Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does this happen every year?

• 30-06-2013 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭

I noticed it before in other years .... But why the **** do the Gaa put the tickets for the quarter finals and semis on sale well before anyone even knows whos in them?

I went on tickets.ie there just to see whats on sale next and u can already buy tickets for matchs no one even knows whos playing in.

People have already started buying them as well because the section i normally always sit in seems to be gone.

Why cant they just wait a couple of weeks before hand like all other games. I dont have the money in me bank at moment so not in position to buy tickets and i imagine im not the only one.

Ive no idea where Dublin will be come those matchs i dont wanna spend my money going to other games its ****ing stupid.

Saying that with the Gaa im not surprised there only interested in making money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

What exactly is the issue here?

If you are worried about not sitting in the same section you usually do then tough there are 82000 places to sit and stand in in Croke Park and you can see the pitch from all of them so I am sure you will have no problem getting a ticket in a decent seat, Its not as if by putting tickest on sale early they will all be sold out.

Heineken cup final tickets go on sale months before the final takes place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

its not on ticketmaster.ie, is tickets.ie a relible site? Sounds a bit makey-uppy to me.

EDIT: never mind, I see the same packages available on gaa.ie. Don't see the harm in these, GAA probably just trying to get some advance cash in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

What exactly is the issue here?

If you are worried about not sitting in the same section you usually do then tough there are 82000 places to sit and stand in in Croke Park and you can see the pitch from all of them so I am sure you will have no problem getting a ticket in a decent seat, Its not as if by putting tickest on sale early they will all be sold out.

Heineken cup final tickets go on sale months before the final takes place.

Fair enough but i dont understand why they cant just wait until the games before hand are played. There is always plenty of time in advance whats the rush ?

Like i said i go to see Dublin matchs ive no interest in paying to watch other teams play i watch the other matchs at home.

I just think its an arse ways system. Not everyone has the money weeks in advance.

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    its not on ticketmaster.ie, is tickets.ie a relible site? Sounds a bit makey-uppy to me.

Ticketmaster.ie is gone to ****e Gaa wise. The Gaa use tickets.ie mainly now for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,217 ✭✭✭bren2001

They are reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

You want the GAA to wait until you in particular have the money to pay for your tickets, just so that you can sit where you normally do? Are you serious? What about the other 82,00 people who want to go to the games?

The quarter finals are the GAA's first decent chance of the year in getting a full house at Croke Park. The more of a window that they give people to buy tickets, the more tickets they will sell. The more money that they make, the more money will trickle down to clubs. I don't have a problem with that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

they can do as they like as they know the gaa heads have skin in the game

ProudDUB wrote: »
    You want the GAA to wait until you in particular have the money to pay for your tickets, just so that you can sit where you normally do? Are you serious? What about the other 82,00 people who want to go to the games?

The quarter finals are the GAA's first decent chance of the year in getting a full house at Croke Park. The more of a window that they give people to buy tickets, the more tickets they will sell. The more money that they make, the more money will trickle down to clubs. I don't have a problem with that at all.

No listen the issue i have with this is no one has any idea who is playing in these games.

I go to see my county play first and foremost. The provincial finals aint even finished and they have 1/4 and 1/2 final matchs onsale thats my issue.

I dont want anyone to wait for me to have money i just think its arseways to sell tickets for something that u dont even know what your gonna get yet!.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

No listen the issue i have with this is no one has any idea who is playing in these games.

I go to see my county play first and foremost. The provincial finals aint even finished and they have 1/4 and 1/2 final matchs onsale thats my issue.

I dont want anyone to wait for me to have money i just think its arseways to sell tickets for something that u dont even know what your gonna get yet!.

this has to be one of the worst complaints ever against the GAA.

and thats saying something.

whinging because they have tickets on sale in advance of a game? someone better tell FIFA they do the world cup tickets all wrong too.

bruschi wrote: »
    this has to be one of the worst complaints ever against the GAA.

and thats saying something.

whinging because they have tickets on sale in advance of a game? someone better tell FIFA they do the world cup tickets all wrong too.

So tell me if u follow one team and only that team would u buy tickets for matchs in advance with out knowing they where even gonna be playing in them??

