Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your first marathon

• 02-07-2013 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭

Running a marathon is on my bucket list. I just have a few questions about your first time doing one.
    Did you go into it with a time goal in mind or simply to complete it?
    In subsequent runs did you manage to shave much off the time you first ran?
    In terms of pacing it did you stick to a clear time per mile or take it handy for first stage and then push on?

Looking forward to your replies

Had a fair idea of time, used the McMillan calculator. Thought it would be about 4.15, it was 3.59. For second one had a much better idea of what was required, training etc. and shaved 30 mins off it to 3.29. Took a good bit of time off 10km, 10 miles and half marathon times around then too. Didn't really have a huge plan for first one, for second again was much more focussed. Pace pretty even all the way, little between first and second half of race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

When I first started training for my first marathon, I set myself the goal of sub-4 as I thought that was doable, and lots of people aim for that. The only rationale for that was that I was able to run comfortably at faster than that pace for 5 or 6 miles 4 months before the goal marathon.
    By the time the race came around, I was fairly sure that I could run a 3:45, and with my very dodgey racing knowhow, proceeded to run at sub 3:30 pace for 20 miles, before coming home in 3:36.

For my second marathon, I set myself the goal of sub 3:30. Not particularly aggressive, but as I sort of slipped off the wagon for a good 8 months, it was like starting all over again. Was pleased with that working out, running a negative split 3:23.

In subsequent races for a few years, all I wanted to do was run PBs, and then break 3 hours, without a real proper idea of what I could or should be running the marathon at, resulting in plenty of overcooking it in the races, or undercooking it in training.

Get out there, get a solid base of mileage in, try a few shorter distance races, and at that point, you can get yourself a marathon target that is appropriate. You likely need to have a fairly good idea what your target is from at least 6-8 weeks before the race in order to train accordingly and do yourself justice. But, for your first marathon, above all ensure that you enjoy your running, don't overstretch yourself and get to the startline fit and healthy. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I had the idea in my head that I should be able to go under 4 hours.

I started cramping at mile 18 and had to run/walk the final 8 miles and finished in 4:06.

Yes, I have since managed to shave a good bit of time off that. :) (over 70 minutes)

Like almost every other novice I made the classic mistake of starting too fast, I guess. But that's all part of the learning curve.

My advice is to have some sort of idea in your head what time you are capable of, but don't be too disappointed if you don't make it, the first marathon is always a massive learning experience.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

First marathon I went into in retrospect I went in ill-prepared, I had hoped for 4hours but at mile 18 I ran into problems and finished in 4:34,

My second marathon I aimed for 4hours and this time finished in 3:58 as I had put more weekly miles in. Since then I've knocked it down to 3:41 with aim of getting it under 3:30 this year, first marathon was June 2011

In all cases I headed out with pacers and tried to keep the same pace throughout,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭event

First one was this year, followed the HH Novice 2. Figured I could get Sub 4, got 3:58. Did struggle near the end. Going for the DCM in October, Im training for a 3:50, using the HH intermediate 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Ri na hEireann

One bit of advice I'd have is register as early as you can to give you as long a base-building period as possible. It also means you'll follow through with it. Tell people you're doing it too. They'll genuinely be impressed and the more people you tell the more you'll be inclined to stick with the training when it's going tough. (Obviously don't be that guy that bores the ear off everyone about running a marathon)

I ran my first one last weekend and while I was delighted to have finished I made it much harder than I should have and it all went proper tits up for the last few miles. If you can get used to being on your feet for long periods it'll be easier to focus the mind on a ballpark time in the training for the marathon. I had only run as far as 10 miles in October 2012. I reached the HM distance in April and did the Viking Marathon last week. It was all a bit too fast and I hadn't really trained my body to cope with the stresses of 20+ miles because I had only ran the distance a couple of times very slowly.

I'm taking stock as to what to do now. I'd like to do the DCM this year as I had originally planned but I'm thinking I might build myself up more and go for one early 2014 and do a few more halfs this year.

