Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second hand tractor tyres

• 04-07-2013 10:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭

Has anyone ever bought secondhand? I've to get a set for the front of tractor R24's I think. There have almost no grip, but about 30-40% still left on back.

I was thinking I will pick up a half worn set to match them and change the lot when the time comes.

Is this madness? Should I just stick a new set on the front?

Muckit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

im in the same predicament, gona wait till after the winter and theyre well woren and gona get a new set then, i dont see the point in putting on 30-40% tyres unless u can do it yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Do you need the grip?

If you put a new set on the front, won't they be just completely worn by the time the rear is completely worn?

Out of curiosity, how many hours did you get out of the set?

We have 2000 hours on ours and the front tyres have more than 90% thread left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Reilig, try Mick king near Bawnboy , usually has a good selection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

If you have a loader put on a new set now as the 40% on the rear will last as long as a new set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

we havent bought a new tractor tyre in over 25 years. there are lads near here that export fords, we swapped a set of old wheels (rims and all) with no grip for one with better grip. did the same with the front wheels a few years ago. cost me €300 for the rear tyres R34's so hard to come by, will last me for ages had about 60% grips and worked away fine this spring.

are you plannign on doing a lot of road work?

Reilig, try Mick king near Bawnboy , usually has a good selection.

I'm not looking for tyres :D

But I do agree that mick king has a great selection. He is at Derrynacreeve cross if anyone is looking for him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Sticking on a new set on the front now might make the bill a bit lighter down the road ,when the the time comes for four new ones it can be dirty cheque to write :eek:
    I bought two second hand tyres for the sheargrab loader last week , 100 euro for the pair fitted to the rims . They had about 30% grip left, I think they were R24 x 19 but Im not too sure on that .
    I can PM on his number if you want a price on new or secondhand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

try Mick king near Bawnboy
    reilig wrote: »

He is at Derrynacreeve cross if anyone is looking for him!

Ye might as well be telling me he's from ballygobackwards! What county/major town is that near?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Muckit wrote: »
    Ye might as well be telling me he's from ballygobackwards! What county/major town is that near?!?

Derrynacreeve is just up past galway and before you come to Ballyshannon, he is there on the left, cant miss him

Muckit wrote: »

Between Ballinamore in Leitrim and Swanlinbar in Cavan. It would be a good 2 hour drive from your place. PM me if you want the number. He has a massive selection of tyres and will fit them for you and all!

Derrynacreeve is just up past galway and before you come to Ballyshannon, he is there on the left, cant miss him

The house with the white chimney ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Would he have a tyre for slurry tanker, russian tyres they are called ,not sure of the size at present 500x 300 x something ?

dharn wrote: »
    Would he have a tyre for slurry tanker, russian tyres they are called ,not sure of the size at present 500x 300 x something ?

Like these?

picture.php?albumid=1565&pictureid=8630

€600 for the pair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Ya they look right, I only need 1, the other one is new , one im replacing is very old and perished and could go at any time, 300 seems a bit dear for a worn tyre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Thanks for replies.
    @Reilig there was very poor tyres on front when we got it, they are just covers now, no real grip.

@junior.... no loader yet but it is on my wishlist. But by time it materialises it might be ready to trade and buy one with a loader on it!!

If I spashed on new tyres I'd say they'd do me 10years+!
    A well matched pair with 50% tread would do me a good while and go easy on the pocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Last pair of Michelins rear tyres I had done 5500 hrs with me and then went to a contractor and they must have 8000 hrs done by now. Current pair of Trelleborgs have done 3000k hrs so far on rears and look to have hardened over the last 1k hrs, Fronts were replaced under 2k hrs:mad:, but that with mostly loader work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

reilig wrote: »
    I'm not looking for tyres :D

But I do agree that mick king has a great selection. He is at Derrynacreeve cross if anyone is looking for him!

Sorry about that , can I put that down to senility and the onset of "Hay type weather approaching"?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Sorry about that , can I put that down to senility and the onset of "Hay type weather approaching"?:D
    do you know anyone in our area selling second hand tyres looking for 2 for the front of my tm125?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Pat hinch in tullamore has great selection. He near the site 4 the show too

dharn wrote: »
    Ya they look right, I only need 1, the other one is new , one im replacing is very old and perished and could go at any time, 300 seems a bit dear for a worn tyre

Tyres and rims.

They are almost 3ft wide and 5ft high. They are off a dumper and have 60% thread. Tyres like that would set you back a grand apiece for the tyre alone. Agrigear wanted a grand for smaller wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭ppn

Has anyone experience with Uniroyal rear tyres? I have an option to buy a part worn set of these or a continental? AM I aswell of with the slightly more worn continental?