This is all well and good for fans who like to go and watch every game but not everyone wants that.

You have every right to go and pay and watch your county play if u want to.

Why should u have to gamble and buy tickets before u even know there in the poxy match?

And your comparing the world cup to the All Ireland ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

No I wouldn't, as I can easily get a ticket for all games.

I don't know why you are complaining?
    I could understand if your gripe was that you go to every game that your county plays in, but then can't get a ticket to see them in the all-Ireland final yet someone who rarely goes to the games can.

And I can't see tickets being sold out for any games except the all Ireland.

Are you in a gaa club? Much easier and better way to get a ticket.

Scortho wrote: »

I could understand if your gripe was that you go to every game that your county plays in, but then can't get a ticket to see them in the all-Ireland final yet someone who rarely goes to the games can.

I enjoy the All Ireland matchs more then the national league so i tend to not go to those games.

I start with Dublins first game the season and go from there.

What is wrong with putting tickets onsale when they know whos gonna be in the game ?

I watch other Gaa when im at home as i used to play it. I pay to go and see Dublin play live because i support them and im from there.

So whats the issue with me complaining because i dont wanna spend the money i do have on tickets for a match i dont even know who will be playing in??!!

If i had the option id go to every single All Ireland match Dublin where part of from start to finish and i go to as many as i can. When they do stuff like this its a free for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

EDIT: never mind, I see the same packages available on gaa.ie. Don't see the harm in these, GAA probably just trying to get some advance cash in.

Thank goodness those tickets are not on those robbing b**t*rds Ticketmaster's site. With Tickets.ie you are not hit with outlandish cc & transaction charges.

If it was just me going to the games id buy a season ticket but i go with me da and brother and sometimes me girlfriend.

Its normally a situation where i ask them there and then a day or two before tickets go on sale is everyone free that day?

**** it ill watch the games after the provincial finals at home or the pub because im not paying in advance for games i dont have money for right now and i dont even know my team is playing in its stupid :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

The GAA is a money making business. Like any other business the world over they try and get a head start. Champions League final, FA Cup final, Heineken Cup final etc. etc. go on sale months in advance and they are very rarely a sell out before the semi finals finish. The all Ireland 1/4 and 1/2 wont be anywhere near capacity so I don't see what the problem is. Just wait and see how far Dublin get and buy your ticket then. Just hope to avoid Donegal so ye might get more than one day out :P

dobman88 wrote: »
    The GAA is a money making business. Like any other business the world over they try and get a head start. Champions League final, FA Cup final, Heineken Cup final etc. etc. go on sale months in advance and they are very rarely a sell out before the semi finals finish. The all Ireland 1/4 and 1/2 wont be anywhere near capacity so I don't see what the problem is. Just wait and see how far Dublin get and buy your ticket then. Just hope to avoid Donegal so ye might get more than one day out :P

In fairness though would u compare the All Ireland to any of the other events u mentioned ? lol not really.

I could buy tickets later but id rather get a half decent view and buy them early like i do every other game.

Croke park is a good stadium when it comes to getting a good view around certain areas the pitch but in fairness the chances are if u wait a few weeks ur gonna get stuck in a corner in line with one the goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

In fairness though would u compare the All Ireland to any of the other events u mentioned ? lol not really.

I could buy tickets later but id rather get a half decent view and buy them early like i do every other game.

Croke park is a good stadium when it comes to getting a good view around certain areas the pitch but in fairness the chances are if u wait a few weeks ur gonna get stuck in a corner in line with one the goals.

So go buy them now then. Quel problem??

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Season ticket solves all.

dobman88 wrote: »
    So go buy them now then. Quel problem??

Dont have the money on me at the minute didnt think as soon as Lenister semi finals where over id be paying for All Ireland 1/4 and 1/2 finals :pac:.

If it was just me id buy one as i mentioned in post before its not so.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Scortho wrote: »

I could understand if your gripe was thats you go to every game that your county plays in, but then can't get a ticket to see them in the all-Ireland final yet someone who rarely goes to the games can.

And I can't see tickets being sold out for any games except the all Ireland.

