Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bolivian presidents plane rerouted because suspicions of Snowden being on board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Be funny if they re routed it to America alright.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Surely i'm not the only one who doesn't give a shite where snowden is or where he'll end up am I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Midnight Sundance

Nothing would surprise me!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Surely i'm not the only one who doesn't give a shite where snowden is or where he'll end up am I?

I'd like to see him get asylum asap, as would plenty of others.
    The world could do with more of his sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Peanut

So France and Portugal refused the flight to enter their airspace, presumably under US duress.

Not sure that will go down too well in France where a number of opposition parties have already called for granting asylum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A plane carrying the Bolivian President was rerouted to Austria after France and Portugal refused to let it cross their airspace because of suspicions that NSA whistleblower, Edward Snowden was on board.
    Foreign Minister David Choquehuanca denied that Mr Snowden was on the plane, which landed in Vienna, and said France and Portugal would have to explain why they cancelled authorisation for the flight.
    Damn right they should. Feckers :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

BOlivian plane going to America, no way. *:Checks calender*

Might be a small party happening in or around the fourth. Nose powder express is sent for reinforcements.

biko wrote: »
    Damn right they should. Feckers :mad:

Most likely to stop him trying to claim asylum in a European country and opening a can of diplomatic worms for the E.U with the U.S.

Russia said they'd grant him asylum if he didn't release anymore secret information on the US, why didn't he take it?

Damn Commies,in russia asylum seeks you.

^^
    That's why. He's obviously not prepared to enter into a deal which will silence him.
    Fair fcuks to the man, he has balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

We should write to Enda telling him we'd like to grant him asylum. I'd let him stay on my couch no bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Im not well versed in this matter but why would that concern the Ruskis?

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Im not well versed in this matter but why would that concern the Ruskis?

Because the info he would release is likely to be more dirt on the US. The Russians don't want the US cheesed off with them because well, who would in fairness? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Snowden must be the dorkiest idiot. Why didn't he go to Ecuador first and then announce his identity to the guardian.

Sauve wrote: »
    ^^
    That's why. He's obviously not prepared to enter into a deal which will silence him.
    Fair fcuks to the man, he has balls.

But could he not just release all of the information he has now and then go to Russia and get asylum?

Has there been any word on whether Cuba would take him in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Because the info he would release is likely to be more dirt on the US. The Russians don't want the US cheesed off with them because well, who would in fairness? :p

Pchaa. I always figured RU would be grand with that. Putin is as hard a man as they come. All riding bears naked and shii. I wish Snowden like blackmailed Ireland into granting him asylum with all the dirt he has on us. I bet he has a portfolio with all the information gathered on EU countries that he keeps on his person for that exact purpose. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

Just saw this link on twitter. Be interesting to follow if he was on board

@rtenews: Bolivian president's plane rerouted following Snowden suspicions http://t.co/ysOTZ04kDR http://t.co/mD6FsEyTKN

Great to see that the French and Portuguese are being courageous and standing up to the United States by refusing to allow the Bolivian plane to pass over their airspace. Not. Self-serving cowardice on a Bertie "those US planes were just refuelling" Ahern scale.

But could he not just release all of the information he has now and then go to Russia and get asylum?

The Russians made their offer. Someone would find out and tell on him if he did that ;)

Can't trust anyone with a secret these days :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Be handy if he was on the plane seeing as Austria say he must make a asylum request, on their soil. :pac:

Dostoevsky wrote: »
    Great to see that the French and Portuguese are being courageous and standing up to the United States by refusing to allow the Bolivian plane to pass over their airspace. Not. Self-serving cowardice on a Bertie "those US planes were just refuelling" Ahern scale.

Maybe I've got it wrong, but I thought this plane was bound for Bolivia, where Snowden would then seek asylum? In which case the French and Portuguese are being cowardly and bending under the will of the US?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

He's always got North Korea to fall back on :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Prodigious wrote: »
    Maybe I've got it wrong, but I thought this plane was bound for Bolivia, where Snowden would then seek asylum? In which case the French and Portuguese are being cowardly and bending under the will of the US?

Dostoyevsky was being sarcastic. Read his post carefully.

kraggy wrote: »
    Dostoyevsky was being sarcastic. Read his post carefully.

Ah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭RebelSoul

Most likely to stop him trying to claim asylum in a European country and opening a can of diplomatic worms for the E.U with the U.S.

