Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting a 3 man DJ group

• 28-06-2013 12:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭

Hey guys, would appreciate some thoughts here, basically me and two mates are starting a 3 man DJ group,it was originally two but a third guy wanted in (bad idea?).

The idea isn't a SHM type thing with 3 of us surrounding one set of decks, the idea is each of us doing something unique as part of the show. Between us for the moment we've actually not got much, Ableton and one pair of decks.

So we're complete amatuers at the moment, althought one has been a Dj for years, the other two are mates that wanna start something big..

any advice? equipment? 3 man set up? any comments appreciated.

Also, anyone else ever given this a go? even a two man group?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

But decks and learn too beat match and mix in time before buying any expensive midi controllers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Why would I book you 3 when I can book these 4?

Swedish House whatever are knobheads, the Insanity DJ crew are knobheads, you and your mates are beginner knobheads.

Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

Mahogany wrote: »

ditch the 3 man group thing and just learn to mix on a set of decks yourselves, nothing wrong with having a mix with your mates now and again but actively trying to set up some sort of 3 man dj group is pretty cringy, theres nothing unique about 2/3 lads falling over a set of decks, theres very very few djs that actually work well playing together regularly, most of the time they just look like gobsh!tes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

Swedish House whatever are knobheads, the Insanity DJ crew are knobheads, you and your mates are beginner knobheads.

Enjoy

Holy **** balls. I'll bet their sets are full of this crap (apologies to your eyes and ears)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Mahogany

brianc27 wrote: »
    ditch the 3 man group thing and just learn to mix on a set of decks yourselves, nothing wrong with having a mix with your mates now and again but actively trying to set up some sort of 3 man dj group is pretty cringy, theres nothing unique about 2/3 lads falling over a set of decks, theres very very few djs that actually work well playing together regularly, most of the time they just look like gobsh!tes

Did you not see what I posted? I said its not going to be 3 of us surrounding one set of decks, we'd all be doing something different.

Think Genius of Time with a third person rather then SHM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

never heard of genius of time but had a quick look on the net, they seem to be playing live hardware sets, all their own tracks, thats completely different to djing.

if thats the way you want to go then you will have to buy a load of hardware synths, soundcards, drum machines, sequencers, will cost you a couple of grand to get set up, you should really do some sort of music production course then be prepared for years of trying to produce decent music, you wont pick it up in a year, like djing.

traktor pro/ableton is another route to go but theres nothing unique about that these days, they are as common as cd decks/turntables

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

Forget the music, decks, laptops, all of that old bollocks. It's the matching stage clothes you want to get right. No one remembers a good set, but they do remember 3 men in white suits spinning like ballet dancers on stage as they turn each other's knobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭slpower01

Few things you can do to start this but I can't imagine it taking off and I will explain further down.

First bit of advice... stop calling them "decks" call them what they are... turntables, cdj's or a midi controller.... decks are the generic term used by the public to describe one of our tools.

The first way I can think to do this would be using traktor.

PERSON 1: controls over all mixing using either a midi controller with a 2 or 4 deck layout or even timecode cd's or vinyl (means you can use turntables or cdj's in traktor).... This person will be the MAIN hub of the mix so would be better if this was the guy with actual djing experience.

PERSON 2: this guy would have a midi controller with 8+ knobs and 8+ buttons and control the effects in the mix (subtle is better)

PERSON 3: this guy will control samples so maybe a drum beat or random vocal samples.

The reason I don't think this would work is because unless you are a big dj or live in a completely different country who's main local genre approves of such stuff... you will be stuck playing Rihanna's greatest hits to drunk 17 year olds, so ideally you need to have already made a name for yourself to be able to play different underground genre's.

Second way of doing this would be to have 1 guy mixing songs and the 2 other guys scratching over the top.... check out faust and shortee to see what I mean (although this is only 2 people) the third could also do fx... but might end up a bit OTT.

Hope some of this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

I think its an idea that has merit but only if you were playing live and your own material. It doesn't make sense otherwise. Because even if one guy is DJing then the other two are doing what? Looking bored most likely. Also, in all aspects of life, getting involved with friends and money is a bad idea. Just leads to stupid fights and petty arguments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Youtube C2C to see what you are up against (or for inspiration). Can't find the exact video I wanted to post here but have a look at what they do yourself.