Are you in a gaa club? Much easier and better way to get a ticket.

Disagree with you there. I was a member last year and was not guaranteed a ticket. Also the ticket you did get was usually a crap one. For the last game we were in I just wrnt to supervalu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

will galway bate mayo?will galway bate mayo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Disagree with you there. I was a member last year and was not guaranteed a ticket. Also the ticket you did get was usually a crap one. For the last game we were in I just wrnt to supervalu

What match was this for?
    I've never had bad tickets except for the All Ireland in 2004 when Id a big bar in front of me (corner of hogan and davin) but I didn't mind as it was my first All-Ireland final to see live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Why do you think you are entitled to a perfect view with the ticket you get.considering you just admitted you don't bother going to league matches you don't really deserve to get the best seat in the house.Just buy a ticket the week before the match and you'll get a decent seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Why not? FWIW I agree, I think an AI is far superior than any of the events named but I suspect you feel different?

This thread is a perfect example of Irishness and the GAA supporter in particular, love to give out and if there's nothing to give out about shur we'll just make something up anyway :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

yup, plus they get the best seats allocated in Croker I have heard, even for the final.

Dubs also have the parnell pass which gets you into all Dublin league home games in both football and hurling and entitles you to buy a ticket for other games involving the teams.
    http://www.dcbtickets.gaa.ie/

Both tickets are great value and for successful counties the season ticket is especially valuable as the option on a ticket for a potential final is priceless.

Why do you think you are entitled to a perfect view with the ticket you get.considering you just admitted you don't bother going to league matches you don't really deserve to get the best seat in the house.Just buy a ticket the week before the match and you'll get a decent seat.
    Why not? FWIW I agree, I think an AI is far superior than any of the events named but I suspect you feel different?

This thread is a perfect example of Irishness and the GAA supporter in particular, love to give out and if there's nothing to give out about shur we'll just make something up anyway :rolleyes:

So i have to attend every ****ing match Dublin play to be entitled to anything then ? lol Dont start this bollox its worse then the league of Ireland fans in the Soccer thread.

I dont want the best seat in the house but if im gonna pay to see a match its nice to have the option to get good view early. This is why they have release dates for tickets :) so you know when they go on sale you get your money together and you get them early if you want the better seats in other wards first come first serve. The option is there for EVERYONE.

Nah just drop six games instead six games that dont even have teams in them yet!!
    Put it this way what if u buy these tickets and your team loses its next game?? You then have to go and buy tickets for qualifiers etc. Not everyone is made of money.... Call me crazy here but i like the idea of buying tickets per game when i know the team i want to see is going to be part of that game.....

Im not bothered if people think i have a stupid view on this like it matters to me :p. Im not the only one who thinks its stupid but **** it if Gaa dont want my money or another persons in same situation then tough **** really someone else will fill the seat thats life!! Ill watch it on telly while all the ''Real'' fans sit in Croke park :pac:.

again
    If you have a Dublin season ticket then you have guaranteed entry to all Dublin games and that includes (from what I gather) very good tickets for the final too.
    Its actually a VERY fair system as those who DO attend many games end up with the best seats.

again
    If you have a Dublin season ticket then you have guaranteed entry to all Dublin games and that includes (from what I gather) very good tickets for the final too.
    Its actually a VERY fair system as those who DO attend many games end up with the best seats.

Im not going round and round in circles here i already mentioned why i dont buy one :).

See there i just bout 3 tickets for the Leinster football final. All in 308 row D. Two weeks before the match a day after the teams where named.

Whats wrong with doing it this way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

One thing I don't get is...... I doubt there's going to be a shortage of tickets for quarter-finals and semi-finals.

They are on sale now, but that doesn't mean everyone buys them now. Some people (most people) will wait until they know their team are there. I don't really see the problem tbh.

(Although if I was denied a ticket for the All-Ireland final after attending the vast majority of my teams championship and league matches for the past few years, I'd be very annoyed)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Im not going round and round in circles here i already mentioned why i dont buy one :).

See there i just bout 3 tickets for the Leinster football final. All in 308 row D. Two weeks before the match a day after the teams where named.

