Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mk5 VW Golf - chugging

• 05-07-2013 9:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭

Herself has an 05 golf 1.4 petrol about 130km on the clock, so tonight it's giving me the engine light, on at first then flashing, car is misfiring - can drive but its hanging back, definitely missing, haven't a code reader but I thinking spark plugs, coil packs, high tension leads? Something along these lines? Any one had this or similar before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

It will almost certainly be a coilpack.

Get a genuine VW replacement, they are cheap enough. Spurious ones are not worth bothering with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

It will almost certainly be a coilpack.

Get a genuine VW replacement, they are cheap enough. Spurious ones are not worth bothering with.

Cheers, that's what I was thinking. Will hardly get a VW one in a moto factors tomoro though, spurious might have to get me by. Though its probably a Bosch - will see what they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

You will only probably only need one ignition coil not a complete pack. Plug in the OBD and it will say which cylinder. Then swap the coils around to see if the fault on the OBD moves to a different cylinder. Number 1 starts on the left where the oil filler cap is.

I thought it was the VW factory fitted ones that were the troublesome ones. I've changed 3 on my 2005 golf.

recyclebin wrote: »
    You will only probably only need one ignition coil not a complete pack. Plug in the OBD and it will say which cylinder. Then swap the coils around to see if the fault on the OBD moves to a different cylinder. Number 1 starts on the left where the oil filler cap is.

I thought it was the VW factory fitted ones that were the troublesome ones. I've changed 3 on my 2005 golf.

Yep just the one I'd say, actually a mate has an OBD scanner so will go grab that shortly and get to it. Will let ye know how I get on. Thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Focus_sligo

If you take a look at the tops of the coil packs. If the are smooth they are good, anyone with blisters or expanded tops need replace on the golfs. Most VW garage open Saturdays for a half day if you want genuine parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭88manta

Bosch make the vw coils.

make sure do diagnostic check first with proper equipment.

it could save you money.

Where abouts are you? I can do it if you're not a million miles from sligo

I'm nearly a million miles from Sligo, South Tipp. thanks for the offer though.

Got it sorted this morning, got a part in the motor factors, not bosch but it will have to do. Got a set of bosch plugs while i was at it though. Got my mates OBD reader, says its for Audi/VW, he got it when he had an A4, said it worked fine but i couldn't ge it to connect. So had spotted a video on youtube (from Liamautomechanic) changing a coil on a golf with no diagnostic tool, look at the spark plugs, the problem coil will be connected to a dirtier spark plug, so took them out and had a look, no real difference, but 1 and 4 were slightly sootier so figured it was one of these. Coil 3 had been changed previously so figured it wasn't that one.

Fitted the 4 new spark plugs, replaced coil number 4, started it back up, no change. Replaced 4 with old coil and tried the new coil in 1, bingo. She was smooth again.

Couldn't clear code so unhooked battery for 5 mins, reconnected and took her for a spin. 20 mins - driving fine, no lights. Think thats done it.

Thanks for all the help lads.