Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you dump stuff in your neighbours skip?

• 27-06-2013 9:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭

1 of my neighbours further down the terrace, I don't know them, has got a huge skip today. Now I've got an old metal thing in my garden and I'm really tempted to sneak out in the early hours and 'stick it in', as it were. I'm kind of torn as to whether dumping it in their skip is really bad or if it would be rude not to abuse their skip. Is it not kind of expected that when you hire a skip that your neighbours will sneak out and dump their unwanted rubbish in it?

I mean it'd kind of be sad if they were expecting people to dump their rubbish in it and nobody did. So should I dump it in their skip or get ripped off paying some cowboy to dispose of it for me?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

1 of my neighbours further down the terrace, I don't know them, has got a huge skip today. Now I've got an old metal thing in my garden and I'm really tempted to sneak out in the early hours and 'stick it in', as it were. I'm kind of torn as to whether dumping it in their skip is really bad or if it would be rude not to abuse their skip. Is it not kind of expected that when you hire a skip that your neighbours will sneak out and dump their unwanted rubbish in it?

I mean it'd kind of be sad if they were expecting people to dump their rubbish in it and nobody did. So should I dump it in their skip or get ripped off paying some cowboy to dispose of it for me?

Ask your neighbour 1st.

Throw them a small box of sweets from the local shop (roses or heros for 3 euro).

Everyone is a winner.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Could always ask them if they have room could you throw it in and offer a few euro for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

You could always try knocking on their door and asking if it's OK to throw whatever it is you want rid of into their skip.
    Heck, even offer a pint or two as a thank you.
    I think it's called "being neighbourly"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭apollo8

Sure dump away so long as you chip in on the 200 euro they cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

If it's metal you could get scrap money for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

yes you should dump your load in a skip. but dont forget to bring toilet roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

People usually get skips to get rid of their own stuff...not to accomodate the neighbours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

having a skip brings out all the mean tight fisted hoors , from people emptying out their sheds to others rooting through it , get your own fecking skip and feck of :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

sneak out in the early hours and 'stick it in', as it were.

Sure it's just going to the tip. It'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

i'd love to sneak out in the early hours and stick it in my neighbours skip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

apollo8 wrote: »
    Sure dump away so long as you chip in on the 200 euro they cost.

+1.. can't believe this is a serious question to be honest.

OP doesn't even know this neighbour but thinks it's ok to dump his crap in the skip anyway and let the neighbour pay for the disposal of it? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Smoggy

leave the metal outside the house, a fella traveller will no doubt sniff it out and will have it out of your hands before it hits the floor.

The OP could allways go to the local county council recycling centre and pay a small fee to dispose of said item.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I'm in a weird kind of a mood tonight, I kind of half expect there to be a procession of curtain twitching neighbours waiting for darkness to fall so they can sneak out in the early hours to dump stuff in it. We're all a bit tight fisted around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

How big is it? Will they notice it? Maybe wait until its half full and then bury it under some of the stuff already in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    +1.. can't believe this is a serious question to be honest.

OP doesn't even know this neighbour but thinks it's ok to dump his crap in the skip anyway and let the neighbour pay for the disposal of it? :rolleyes:

actually OP is female, just to smash that stereotype you thought you were onto ;)

Smoggy wrote: »
    leave the metal outside the house, a fella traveller will no doubt sniff it out and will have it out of your hands before it hits the floor.

Funny you should say that....thats what happened with us,when my missus was designing/building the front garden.

We had a large skip outside and the old gate/driveway gates were being put into the skip.

Out of nowhere,a blue transit pulls up and 2 lads said that they would take them off us.

This worked out well for us,as it freed up more space in the skip for grass sod and lumps of old concrete and block wall.

Big chunky gates and worth some dosh in scrap metal for the lads.

Happy days.:)

or get ripped off paying some cowboy to dispose of it for me?

and they will more than likely just dump it illegally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

IM0 wrote: »
    actually OP is female, just to smash that stereotype you thought you were onto ;)

Stereotype? Male/Female.. doesn't make any difference. Point is the OP should pay to get rid of their own crap, not expect a total stranger to pay for them.

It's an example (on a much smaller scale of course) of the same mentality behind the Anglo tapes .. sure someone else can pick up the tab!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I know a neighbour who hid in the skip all night and threw the stuff back out that people threw in. Bit of a mad bastard he was. Dead now.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Stereotype? Male/Female.. doesn't make any difference. Point is the OP should pay to get rid of their own crap, not expect a total stranger to pay for them.