Whats wrong with doing it this way?

Good tickets for a sunshine supporter ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Call me crazy here but i like the idea of buying tickets per game when i know the team i want to see is going to be part of that game.

And you can still do that, whats the problem? You simply have an option to buy them in advance or wait and buy them when you know what teams are playing, its a win win situation??

Fireball07 wrote: »
    One thing I don't get is...... I doubt there's going to be a shortage of tickets for quarter-finals and semi-finals.

They are on sale now, but that doesn't mean everyone buys them now. Some people (most people) will wait until they know their team are there. I don't really see the problem tbh.

(Although if I was denied a ticket for the All-Ireland final after attending the vast majority of my teams championship and league matches for the past few years, I'd be very annoyed)

Ill see what kinda seats are on sale when i know where Dublin are in a couple of weeks. If i want them then ill see have i got the money. They will be on sale a couple of weeks at stage and add another few weeks to the semis.

The problem with 1/4 and 1/2 final tickets is the demand is normally higher because you get the sunshine fans heading to the bigger games.

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Good tickets for a sunshine supporter ;)

Ask my bollox ;) If u wanna go to every game your county plays threw out the year fair play to ya enjoy!.

How many sunshine supporters as u put it sit in the rain and watch Leinster 1/4 final matchs against teams that are just making up the numbers?

I go to nearly every Dublin All Ireland match i can afford to or get tickets for and have been for good while now.

I like to go with me da and brother thats one the main reasons i go. Reason i dont go to league matchs is because theres the chance he aint gonna be around for them so we just watch them on telly at another time.

Theres been a lack of this ''Sunshine'' you mention in most the games ive watched over the years ha. I actually remember the Dublin Tyrone match from a year or two ago where it didnt stop ****ing raining the whole day yet i left my house that morning for Croke park and didnt get home till after ten that nite ha!. Sunshine fan my arse.

Ask my bollox ;) If u wanna go to every game your county plays threw out the year fair play to ya enjoy!.

How many sunshine supporters as u put it sit in the rain and watch Leinster 1/4 final matchs against teams that are just making up the numbers?

I go to nearly every Dublin All Ireland match i can afford to or get tickets for and have been for good while now.

I like to go with me da and brother thats one the main reasons i go. Reason i dont go to league matchs is because theres the chance he aint gonna be around for them so we just watch them on telly at another time.

Theres been a lack of this ''Sunshine'' you mention in most the games ive watched over the years ha. I actually remember the Dublin Tyrone match from a year or two ago where it didnt stop ****ing raining the whole day yet i left my house that morning for Croke park and didnt get home till after ten that nite ha!. Sunshine fan my arse.

Ah ya big sissy !! ... It was warm rain yesterday :D. I've been going to enough Dublin games over the years to confidently say that there's a core support of around 10-12 thousand. Much like yourself it's a bit of a family thing BIL, Myself and the god forbids. Warm drinks for the league and beer for the championship ;). Croker is the coldest place on earth during the Winter and even the hard core Hill numbers only a thousand or so.

It's great to see the numbers swell as the year goes on - families come out, da girlies get dressed up (down) and there's a genuine feel good buzz in the place. I could care less that someone has to look in their match program to see who Dublins number 13 or whatever is - just get behind the team.

Ah ya big sissy !! ... It was warm rain yesterday :D. I've been going to enough Dublin games over the years to confidently say that there's a core support of around 10-12 thousand. Much like yourself it's a bit of a family thing BIL, Myself and the god forbids. Warm drinks for the league and beer for the championship ;). Croker is the coldest place on earth during the Winter and even the hard core Hill numbers only a thousand or so.

It's great to see the numbers swell as the year goes on - families come out, da girlies get dressed up (down) and there's a genuine feel good buzz in the place. I could care less that someone has to look in their match program to see who Dublins number 13 or whatever is - just get behind the team.

Rain aint always a big deal really i go for the buzz and the laugh sure ive no voice today from yesterday :pac:. One the main reasons i head to matchs is cause i do it with me da and brother i rarely get chance do feck all with them these days so if they were around for the league matchs we would head to them as well we have the odd time. I wouldnt feel right going without them wouldnt be the same. So i dont buy a season ticket for this reason.

