break his wifes hip tonight! And anyone got a spare wheelchair for her after tonight haha! Some man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭megadodge

Best post-fight interview EVER!!!

Thompson is one seriously funny guy.

Haha haha omg anyone listen to Thompson post fight interview what a guy imma break my wife's hip i aint had sex in a while so i'm going home and have some sex haha the guy is brillent and singing in the dressing room before just amazing guys a character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Maloney is tears during an interview there
    looks like he is done unless Price fights on

Fury - Thompson next please! Want to hear and see more of Thompson! :D

Yep agree Maloney looks like he will walk away tbh i dont think Price will come back, it would take far to long to get himself a title shot who will want to fight him Chisora maybe but on his last 2 fight i'd fancy Chisora, Its a shame really as price is a likeable fella but i think we learned the reality tonight that price was all hype

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

No ring smarts what so ever. I feel for the guy but that was pathetic.

Maloney should jack it in and enjoy retirement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭EvanCornwallis

Huge, huge blow for price and Maloney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

Price has worst chin i ever seen in boxing makes Khan look like a hard man

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_RICGGWDPU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

Hughie fury would probably take price at this stage. Career over in my opinion.

barney4001 wrote: »
    Price has worst chin i ever seen in boxing makes Khan look like a hard man

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_RICGGWDPU

Nothing wrong with his chin last night.

He fought a dumb fight. He didn;t know when to jab, hold, spoil, for Christ even take a knee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭boxer.fan

Kinda feel for Price after watching that last night. Instant rematch was a terrible decision. Lennox Lewis should have kept his nose out of it, he looks like a muppet now even more than beforehand.
    Thompson is a great character, he may now get some well paid fights in the UK.

boxer.fan wrote: »
    Kinda feel for Price after watching that last night. Instant rematch was a terrible decision. Lennox Lewis should have kept his nose out of it, he looks like a muppet now even more than beforehand.
    Thompson is a great character, he may now get some well paid fights in the UK.

Agreed on all counts. Price is a decent lad, not sure where he goes from here but I wish him success

Price is a decent lad alright, but as far is his career goes his hopes of being a world champion are now non existent people say he is young but not really i mean he is now 30 compare Fury who is 24 or look at Haye at 30, he can still have some decent fights if he can get himself back on track but not enough time in my view to regroup and get near a title shot, he is so far down the line now

I would agree but this is the HW division we are talking about. Wlad is 37 / 38 and wont be around for ever. The best of the rest are all pretty average. Once Wlad retires the division will be wide open.

In saying that I would worry about Price. He's pretty easy to find, no inside skills and the gas tank.. well lets just leave that there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

T-K-O wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with his chin last night.

He fought a dumb fight. He didn;t know when to jab, hold, spoil, for Christ even take a knee.
    yes all the defence he seemed to have was to double over
    hes finished i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

or look at Haye at 30

Haye is 32 and turns 33 in October. Given his reliance on athleticism I can see his abilities decline rapidly in the next couple of years.

Oh sorry i wasnt very clear, i wasnt saying Haye is 30 i was just saying look where he was at when he was 30 what he had achived ect compared to price at 30, ye i would agree Haye will only last another 2 or 3 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,222 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I watched the first 4 rds and the recording stopped. Missed the end. Price is so cumbersome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭el flaco

walshb wrote: »
    I watched the first 4 rds and the recording stopped. Missed the end. Price is so cumbersome.

The fight was as good as over after round 3 anyway. I don't know if I've ever seen a fighter so tired after 3 rounds. It's hard to believe Thompson is 11 years older and was down in the second round and still looked the fresher man.
    Even if he puts it down to nerves can he find another 9 rounds worth of stamina if he's relaxed?
    This doesn't need to be the end for him, but with stamina like that he'll need to knock every opponent out early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭Tom Hanks

The interview with Thompson after the fight had me laughing my head off!! " I'm going to break my wife's hip" hahahaha!

All seriously though I'd be worried about Maloney, in the interview after the bout he looked like he had enough.

Price had no Jab & looked like an absolute clown in there against The Tiger. Fair play to him

Tom Hanks wrote: »
    The interview with Thompson after the fight had me laughing my head off!! " I'm going to break my wife's hip" hahahaha!

Not sure why that's funny. Horses for courses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭megadodge

Not sure why that's funny. Horses for courses!

If you heard the interview you'd have laughed your head off.

He was talking about not having had sex for weeks and his wife was going to be on the receiving end that night and if anybody could donate a wheelchair to the 'save Mrs. Thompson' fund he'd accept it on her behalf.

It was hilarious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭Speisekarte

The inappropriate setting of the comment is fairly funny. The interviewer didn't know what to say.

megadodge wrote: »
    If you heard the interview you'd have laughed your head off.

He was talking about not having had sex for weeks and his wife was going to be on the receiving end that night and if anybody could donate a wheelchair to the 'save Mrs. Thompson' fund he'd accept it on her behalf.

It was hilarious.

I will try and catch that clip. The recording bloody stopped on me just before rd 5. BoxNation usually repeat stuff a lot. I'll be looking out for it.

Doh! I see the clip above!

I watched that clip. Sorry, it's weird/crude, not at all funny. Strange dude. Anyway, saw the end of the fight. Price just had no will or fight in him at the end.