You do give a ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Feels like a game of Where's Waldo [Wally?], but with Snowden.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

The Mayor of Guantanamo says he's got plenty of space and he's welcome any time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Larianne wrote: »
    Be handy if he was on the plane seeing as Austria say he must make a asylum request, on their soil. :pac:

Not sure about that. Most airports have an "airside" and "landside". Technically if you are "airside" i.e. the other side of immigration you have technically not entered that country. I've flown transit through Moscow a few times with overnight stays and never needed a visa as technically we never entered the then USSR.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Tabnabs wrote: »
    The Mayor of Guantanamo says he's got plenty of space and he's welcome any time...
    Do you mean Guantánamo, Cuba or Guantanamo Bay, USA?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Red Kev wrote: »
    Not sure about that. Most airports have an "airside" and "landside". Technically if you are "airside" i.e. the other side of immigration you have technically not entered that country. I've flown transit through Moscow a few times with overnight stays and never needed a visa as technically we never entered the then USSR.

Pretty sure that's the case with him in Russia now (assuming he is still in Russia)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

snubbleste wrote: »
    Do you mean Guantánamo, Cuba or Guantanamo Bay, USA?

Guantanamo Bay, Cuba (Cuba retains ultimate sovereignty).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Saadyst

Red Kev wrote: »

The main problem at the moment seems to be that the US has revoked his passport.. so not sure he can even technically clear immigration to enter Russia. Wonder what the WikiLeaks guys are doing to help him... I thought they had a small group travelling with him?

Really feel for Snowdon as well. The US seems to be pressing a lot of countries around the world to try to bring him in, meanwhile he's stuck in limbo in an airport in Moscow, sleeping on some dodgy metal seats and snicker bars for breakfast?
    Even if he gets on a plane to a country that offers asylum, being up on that plane all the while must be incredibly nerve-wracking... how things might change before he even lands etc.

Really disappointed in how this is playing out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Gets stranger
    French officials denied that France refused to let the Bolivian president's plane cross over its airspace.. Spain, too, said the plane was free to cross its territory.
    Bolivian officials said that France, Portugal, Spain and Italy blocked the plane from flying over their territories, and angrily demanded explanation.
    http://www.mercurynews.com/breaking-news/ci_23590259/snowden-france-denies-blocking-bolivian-plane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

TBH, although I'm absolutely fascinated by this and I really hope to see a conclusion, I'm starting to seriously doubt that we'll ever hear about where he ends up, at least not for a good while. If the man had any sense he'd sneak away quietly with whichever country gives him asylum. Look what happened: Ecuador publicly expressed support for him and the US phoned them and somehow changed their minds. Venezuela publicly backed him and then backpedalled for unknown reasons. Bolivia publicly backed him and the feckin' president's plane was effectively raided to try and catch him.

Seeing a pattern here? What he needs to do is make a secret deal with a country which is interested in taking him, without talking to the press or anyone else until he's actually safe on their territory. Otherwise in all honesty I can see a long road ahead of public expressions of support, US diplomatic blackmail, and withdrawals of support - or public expressions of support, interference in transit of any modes of transportation which might be carrying him, etc.

The only way out for him is to get out quietly and not tell anyone where he's going until AFTER he arrives. So I would expect this trail to go dead pretty soon.

I hope this will silence the absolute muppets who claim Snowden is acting for personal infamy or some such bollocks. If he didn't care about the principles he has claimed to espouse, he would have taken this option over the increasingly uncertain and stressful future which now lies ahead of him.
    But of course, the anti-Snowden smear campaign in the media will undoubtedly continue...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Saadyst wrote: »
    The main problem at the moment seems to be that the US has revoked his passport.. so not sure he can even technically clear immigration to enter Russia. Wonder what the WikiLeaks guys are doing to help him... I thought they had a small group travelling with him?

Really feel for Snowdon as well. The US seems to be pressing a lot of countries around the world to try to bring him in, meanwhile he's stuck in limbo in an airport in Moscow, sleeping on some dodgy metal seats and snicker bars for breakfast?
    Even if he gets on a plane to a country that offers asylum, being up on that plane all the while must be incredibly nerve-wracking... how things might change before he even lands etc.

Really disappointed in how this is playing out.

The one thing to be said is there's a small hotel within that transit area so I doubt he's sleeping on metal seats and having snickers for breakfast. Cold comfort I know, but at least it's something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Peanut

The only way out for him is to get out quietly and not tell anyone where he's going until AFTER he arrives. So I would expect this trail to go dead pretty soon.

I think what's happening is that those countries have to test the waters for a US reaction before making a decision on accepting him.

If they did make a secret deal, then it would eventually get out at some stage, and they would have to handle whatever reaction they get from the US anyway, so better not to lose face and have to expel/extradite Snowden when they figure out that the heat is too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

You've got to hand it to Snowden (or pity his stupidity). What he's done effectively means his life is over for a long time. He had a hot, dancer girlfriend in Hawaii and all!!

Now that the world is watching there MAY be sense in him agreeing to go home to the USA and, in all likelihood, stand trial.

If the US want to try him for espionage or whatever they might have to explain themselves (why they were bugging the EU embassy, etc) and they may not want to do that.

They may just want to charge him with stealing a few memory sticks and let him walk.

His options are getting fewer and less attractive by the day.