Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ah for the love of God

• 29-06-2013 7:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭

One week of sunshine about 4 weeks ago. Is this all we're getting this year.

Checked the weather on my phone and its going to be the same for the next 10 days. I cant see past 10 days on this weather app but my guess it'll last until the first week of September.

I dont understand how there are parts of the world in winter and they still have better weather than us. Its so unfair.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's not that bad. Our weather doesn't try to kill us or take the roof from over us on a daily basis. We're lucky to live where we do. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

That's what happens when we vote Fine Gael

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

We're expecting the effects of global warming very soon, so it should be nicer then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I blame the government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Checked the weather on my phone and its going to be the same for the next 10 days. I cant see past 10 days on this weather app but my guess it'll last until the first week of September.

I dont understand how there are parts of the world in winter and they still have better weather than us. Its so unfair.

Well as long as you keep being your usual positive self, you'll be graaaaand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

That's what happens when we vote Fine Gael

To true wasent it them who were going around saying vote for change, pesky liars :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

That looks like perfect weather to me. I don't know what you're complaining about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Oh really I'm kind of enjoying it. just waiting for skies to clear...........................................

Nice and fresh, iiif a little boring but I know the evenings you want -

and so do I.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

The weather cannot be predicted any more than 2 day's unless they see a big-ass "high" coming close to the Island, as there would be a good chance this big high pressure system will hit us with high odds, that's a prediction.

A little Island on the far west of Europe is going to get el-weirdo weather all the time, it cannot be predicted easily from Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I was on a plane for the first time during the week. Came back yesterday. Left england and it was raining but it was lovely up above the clouds. It doesnt rain up there, a lovely blue sky. I thought it was cool. It really looks like heaven up there.

Still dont understand why we get the rain, there is a blue sky up there but we just cant see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

It's not that bad. Our weather doesn't try to kill us or take the roof from over us on a daily basis. We're lucky to live where we do. :)

It also doesn't rain spiders and any flooding we get doesn't bring a wave of angry crocs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I was on a plane for the first time during the week. Came back yesterday. Left england and it was raining but it was lovely up above the clouds. It doesnt rain up there, a lovely blue sky. I thought it was cool. It really looks like heaven up there.

Still dont understand why we get the rain, there is a blue sky up there but we just cant see it.

:) Ireland gets so much rain because the jet stream typically dips down toward the equator about 1000 miles out in the Atlantic to the west of Ireland. Then it turns sharply north and collides with cooler air masses just to the west of Ireland. When the warm jet stream air and the cooler north Atlantic air collide, they form storms and clouds which come ashore on the west coast of Ireland, causing rain to occur. Since Ireland is such a small Island, just about all of it gets rain at the same time. Of course, the jet stream can change course and direction, which will alter the weather, but normally this is how it occurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Twas Anglo that did this, we used to have great summers till they went tits up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

realies wrote: »
    :) Ireland gets so much rain because the jet stream typically dips down toward the equator about 1000 miles out in the Atlantic to the west of Ireland. Then it turns sharply north and collides with cooler air masses just to the west of Ireland. When the warm jet stream air and the cooler north Atlantic air collide, they form storms and clouds which come ashore on the west coast of Ireland, causing rain to occur. Since Ireland is such a small Island, just about all of it gets rain at the same time. Of course, the jet stream can change course and direction, which will alter the weather, but normally this is how it occurs.

Don't be so , rediculo[/S] stupi , you know that's not true , you made all that up by yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

You're in hard luck, woman :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

If its a choice between our summers and spiders the size of dinner plates and snakes hiding in your shoes I know what I'd rather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

One week of sunshine is enough. Irish people are too dumb to deal with any longer. Walking around scalded red, delighted with themselves for getting "a lovely colour". Most people would put on SPF, not many of the Irish though, lob on some oil and go out and fry in it.

Really, this weather is saving lives. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

krudler wrote: »
    If its a choice between our summers and spiders the size of dinner plates and snakes hiding in your shoes I know what I'd rather.

Built for carrying dinner. My kind of creature

Yes we have been monitoring your flight characteristics for a while, but as you say it does look nice up there, sick of this NSA spying on citizens, but it's in the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭seosamh1980

One week of sunshine is enough. Irish people are too dumb to deal with any longer. Walking around scalded red, delighted with themselves for getting "a lovely colour". Most people would put on SPF, not many of the Irish though, lob on some oil and go out and fry in it.

Really, this weather is saving lives. :)

I never understand it!! So many people get absolutely roasted and then start with the "Sure I'll have a great colour when it goes down!". No, you won't. You'll have the same pasty skin that is under the burnt and damaged layer you just destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I never understand it!! So many people get absolutely roasted and then start with the "Sure I'll have a great colour when it goes down!". No, you won't. You'll have the same pasty skin that is under the burnt and damaged layer you just destroyed.

Ha yeah, usually a "lovely colour" is just skin damage. I'm tan pretty easily but avoid it, hate sunbathing I prefer cold weather. shorts and tshirt weather and it just being nice is grand, when its sweltering its awful. we get sh1tty humid summers

Well, the way the saying goes... common sense null and void...

Mary:: I'd love to have a colour if it only stopped raining and the clouds went away.

Berney:: well Mary, you were on the sun-bed for the last 3 months and you look very tanned to me.

Mary:: I know, i'm very dark tanned now.... hang on a second berney, i have to answer my phone............ It's very packed in the post office here, and that black one is taking all day to pay her bills...i'll be here all fecking day because of that coloured person :confused: (Oblivious to the amount of work Mary put into making herself a darker colour) one of the tribe, she is oblivious to the meaning.

Welcome to Ireland.... The land of leprechauns that want to be darker in colour.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

The screenshot in OP is from Sydney. Which is a penal colony and sh1thole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

cracking the stones, so it is, here in Cork today, so it is , da sun like bhoi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭miss flutter ups

I for one, hate the sun. It knocks me out so I spend any foreign hols sleeping. My skin freckles, i still turn red with factor 50 on and have never had even a slight tan in my life. I get so bloated regardless of how much I drink.

Good weather doesn't agree with everyone!

Give me a cool (dry day) anytime

We get very high humidity though, so I think that is why us Irish feel hot and bothered.

Give me a fresh easterly breeze and it's good to go.