Pacing is very important. I know this because I didn't follow my pacing plan last week and it affected me terribly but I wouldn't know what to tell you generally since people tend to differ on this and I'm new to this myself. You should average a similar pace for each mile throughout though taking into account the fatigue in your legs in the later miles (or earlier miles if you go off too fast like me)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 40 RunMD

Start running with consistency .. Start with one/two days a week and build on that .. When you have a good basis established ie running 4/5 days week circa 20 miles a week , then pick up a marathon training programme and stick with it ..

Enjoy the journey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Thanks for the replies guys, lots of great advice.

Just a quick question, whats the etiquette with having to spit?!
    I know the mannerly thing is just don't do it but no matter what pace I set out at I have to spit every so often in the first few miles. Not an issue running on a quiet road by yourself but an official marathon would be a different matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,067 ✭✭✭opus

Running a marathon is on my bucket list. I just have a few questions about your first time doing one.
    In terms of pacing it did you stick to a clear time per mile or take it handy for first stage and then push on?

For myself I initially picked a time of under 4 hours (out of my a*se like Drummer!), as the w/end runs got longer I remember I did my longest run of ~21 miles in in and round three hours so upgraded my target to under 3:50. In the end I ran the marathon (Cork '10) in ~3:27. Ran it by feel as didn't have any tech back then :)
    Just a quick question, whats the etiquette with having to spit?!
    I know the mannerly thing is just don't do it but no matter what pace I set out at I have to spit every so often in the first few miles. Not an issue running on a quiet road by yourself but an official marathon would be a different matter.

Wouldn't worry too much about spitting as you won't be the only one, just try not to do it on anyone's runners!

Hi All,

I'm hoping to participate in the Longford marathon this weekend.
    Being a natural pessimist I'm starting to get a bit nervy and apprehensive about the amount of training I have done for it and whether or not I have enough distance done to get through so am looking for some advice.

I have been consistently doing 5-7 miles 3-4 times per week since start of the year. In the last 8-9weeks I have been increasing my long run distance which I do at the weekend. Adding on a mile or 2 each weekend I managed to get through 21 miles 2 weeks ago. I did 18 miles the following weekend and just 11 last Saturday before having to retire cause of a bit of an upset stomach.

For more experienced runners than myself I'm just looking for a bit of feedback on whether I have enough done or should I look at doing the half marathon?

Many thanks

You're sorted comic book guy, you're suffering from a very common disease known as "taper madness".. Try your best to relax over the next few days, ease back on training and go enjoy your debut marathon.;)

Thanks lad,

That's a bit of a relief. I had even gone so far as to organise my work tomorrow so that I could get a good long run in to make sure miles are still in me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Thanks lad,

That's a bit of a relief. I had even gone so far as to organise my work tomorrow so that I could get a good long run in to make sure miles are still in me!!

:eek: A few days before your target race is not the time to be doing a long run! Your training is now done, run as often as you do normally but for half or so of the distance. Throw in a few extended strides - 60 seconds or so - and get plenty of sleep over the next few days. Make yourself a checklist for the night before and the day to make sure you bring everything you need. Start thining about the race, visualise comfortably going through half way, concentrating through 20 miles, working hard to keep pace through 24 and picking it up over the last couple.

Enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

I
    Thanks lad,

Don't do any kind of long run this week. All you should be doing is getting the legs fresh. 5 miles max tomorrow. All the training is done now.

Edit: Clearlier got there before me :)

Thanks Guys.

Had intended doing a longer run than I managed last Saturday and then started getting into a bit of a panic on whether I had enough done etc.

Planning about 4-5 miles tomorrow with 2-4 on Thursday and Friday, bit of a handy walk for Saturday. Does that sound ok?

I have done every single run by myself, do you get much of a bounce from being in a race and having people around you?

What should I be looking at eating for dinner Friday and Saturday, I was thinking a tuna pasta bake Friday, pasta and veg on Saturday??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Thanks Guys.

Had intended doing a longer run than I managed last Saturday and then started getting into a bit of a panic on whether I had enough done etc.

Planning about 4-5 miles tomorrow with 2-4 on Thursday and Friday, bit of a handy walk for Saturday. Does that sound ok?

I have done every single run by myself, do you get much of a bounce from being in a race and having people around you?

What should I be looking at eating for dinner Friday and Saturday, I was thinking a tuna pasta bake Friday, pasta and veg on Saturday??

You sound like you have it sorted.