Think Genius of Time with a third person rather then SHM
    HAHA Genius of Time play LIVE, they are not DJing :pac:

You do know the difference between LIVE and DJing yea?
    It's about 10 years of hard work, each.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

Hey guys, would appreciate some thoughts here, basically me and two mates are starting a 3 man DJ group,it was originally two but a third guy wanted in (bad idea?).

The idea isn't a SHM type thing with 3 of us surrounding one set of decks, the idea is each of us doing something unique as part of the show. Between us for the moment we've actually not got much, Ableton and one pair of decks.

So we're complete amatuers at the moment, althought one has been a Dj for years, the other two are mates that wanna start something big..

Also, anyone else ever given this a go? even a two man group?

Two of you have no experience DJing or producing, and yet you want to set up a three man DJ/live act? That's not how it works I'm afraid.

I've been messing about in my bedroom on and off for a few years, and while I'm sure my friends would appreciate my efforts, the general public wouldn't pay to see me if I was handing out winning lottery tickets at the front door.

That's what being an amateur DJ is about, unless you're naturally gifted. Music lover > music collector > DJ. That's the natural order of things. You might be one of the few gifted individuals who carve out a different path for themselves, but the chances are you're not.

Best of luck either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

Is there a crowd of lads already doing this in Dublin called foreplay dj's

HA serious lulz if there is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

BOOM

https://www.facebook.com/officialfourplaydjs

That lad who was in Big Brother is part of it. I'd say they're only rapid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

Lumbo wrote: »
    BOOM

Never mind 3 go with 4:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Yo Mamma

Enjoy

My God that is AWFUL !! And I can’t un-hear it now !What has it come to when this type of crap is what’s considered 'Dance-Music' by the up-and-coming generation ?!?!?!?

Something has gone terribly wrong lol

Get back on track kids - Dance Music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Suppose you could make the point they are having fun and isn't that what its all about in the end. As nostalgic and old-man-ish as that sounds. Lol.

But seriously, I have no issue with these groups if they are actually innovating and bringing something new to every show. As long as its not 'just an act' I actually encourage it. Learn a little production, add a few twists and gets some visuals going. There is a niche market out there and you could be on to a decent earner. However, loads of 'if's' there to overcome first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Yo Mamma

BOOM

The Horror.......

Ok we have given it some thought and have decided to do dj sets firsts, and in future switch to a genius of time type thing, you've all been quite helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Just start DJ-ing with your mates and see how it develops man, practice and do as many house parties etc as you can, you'll soon figure out what works.

We can't really do house parties haha, no one agrees with our taste, they're all into commercial ****e which we don't have the time for.

Typical Girl @ random gaff party : "play something with words in it! "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

Ok we have given it some thought and have decided to do dj sets firsts, and in future switch to a genius of time type thing, you've all been quite helpful.

If I were you I'd give it some more thought again. Genius of Time aren't dj's. Unless they're playing a dj set they don't play records when they perform. And they only get booked to play dj sets because they make cool music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

We can't really do house parties haha, no one agrees with our taste, they're all into commercial ****e which we don't have the time for.

Typical Girl @ random gaff party : "play something with words in it! "

What are your tastes?

And what do you mean you can't do house parties? There's absolutely no way you could organise to jump on for 40 minutes, and have a bit of a session? No friends at all like your style/taste in music?

Why the sudden "We want to be Superstar DJ's?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

did'nt you say two of you dont know how to mix?

where can i buy your tickets for said sets

Actually, because of this, I went back and watched the Genius of Time BR set again.

Cheers for that, couldn't think of what to listen to today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

BOOM

Rather than compete in the next market sector, I'mma get the drop on all y'all and go to the next level.

https://www.facebook.com/SixualFeelings

I have Saturday Night by Whigfield up in the attic and a guy I went to Bolton St. with has a couple of SHM tunes ripped from youtube on his iphone. We just need four more like minded EDM-Warriors to help us put a donk on everyone and everything we encounter.