It's an example (on a much smaller scale of course) of the same mentality behind the Anglo tapes .. sure someone else can pick up the tab!

Must be some bit of metal for it to be worth 30 billion euro...:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

No problem doing it, skips regularly get cleaned out by our Hiace friendly friends so in fact there is no extra cost to the skip hirer.

Nah I'm only half serious, dumping it would mean getting off my behind and getting dressed, sneaking up the street in the dark carrying a rusty black and decker work bench. I doubt I'd be able to lift the thing into the skip. Mr P would probably stop me and anyway I'm comfortably settled in my pyjamas now.

I know a neighbour who hid in the skip all night and threw the stuff back out that people threw in. Bit of a mad bastard he was. Dead now.

Nah I'm only half serious, dumping it would mean getting off my behind and getting dressed, sneaking up the street in the dark carrying a rusty black and decker work bench. I doubt I'd be able to lift the thing into the skip. Mr P would probably stop me and anyway I'm comfortably settled in my pyjamas now.

he'll probably stop you because he has no idea you are throwing out his beloved rusty B&D work bench!

Good old Sesame street, how innocent we were in those days. One day you're a child watching Oscar the grouch in his trash can house, the next you're an adult contemplating dumping your trash in someone else's skip:D

Indeed...

he'll probably stop you because he has no idea you are throwing out his beloved rusty B&D work bench!
    Bloody thing is useless and unusable. It got left out in the rain last year and seized up so it can't even be folded down. The wooden slats have rotted and crumbled and it's just taking up room we don't have.

5 euro in a DCC recycling centre and you can legally dispose of it.

Shamrock Terrace Dublin 3 and Pigeon House Road,Ringsend.

Or place it outside your driveway gates and the local scrap man in a van will take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Dumping stuff in a neighbours skip is a asshole thing to do. But everyone does it. That's the messed up thing.

I have yet to rent a skip in my life. But when/if I do... it'll only be there for a few hours. Fill it up and away it goes. Not going to give my neighbours a freebie to ditch their crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Is "dumping your stuff in your neighbour's skip" a metaphor?

I think we've got the OP all wrong

paddy147 wrote: »
    5 euro in a DCC recycling centre and you can legally dispose of it.

Shamrock Terrace Dublin 3 and Pigeon House Road,Ringsend.

Or place it outside your driveway gates and the local scrap man in a van will take it.
    I'm in County Clare, that should be punishment enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I've taken stuff from a neighbours skip before, got a nice bedroom bedside drawer out of one. It was huge, light and looked antique. I must have saved at least 100quid if not more, well worth helping my neighbour :)

Is "dumping your stuff in your neighbour's skip" a metaphor?

I think we for the OP all wrong
    Nah, I wouldn't have the energy for that tonight, it's been a very long week:(

Our rusty bench aside, it's amazing what some people throw away. Maybe I should just be hanging around their skip in case any of the neighbours dumps something that they don't realise is valuable:p

Go and nicely ask your neighbour then.

Throw him or her a bottle of wine or a box of sweets.

Neighbourly thing to do.

Dumping it withiout asking could cause a big fight and /or confrontion.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Get back to Kansas :mad:

paddy147 wrote: »
    Go and nicely ask your neighbour then.

Throw him or her a bottle of wine or a box of sweets.

Neighbourly thing to do.

Dumping it withiout asking could cause a big fight and /or confrontion.:(
    Nah, they seem nice enough and I wouldn't really do that to nice people, if they were ar*eholes that might be a different matter. I think he's been ill recently so I wouldn't want to go knocking their door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Nah, they seem nice enough and I wouldn't really do that to nice people, if they were ar*eholes that might be a different matter. I think he's been ill recently so I wouldn't want to go knocking their door.

Sure it hardly matters if they're arseholes or not, they paid for the thing
    and if you get nabbed mid disposal they might think you're the arsehole

WD40 and make up a few slats and your workbench is fine, now all you need is a work bench to make those slats, maybe rummage around your neighbours skip, might be one in there.
    And
    No I wouldnt ditch stuff like that, not without asking or making some kind of offer, having paid for a few skips, better to fill them up quick, if anyone did that without asking I'd fire it back into their garden.