Make sure to take on board plenty of fluid this week, get plenty of sleep and eat healthily. Assuming you like pasta that's fine but don't go for a tuna pasta if you haven't before. Don't go hungry Fri and Sat but make sure no to overdo it either.

Race morning try and have breakfast 3 hrs before the start and stop drinking 2 hrs before start - keep weeing up to the start. You'll feel like drinking but you can wait for the 1st water station - trust me!

On the day when the going gets tough - and it will at some stage - smile and remind yourself you're a legend for doing all the training and be happy you're one of the few that can experience this - embrace the pain and feel strong and smug!

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭0lordy

Thanks Guys.

You will definitely get a bounce from having people around you, and the general atmosphere of the race. Having company when training would have been better, especially in the long runs - if you're going again, try to team up with others or join an athletics club, that's something that I missed out on.

While you need to focus on your race on the day, try also to engage with people around you, it's a tough day but it's also a bit of craic. Pick an appropriate pacer and stick with that, but don't be too ambitious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭rob w

0lordy wrote: »
    You will definitely get a bounce from having people around you, and the general atmosphere of the race. Having company when training would have been better, especially in the long runs - if you're going again, try to team up with others or join an athletics club, that's something that I missed out on.

While you need to focus on your race on the day, try also to engage with people around you, it's a tough day but it's also a bit of craic. Pick an appropriate pacer and stick with that, but don't be too ambitious.

Just been reading through this thread, some interesting advice to take on board for myself too as ill be doing DCM for the first time this year.

While Ive never done DCM I have done other races and you will get a great boost from both the people on the street and the people running with you, I think its important not to get to carried away though as you can find yourself flying off ahead of your intended pace very easily, which will obviously have a big impact towards the end of the race!

Best of luck with the race and well done on making it through the training in one piece, thats half the battle! :D

Thanks Guys.

Will make sure and leave the hand break on for the first few miles and ease into my usual pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Went in with a target of 4:30:00 at Belfast last year.

6 mile/10k mark done in about an hour.
    Half way, just over 2 hrs starting to think am going to be well within target time.
    18 miles in just over 3 hrs, thinking I'm going to destroy this time.
    1 mile later, hit this wall I heard about.
    Crossed the line with a time of 4:38:00, combination of walking and jogging the last 6, all I wanted to do was get over that line, find some where warm and dry, get my medal and a foil blanket.

Although once I got back to the hotel, warmed up, and put on the race tee for the first time, was on an absolute high for the next few days, and was already contimpating Dublin. Am still yet to run it, maybe still not quite ready for it this year, will decide in another few weeks to a month, if I manage to get to the line and around the Athlone Half in a few weeks that will go along way to deciding.

In fairness, the training went pretty well, with a few training races, including 10 miles and a half marathon, two training runs as well both of around 20 miles, 4 weeks before started reducing the distances, then picked up a cold 2-3 weeks before hand, only recovering a week to 10 days before hand, but went up feeling good and confident, and getting into the buzz at the expo the night before, and with my walk to the start line that morning, and pretty much most of the way around dispite the weather, until I hit that wall.

Is it worth doing, hell yeah.

Just an update that I completed the Longford marathon on Sunday last.

The build up didn't go too well as got a head cold on the Wednesday before it that had my legs with that achey type feeling. Left it til very last minute before signing up to try and get over it, thank God there was no drug tests for paracetamol or lemsip!! Couldn't let the training go to waste over a lousy cold!

My wife dropped me into town for the start, walking to the start line I felt a bit "naked" and sure enough I had forgotten my Garmin, was absolutely raging with myself.

Anyway the race itself, got into a comfortable run early on and was able to settle in, however the cold kinda caught up with me and started to struggle from mile 19. Eventually succumbed to having to do walking stints from mile 21. Got in at 3 26 so happy to break 3 30 for first time marathon.
    However my sense of achievement is masked by disappointment in myself in not gritting my teeth more and having to resort to doing the walking stints.
    Would love to have those last 5 miles over although literally not today!! I never thought I would use the word marathon and addictive in the same sentence but looking forward to next one already!!

