Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hotline Miami

• 27-06-2013 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭

Anybody DL Hotline Miami?
    Started playing it today, onto the 7th chapter - Neighbours.
    Game is insanely hard at times but there's nothing more satisfying than clearing a level.. Especially after dying 50 times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Had it on PC before picking it up yesterday.

It handles really well on the Vita. The touchscreen is well utilised too.

Very tough game alright but so satisfying when you get it right. The soundtrack is incredible.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I'm getting this next week :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭Niska

It's also cross-buy, which is nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Got this on PC and thought it was insanely hard but heavenly glorious at times :D

Gonna get this on on the ps A-SAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Had this on my laptop, but trying to play with a trackpad rendered any attempt to clear a level futile at best. Played the first chapter and a half on PS3 before work, and its as gloriously violent and unforgiving as I knew it would be. The thumping, eargasmic soundtrack is incredible. One of my favorite games this generation by far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭LauraW7746

I was the same, I had it on my laptop and couldn't turn fast enough using the arrow keys and it seemed he seemed to move slower as well, way better on PS3 I have to say
    Very addictive, great soundtrack well worth the €8

Has anyone managed to finish it yet?
    What chapter are ye on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭bazzz

Here's the soundtrack,if you like it.

Here on Soundcloud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

I had it on the PC, but picked it up on the VITA and found it controlled better on the VITA. But might just be me. Awesome game either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

Is there a demo for this on ps3?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

This game is fecking hard :)

Lol what chapter are you on?

Chapter 1,I keep dieing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭EGriff

Chapter 1,I keep dieing :)

What are you playing on? I have it on PC but I'm finding it a lot easier with a controller than KB+M. Also I never knew till last night that you could lock on to guys, that makes it way easier too.

Playing on vita,ya locking on makes kinda easier but I keep dieing,I'll keep trying though :).

Dying is all a part of the experience. Waded through 3/4 rooms on chapter 10 (I think), knife* in hand and racked up a 12x combo. Ran down the corridor without checking where the enemies were and got a facefull of shotgun. Had to do it all again. Its handy-ish for trying different tactics.

*The knife btw, best weapon ever.

I keep dieing :)

Its a pain in the hole aint it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

aaronh007 wrote: »
    Dying is all a part of the experience. Waded through 3/4 rooms on chapter 10 (I think), knife* in hand and racked up a 12x combo. Ran down the corridor without checking where the enemies were and got a facefull of shotgun. Had to do it all again. Its handy-ish for trying different tactics.

*The knife btw, best weapon ever.

You havent met the machette.

Meet Machete

machete.jpg

You havent met the machette.

Takes too long to swing. When the bad guys are squirming on the ground, I must admit, that animation is cool :p

Oh wait sorry.

I ment the Katana

Oh wait sorry.

I ment the Katana

I think so. Does that lop off limbs and cut folk in half? Tis a'ight like. Tis no knife :p

Aye it does. Cleaves a mans head clean in two for an execution

I've thrown a few at bad guys alright, leaves quite a mark.

Its a pain in the hole aint it?

Yes lol

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I'm enjoying this on the Vita, very good indeed.
    Reminds of the fun had playing the original GTA on the PC all those years ago.
    How long is the game?
    I hope the butchery keeps on coming.
    Makes me want to dig out Manhunt and start it again.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I'm enjoying this on the Vita, very good indeed.
    Reminds of the fun had playing the original GTA on the PC all those years ago.
    How long is the game?
    I hope the butchery keeps on coming.
    Makes me want to dig out Manhunt and start it again.

There's about 15 chapters or so. Plenty of murdering and bludgeoning to be done.

Oh my god chapter 9 is soooo hard!! :(

The soundtrack is so good it makes every fail worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭TINA1984

Very addictive game, love everything about it. The keep on coming back for more gameplay (Already got the trophy for dying a 1000 times), the trippy storyline and visual style, the soundtrack.

I'm day one for the sequel.

Yeah me too, I think it would have been cool to be able to play co-op of some sort. Made it onto chapter 10 now...
    I have gotten the 1989 trophy and these are my guns (was tough).. & a few others
    Ill be buying it day one also, if I can get through this first :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Klair88

man this game is tough and addictive!

Finally onto chapter 11!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

It's a great pick up and butcher title, a much ignored game genre methinks.

Strange though, given the furore over Manhunt and other murder games that this one has had little or no manufactured indignation trailing it in the press.

Yeah I know! Dunno how they got away with it, not complaining glad they did, epic game :D

They're lucky enough not having the Rockstar name attached anywhere. Thats a stigma in the murder genre and it activates a warning beacon in Jack Thompson's head. No doubt we'll hear more from him about the corruption of the worlds youth when V is released.

Finished it earlier today (Tuesday). Cracking game, definitely among my favorite new IPs of this gen. Soundtrack is just perfect.

On chapter 9 I think, great game but I dont get all the fuss about the soundtrack :confused:

aaronh007 wrote: »
    Finished it earlier today (Tuesday). Cracking game, definitely among my favorite new IPs of this gen. Soundtrack is just perfect.

Fair play, gonna try get through some chapters today...

I love the ST compliments the game perfect, you hear the music and it gets you in the zone to butcher house full of people, in the game I mean :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 spankrocket

Have HL1 and HL2, absolutely love them, but it is so brutally hard, but that's what makes them so good, there is an unofficial spin off game to Hotline Miami, going to be released on Steam in August for free which is sweet, Id say the hardest level for me in Hotline Miami at the moment is the boss fight with the Russian boss and his dogs, also that mission in the hospital was a pain in the arse,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭micknail

Such a great soundtrack.

Story is mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 SirJoker

I always wondered... what do people find so great about this game? I mean... I've never played it to be honest but from what I've seen... this really isn't a game I'd liked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

SirJoker wrote: »
    I always wondered... what do people find so great about this game? I mean... I've never played it to be honest but from what I've seen... this really isn't a game I'd liked.

Gameplay OVER graphics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Dont comment if you havent played it, as said above, gameplay, aestethic and music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

You're missing out. One of my favourite games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

It's just unbelievably intense, the gameplay coupled with the music means you just get in the zone, brilliant game!