Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Move over Bord Failte-the Healy Raes got this...

• 02-07-2013 9:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭

Taken from the Irish Independent:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/two-million-germans-tune-in-for-healyraes-drinkdrive-tv-show-29387406.html
    An estimated two million Germans tuned in to watch the publican councillor's debut on 'Spiegel TV' on Sunday night, an investigative magazine programme that has been running since 1989.
    The segment featuring the Kerry councillor will be available on the 'Spiegel TV' website, which attracts an additional 100,000 hits per day, from tomorrow.

The show was about the Healy Raes public appeal to raise the drink driving limit.

And..
    Producer Roman Lehberger insists his take on the issue isn't mocking but is presented with humour.

Will someone please nuke that fcuking family off the political landscape of our country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Taken from the Irish Independent:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/two-million-germans-tune-in-for-healyraes-drinkdrive-tv-show-29387406.html

The show was about the Healy Raes public appeal to raise the drink driving limit.

And..

Will someone please nuke that fcuking family off the political landscape of our country?

Real nukes

Has to be real nukes

Follow up with sarin and anthrax spores to be sure.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

We're a laughing stock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

oh my....just NO!

FACEPALM.JPG

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

I love the picture of the auld lad called Francie who is described as a 'Guinness Fan.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

bumper234 wrote: »
    FACEPALM.JPG

Just so you know, that's not how pictures work.txt

NothingMan wrote: »
    Just so you know, that's not how pictures work.txt

oh my.

:o

We're a laughing stock.
    We already were but this just adds to it. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

If they had painted a little mustache on Jackie, I wonder would he have reminded them of anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Them Healy-Raes are a lot cuter than you think. Perpetuating a national stereotype, getting the Germans to laugh at the silly Irish, throw in a lock of oul scenery.

Bord Failte hasn't a patch on them boyos as a PR machine.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

What I don't understand is..

Which one of you bastards keeping voting for them?! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Is this one of them low production films with no thought put into it?

Or a TV Series?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Lotsa folks in the "wesht".

Nemeses wrote: »
    Is this one of them low production films with no thought put into it?

Or a TV Series?

It's seemingly a well established investigative program that has been broadcast for the last twenty four years.

Really taking the piss out of us pixie headed fcuks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

It's seemingly a well established investigative program that has been broadcast for the last twenty four years.

Really taking the piss out of us pixie headed fcuks.

IF this is the case, then I probably wont watch it lol

Nemeses wrote: »
    IF this is the case, then I probably wont watch it lol

Its no man with ten stone testicles anyways. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

i love the healy raes

Seriously?

It's idiots like them that make people around the world think of "de tick oirish" :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Here it is.... in German. It's a bit twee, a bit tongue in cheek, ticks a few cliche boxes but Danny healy-Rae lets the cat out of the bag at the end when he says "let those who oppose it knock on the doors of the people at the next election". It's what his proposal was all about in the beginning - just getting more votes for himself and his family.

To be fair there's plenty of people in Germany who would agree with Healy-rae & Francie. (Nice Lexus by the way Danny). Francie getting into the car locked drunk is a bit shocking as is the other farmers gaff, jesus with that dirt in the fridge it's no wonder he's single.

http://www.spiegel.tv/filme/drink-and-drive-irland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

As if we werent already a laughing stock in Europe, now we have this clown making it even worse.

gotta love this quote:
    The proposal by Mr Healy-Rae caused uproar earlier this year when it was carried by Kerry County Council after it won the support of three other publican councillors and Mr Healy-Rae's son, Johnny.

so 4 publicans and a publicans son voted for this. But it has to do with helping suicide rates among rural people, nothing to do with getting business for Healy-Raes pub. Lets help fight depression and suicide by making a depressant more freely available to the locals.
    Pig ignorant bloody mucksavage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Mr Healy-Rae & Son = "Spud munchin, goobeen jarvey riding bog hoppers"

There like a cross between "Darby O'Gill and a love child of Podge n Rodge"

If we ignore then, would they go away.

Lets do this for the good of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

so 4 publicans and a publicans son voted for this. But it has to do with helping suicide rates among rural people, nothing to do with getting business for Healy-Raes pub. Lets help fight depression and suicide by making a depressant more freely available to the locals.
    Pig ignorant bloody mucksavage.
    True, nothing to do with suicide in isolated communities, rather as you say a money-making ploy for greedy publicans.

However there is a small misunderstanding of the word "depressant" when used in relation to alcohol. It is a central nervous system depressant, the effect is physiological (which is why you shouldn't be drink-driving) not psychological. Nothing to do with "depression".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

It's still less embarrasing then having them listen to our bankers, which show the true gombeen averace of the nation for what it is.

Play the diddley-eye card all means, it's what the Germans want to see, I'm off to Munich in September and if I don't get to do the tourist thing at Oktoberfest surrounded by busty wenches and hilariously mustachioed germans in lederhosen slapping their thighs and singing uproariously to Oompah music .... vel, I vil be verrrrry disapointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Them Healy-Raes are a lot cuter than you think. Perpetuating a national stereotype, getting the Germans to laugh at the silly Irish, throw in a lock of oul scenery.

Bord Failte hasn't a patch on them boyos as a PR machine.

Its Failte Ireland, just sayin.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Its Failte Ireland, just sayin.:cool:

Aye, and that just proves how good they are at promoting the country.:p

Dere's more to Oireland, den dis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

bumper234 wrote: »
    Seriously?

It's idiots like them that make people around the world think of "de tick oirish" :mad:

but that's enda kenneys job:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

The dirt on the fridge proves their point about isolation.
    If they were allowed to drive to the pub slowly the might have met a future wife in the pub who would have tended the house while her husband farmed etc.
    Its a shame people like this will be left to drink alone in their houses till forever not seeing anyone else for weeks on end for feer of being nabbed for drunken driving and being in the court section of the Kerryman further making them isolated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

Red Kev wrote: »
    Here it is.... in German. It's a bit twee, a bit tongue in cheek, ticks a few cliche boxes but Danny healy-Rae lets the cat out of the bag at the end when he says "let those who oppose it knock on the doors of the people at the next election". It's what his proposal was all about in the beginning - just getting more votes for himself and his family.

To be fair there's plenty of people in Germany who would agree with Healy-rae & Francie. (Nice Lexus by the way Danny). Francie getting into the car locked drunk is a bit shocking as is the other farmers gaff, jesus with that dirt in the fridge it's no wonder he's single.

http://www.spiegel.tv/filme/drink-and-drive-irland/
    there are quite a few old boys in rural ireland who live this way, they will not change for any one, i know of one when he got a new house refused to use the toilet insisting on doing this buisness in quite a large garden, that was three years ago, he still has a pristine jacks, takes a leak out the door as well, there is some whiff to greet the ocasional visitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

It drives me mad that people actually vote for morons like these. The Germans will probably love the show until someone tells them that its actually real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

At least most of the dialect was dubbed over. I've a hard time understanding the Healy Raes myself. It wasn't too bad until the camera crew went to that poor fcukers hovel.

At least Healy Rae didn't say 'Tanks for the billuns'