Been following the Gaa since i was in primary school i played in Croke park as a kid one best days my life and unlike alot of me mates i actually remembered watching Dublin winning the All Ireland back in 95 :p. Ill be bringing my son/daughter to Croke park when there old enough some day and i cant wait!!.

Only issue i have is them going on sale so early and its not as if they even announce it either. Other then that all can complain about is the price of a pint in Croke park :P

................. Other then that all can complain about is the price of a pint in Croke park :P

Daylight robbery brother !! €4.95 last year and €5.10 yesterday .. as for that Stella Cidre @ €6.00 - only the sunshiners would buy that !

Me da notices it every time we go :pac:. Far as i can remember i was paying 10.60 yesterday for two pints ffs.

its much simpler in the other venues round the country as theres no beer at all available inside the grounds at all about which you might grumble about the price.

Ill worry about that someday if i have to leave Croke park :pac:.

Thats another topic though ha!

Ah jaysis how the other half live ... having to smuggle yer carryouts down yer trouser leg into the ground ... sure dats not football !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

sorry but theres one line in the first post that bloody well torments me, this thing that the gaa are money grabbers.when you consider the money is spent back on coaching kids grass roots, facilities both at grass roots and inter county can someone tell me just who the hell is sitting on this pile of cash that they are so mad to have???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

If people are willing to pay that price, they’re right to sell it at that price. If you’re not happy with the price, don’t buy it, that’s the only thing that’ll have an effect on the price.

rpurfield wrote: »
    sorry but theres one line in the first post that bloody well torments me, this thing that the gaa are money grabbers.when you consider the money is spent back on coaching kids grass roots, facilities both at grass roots and inter county can someone tell me just who the hell is sitting on this pile of cash that they are so mad to have???
    indeed, millions of euros invested in Dublin of all places on dozens of full time coaches in clubs and schools which is now showing fruits in the football and especially evident in the Hurling
    Plus the cash invested in infrastructure in setting up new clubs in Dublin.

Its a pity that those complaining about the GAA having a need to generate cash are the very ones cheering on a team that is a product of those revenues (and should be bloody thankful to have such a successful pair of Dublin teams to support) but dont realise their "luck" and what its based on.

Lucena wrote: »
    If people are willing to pay that price, they’re right to sell it at that price. If you’re not happy with the price, don’t buy it, that’s the only thing that’ll have an effect on the price.

Eh right thanks for the quick lesson on supply/demand economics. I could've used a few rolleyes smilies but I thought the sarcasm was evident. I have paid 7 euro in the O2 for a pint so 5.10 is water off a ducks back :D :rolleyes:

You'd be surprised how many people have a hard time getting their heads around that whole supply/demand thingy. They somehow think places should volutarily drop their prices even though the product is selling very well at the higher price.

Sorry my sarcasm detector is broken, but the guy who repairs it is off on holidays in the Canaries this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Lucena wrote: »
    You'd be surprised how many people have a hard time getting their heads around that whole supply/demand thingy. They somehow think places should volutarily drop their prices even though the product is selling very well at the higher price.

In fairness it goes beyond simple supply/demand in a closed market where they won't let you buy from a cheaper vendor.

If they (not just the GAA, but other sports bodies and concert promoters) were happy to have an open market, or to allow people to bring their own alcohol then the supply/demand talk would make more sense. But at the moment they refuse to follow one principle of the market but hide behind another.

In fairness it goes beyond simple supply/demand in a closed market where they won't let you buy from a cheaper vendor.

If they (not just the GAA, but other sports bodies and concert promoters) were happy to have an open market, or to allow people to bring their own alcohol then the supply/demand talk would make more sense. But at the moment they refuse to follow one principle of the market but hide behind another.

You're right, these type of places tend to take the p1ss price-wise as they have a captive market. However, you do also have the choice to buy or not to buy. Personally not a problem for me, as most mass-market beers (doubt they're selling craft beer in Croke Park) are not my cup of tea, but yeah, some people, going to a concert or a match like to have a drink while they're there.