PM me through the FB page.
    This time next year Rodders, we'll be millionaires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

Actually, because of this, I went back and watched the Genius of Time BR set again.

Cheers for that, couldn't think of what to listen to today.

quality, never seen their boiler room video....

copeyhagen wrote: »
    did'nt you say two of you dont know how to mix?

where can i buy your tickets for said sets

We'll be practicing obviously..

Use your head.

What are your tastes?

And what do you mean you can't do house parties? There's absolutely no way you could organise to jump on for 40 minutes, and have a bit of a session? No friends at all like your style/taste in music?

Why the sudden "We want to be Superstar DJ's?"

Mainly Tech House, Deep and French. To sum it up.

Everyone our age has been immersed in the commercialization of house music, sadly.

Can I ask how old you an your mates are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

they age between 50 and 68

My guess would be 14-16

Can I ask how old you an your mates are?

19/20

first things first man...learn to dj properly individually, then consider your band idea. its like forming a jazz or rock or any band for that matter. you need to know how to play first! same with being a dj...granted the skills are different but the principles the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭slpower01

Why not do it all by yourself and keep 100% of the profit?? Maybe it seems easier to have someone there to back you up if you are failing but I doubt you will be walking into packed venues in the next month.

Step 1. Purchase either used cdj's or a cheap controller / software.
    Step 2. Learn to mix and beatmatch.
    Step 3. Practise step 2 for a year.
    Step 4. If you still have an interest in it continue to step 5, if not join adverts and sell gear purchased in step 1.
    Step 5. Look for clubs, friends, parties that want the genre of music you play and see if they will give you a chance.
    Step 6. After a bit of experience "playing out" see if your friends still want to join 3 man group.
    Step 7. See how many places will hire three people or even have enough room in a booth for 3 people + gear.

Additional comments: Join some forums, watch youtube videos, buy some books, and PRACTISE x 10000000000.

Dj'ing is an artform not something you can learn in a day.... after a month you may think you are AMAZING and can do everything BUT if you go up against someone that has experience you will be destroyed.

slpower01 wrote: »
    Why not do it all by yourself and keep 100% of the profit?? Maybe it seems easier to have someone there to back you up if you are failing but I doubt you will be walking into packed venues in the next month.

Step 1. Purchase either used cdj's or a cheap controller / software.
    Step 2. Learn to mix and beatmatch.
    Step 3. Practise step 2 for a year.
    Step 4. If you still have an interest in it continue to step 5, if not join adverts and sell gear purchased in step 1.
    Step 5. Look for clubs, friends, parties that want the genre of music you play and see if they will give you a chance.
    Step 6. After a bit of experience "playing out" see if your friends still want to join 3 man group.
    Step 7. See how many places will hire three people or even have enough room in a booth for 3 people + gear.

Additional comments: Join some forums, watch youtube videos, buy some books, and PRACTISE x 10000000000.

Dj'ing is an artform not something you can learn in a day.... after a month you may think you are AMAZING and can do everything BUT if you go up against someone that has experience you will be destroyed.

what he said

I recently had the pleasure if dealing with two lads that did a live acid set.

They've been in the studio for over a year.

A year.

And they knew how to use the equipment before they started.

They were deadly though, and it surprised me how many people enjoyed it. A lot, however, didn't know/understand that it was live.

I recently had the pleasure if dealing with two lads that did a live acid set.

They've been in the studio for over a year.

whats the name of the group? might look em up

shane9689 wrote: »
    whats the name of the group? might look em up

38 Kilowatt Wave.

One half of them was playing on the Radiomade 24hr thing yesterday/today, a dj set though.

Thanks lads, a lot of you have been really helpful, some helpful comments on here.

Decided to just do DJ sets with CDJ's for now, we'll see what happens long term :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

Thanks lads, a lot of you have been really helpful, some helpful comments on here.

Decided to just do DJ sets with CDJ's for now, we'll see what happens long term :)

Best of luck!

wont need luck if he works his ass off though...actually, what am i saying...this is the music industry...yeah just be really social and prepare to suck a cock or 2 like guetta did