Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No ID

• 05-07-2013 10:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭

They are bringing out a new type of social services/PPS card.

My mother was asked in for an appointment last week. She brought her letter along with other things they asked for like proof of address.

But when it came to the ID section on the letter and what's acceptable, there was no mention of a picture ID. They asked for a birth cert.

But the birth cert wasnt good enough, they want a picture ID which they never specifically asked for.

My mother was given another appointment for this week and she brought in a very old provisional license from the early 90s. But this wont do as its out of date.

They dont take age cards or so the letter said. So what else can she use?

Why are they being dicks?

My mother has no interest in learning to drive again. A new provisional license would mean booking a theory test and that will cost €45 If she passes there's also the cost of the provisional license and thats €35 and the cost of passport sized pictures, you're looking at €90 and thats if you pass the theory test the first time.

My mother can't travel very far, she never flies so a passport is also useless. But to get a passport will cost another €100. I think post offices only accept the passport express and thats €80 and the cost of passport pictures.

Why are these things expensive and for someone that won't use them for what its really for i.e. driving or flying.

Its a joke.

What else can she use or get? Or just tell them to fcuk off.

Ask them what is acceptable perhaps?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Have you tried her class photo from when she was in school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Tell her to get a big tattoo on her face. That's the least painful solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Garda Age Card?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Ask them what is acceptable, and go for the cheapest option. Why does she need a SW card? If she's claiming something she's surely needed some form of photo ID in the past, so can't she just use that. I got the new photo ID SW card with no such hassle. I only had my old SW card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Is there not a legal requirement to have some form of valid ID anyways?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

wexie wrote: »

Usually referenced as a passport, or a drivers license. One is only required to go abroad and the other you'd need to learn how to drive for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Not on this side of the pond.

Not that I'm aware of - in many European countries you are required to carry your state issued ID cards at all times - and you can be asked to present it by the police without reason.

Here we have no obligatory ID, passports and driving licenses are optional and cost money.

I'm not sure what your mother can do OP - if the state doesn't issue obligatory photo ID I'm not sure how it can demand it.

Edit: When you are first applying for a passport - if you don't already have photo ID you essentially ask a guard to vouch for you by signing the back of the photo - if they don't know you they can ask some other person of good standing in the community to vouch for you too.

http://www.dfa.ie/home/index.aspx?id=30248#witness
    The person who witnesses your signature and confirms your identity must, without exception, be a member of one of the following professions and must not be related to you. Retired witnesses are not acceptable:

Police Officer
    Member of the Clergy
    Lawyer
    Medical Doctor
    Bank Manager/Assistant Bank Manager
    Elected Public Representative
    Commissioner for Oaths
    Peace Commissioner
    School Principal/Vice Principal
    Accountant
    Maybe there is a similar option for this?

Edit: I find it funny that I as an accountant am included in the list but that so many of my peers aren't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Your mother should apply for an ML10 form in her local Garda station.

The ML10 exists specifically for people in her situation.

If this is an ongoing issue, the Dept. of Social Protection should have informed her of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭SEANoftheDEAD

My mother was given another appointment for this week and she brought in a very old provisional license from the early 90s. But this wont do as its out of date

But, but she's still her! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Catch 22 b`ll`cks brought about by less than "with it" writers of policy & those implementing it.

How can I get my photo ID?

Well, you get it over here... now, fill in this form here, pay the fee, yes, & we'll take a picture of you... there! Oh, & one more thing, before I can issue you with this, I'll need to see some form of photo ID.

I've no photo ID.

Well, you'll have to get one...

Well, you get it over here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

There's a form you can get stamped at the Garda Station.

Get a passport sized photo done in chemist or booth and bring to Guards and get your mum to bring all her other documents with her.

Fill out an ML10 form. I think that's the name of it but double check.

Ask guard to stamp form/picture. This may work as an acceptable photo id.:)

Edit: just saw that Cody Pomeray already mentioned this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

But, but she's still her! :confused:

No, you're thinking of Dara Ó Briain...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Does the bus pass have a photo on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Mr Whirly

Catch 22 b`ll`cks brought about by less than "with it" writers of policy & those implementing it.