Thanks for all yer tips and advice in the previous posts

Fantastic result Comic Book Guy. 3:26 for a debut marathon really is excellent. Don't be disheartened about those last 5 miles, even very experienced marathoners can overcook the pace leading to a slower finish. As you said yourself, you now have a target for the next one, where you can improve on some aspects. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Just an update that I completed the Longford marathon on Sunday last.

The build up didn't go too well as got a head cold on the Wednesday before it that had my legs with that achey type feeling. Left it til very last minute before signing up to try and get over it, thank God there was no drug tests for paracetamol or lemsip!! Couldn't let the training go to waste over a lousy cold!

My wife dropped me into town for the start, walking to the start line I felt a bit "naked" and sure enough I had forgotten my Garmin, was absolutely raging with myself.

Anyway the race itself, got into a comfortable run early on and was able to settle in, however the cold kinda caught up with me and started to struggle from mile 19. Eventually succumbed to having to do walking stints from mile 21. Got in at 3 26 so happy to break 3 30 for first time marathon.
    However my sense of achievement is masked by disappointment in myself in not gritting my teeth more and having to resort to doing the walking stints.
    Would love to have those last 5 miles over although literally not today!! I never thought I would use the word marathon and addictive in the same sentence but looking forward to next one already!!

Thanks for all yer tips and advice in the previous posts

Snap! I started with a 3.26 in waterford last year followed by Dublin 3.09 and limerick 3.01..... You should try get a half marathon in over the next couple of months, you could be looking at a nice time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭carlaboi

Hi everyone, just looking for a bit of advice, have been running the last couple of years and have completed a number of races however I was injured for the best part of last year and didn't compete in many events. This year I have signed up for the race series and completed the 5 and 10 miler last weekend will also do the half in September. I would like to do the marathon in October but am wondering am I been too ambitious? It is 10 weeks away and am wondering if I have enough time to train? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

carlaboi wrote: »
    Hi everyone, just looking for a bit of advice, have been running the last couple of years and have completed a number of races however I was injured for the best part of last year and didn't compete in many events. This year I have signed up for the race series and completed the 5 and 10 miler last weekend will also do the half in September. I would like to do the marathon in October but am wondering am I been too ambitious? It is 10 weeks away and am wondering if I have enough time to train? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

What training are you doing at the moment?

Gavlor wrote: »
    Snap! I started with a 3.26 in waterford last year followed by Dublin 3.09 and limerick 3.01..... You should try get a half marathon in over the next couple of months, you could be looking at a nice time

Fair play Gavlor that's a brill progression. Where are ya planning on attempting sub 3 hour?
    Yeah I have a half marathon in tarmonbarry to look forward to in mid October and will be looking to finish out the 1000 mile challenge here on boards.
    Not looked at a race calendar for next year but would like to domarathon next april or may.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Fair play Gavlor that's a brill progression. Where are ya planning on attempting sub 3 hour?
    Yeah I have a half marathon in tarmonbarry to look forward to in mid October and will be looking to finish out the 1000 mile challenge here on boards.
    Not looked at a race calendar for next year but would like to domarathon next april or may.

Limerick back in may :D

Next shot is Dublin, then London and if I don't break it by then, it's on to epo

Limerick back in may :D

Next shot is Dublin, then London and if I don't break it by then, it's on to epo[/QUOTE]

:pac::pac: Best of luck with it lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭carlaboi

Currently doing 3 midweek runs of 5 miles plus and one long run on the weekend. Will up that to 4 runs midweek and one long run on the weekend. Not sure if that is enough. This week I did 10, 5 and 7 will do 12 today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41 pico84

Looking forward to your replies

I went in with a goal of 7:20 per mile which is 3:12, I had been running alot for 2-3 years though at this stage. Numerous half marathons/10 mile/15 mile races over the previous few years so I was at a handy leave at the time.
    I did a second marathon a year later and did 3:06 and looking to go sub 3 next year which should be very achievable.
    Pace wise I tried to stick to my pace bang on from start to finish - faded a little bit in the last few miles but still hit my target.

The best bit of advise I could give you is if you're looking for a time take your time take 2 or 3 years building up to it, get a bit of experience of longer races and the marathon wont be as daunting.
    If your just looking to tick the box off the list by all means work away into but the best thing I did was taking my time and I've progressed an awful lot off the back of building it slowly over a few years.