Well, you get it over here... now, fill in this form here, pay the fee, yes, & we'll take a picture of you... there! Oh, & one more thing, before I can issue you with this, I'll need to see some form of photo ID.

I

There's no fee.

If she has no photo id how did she set up her xtravision account? or get into Coppers after the mini marathon? Something is not adding up here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

General rule:
    Photo ID: Passport or Drivers Licence. In date, and with clear photo, DOB, expiry date and signature.
    Proof of address: Utility bill in current address. Dated within the last 3 - 6 months. Must be the same name on application and on passport. Proof of registered to vote in your area (can be looked up on your local county council website), must be in same name at same address. Thoms Directory, if she is in this book that can be used as proof of address also. Eircom phonebook can be used in some circumstances also. Bank statement from last 3 - 6 months, e-statements cannot be accpeted unless signed and stamped by an employee of that bank branch (they'll do this for free btw).

It can vary, the ML10 form as others have said is there for this situation and can be obtained in the police station with 2 signed passport photos. The Garda needs to sign and stamp the back of the photos and this can replace the photo ID.

If you are ever unsure call them first, if they won't help call your bank and ask about AML requirement around ID and I'm sure they'll help out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭SEANoftheDEAD

kiffer wrote: »
    No, you're thinking of Dara Ó Briain...

:P ye got me!

Altho i do think its a valid point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

The person who witnesses your signature and confirms your identity must, without exception, be a member of one of the following professions and must not be related to you. Retired witnesses are not acceptable:

Police Officer
    Member of the Clergy
    Lawyer
    Medical Doctor
    Bank Manager/Assistant Bank Manager

Elected Public Representative
    Commissioner for Oaths
    Peace Commissioner
    School Principal/Vice Principal
    Accountant
    Why in this day and age are priests or bankers considered as reliable witnesses to anything ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Just been on the citizen information website about this card and the ML-10 form won't do.

Looks as if its a drivers license or passport. They are seriously fcuked up, my mother doesnt drive or go abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Just been on the citizen information website about this card and the ML-10 form won't do.

Looks as if its a drivers license or passport. They are seriously fcuked up, my mother doesnt drive or go abroad.

That's madness. Call them and see what they CAN do. Legally, Financial Institutuions can take ML10, why can they not?

You'll go mad trying to figure this out, get on to them and don't let them go until a suitable arrangement is made.

Sorry you're having so much hassle, there are laws in place but these crowds come up with their own policies, to the detriment of the average person, and label it 'best practice'. Which I guess means "less work for us!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

As someone else has said, ask them about a Garda Age Card, it is a form of photo id after all. All she would need is her Birth Cert and photos, the card itself costing 10 euro. If they will accept that, then it is the least expensive option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Sounds ridiculous. But apparently there has been social welfare fraud using the ML10 in the past.

While the individual dealing with your mother's case may not have hitherto encountered this situation, I am sure the agency's central office staff have. I would now get in contact with their HQ, if I were in your position, and persuade them that it is unreasonable to impose a de facto requirement to hold a driver's licence or a passport in order to avail of basic social services.
    As someone else has said, ask them about a Garda Age Card, it is a form of photo id after all
    Unfortunately that seems to be ruled out as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Sounds ridiculous. But apparently there has been social welfare fraud using the ML10 in the past.

While the individual dealing with your mother's case may not have hitherto encountered this situation, I am sure the agency's central office staff have. I would now get in contact with their HQ, if I were in your position, and persuade them that it is unreasonable to impose a de facto requirement to hold a driver's licence or a passport in order to avail of basic social services.

Unfortunately that seems to be ruled out as well.

Lol ridicolous, I thought the Age Card was a sanctioned id from the Guarda/ Government...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

HondaSami wrote: »
    Does the bus pass have a photo on it?

yes.. if the person went to a station when they received their pass.

__
    But OP's mother doesn't anything about having one