Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has the young people suffered more in this recession?

• 25-06-2013 11:25am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭

I'm 21 myself and have been looking for work for sometime. Fair enough I have no college degree or anything like that but i'v worked in retail since the age of 17 and was only let got about 2 years ago.

In that time I have upskilled with several courses under my belt but still I'm finding it difficult to get work like so many others. Out of desperation I have applied for college mainly just to kill a few years, plus hopefully i'll get the paramedic course I want :D

I thought it'd be intresting to have a discussion on this. What chance does a young person have in this economy with/without college education? and with very little experience?

I'm not making excuses for anyone but I really do believe the young people have gotten rightly screwed over in this recession. Your thoughts please people :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 ClicheGuevara

I'm 20, did my leaving cert and went to college straight after for three years, had to take a year out to work after finishing in May and have been looking for work since last February. I signed on two weeks ago and I feel like absolute sh*t. I was top of my class in college and a shoe in for my honours degree year, which should have been beginning this September, but it would have been selfish of me to continue on so I made the decision to take a year out.

My family need money as my parents aren't working any more so I took a year out and I have had a few interviews but no jobs. I have no experience working and it really gets me down because every time I'm in a shop or pretty much anywhere I'm taking notice of people my age working in them and how they just don't seem to notice or give a f*ck of how lucky they are to have their jobs.

Anyway I apply for about 5-10 jobs a day online and am thinking of going back to the old method of going into places and actually handing in my cv personally but the last time I did that 9/10 times I was told there was no point and to just apply online so I don't know if it'd be a waste. As far as younger people suffering more, I don't know, I just feel sorry for myself and need to get out of this rut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

My partner is 28 (not sure if you consider that a young person :P ) and has been out of work since January. He has his CPC, HACCP, ECDL and a Fetal 4 in Computing, is a qualified Chef, has First Aid and Manual Handling, his own transportation and has applied for everything going.

Cant even get work in a petrol station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭cypressg

People can be as qualified as they want in this economy they will still be jobless,the true unemployment figure is near 25% and among those under 23 I'd say unemployment is 50%.
    What surprises me these days is people's surprise that they can't get a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭kennryyr

I really feel there are jobs out there if you really try hard enough.

Take my cousin for example, no other experience except working in retail the last 3 years with no college qualifications. Started looking for another job and within a month he had been hired by a large multinational sales company based on the other side of the city as him.

There is hope but you really need to do your homework going into interviews, know everything about the company an d spew off a few random facts, go out and buy a shirt slacks and tie, show real enthusiasm and if you really try hard enough you will prevail!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭cypressg

kennryyr wrote: »
    I really feel there are jobs out there if you really try hard enough.

Take my cousin for example, no other experience except working in retail the last 3 years with no college qualifications. Started looking for another job and within a month he had been hired by a large multinational sales company based on the other side of the city as him.

There is hope but you really need to do your homework going into interviews, know everything about the company an d spew off a few random facts, go out and buy a shirt slacks and tie, show real enthusiasm and if you really try hard enough you will prevail!
    Are you really making out that the problem is that people aren't looking "hard enough" and that proof of this theory is that your cousin got a job?

cypressg wrote: »
    Are you really making out that the problem is that people aren't looking "hard enough" and that proof of this theory is that your cousin got a job?

... in a large sales company? There are hundreds of jobs out there suitable for absolutely anyone if you are willing to work on pure commission with no salary :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Fair play lads, I could picture the inevitable ''it's just an excuse you all lazy bastards'' comments which I find insulting really.

The thing I find harder is because of my age i'm only entitled to 100 a week on my job seekers allowance, I mean wtf do you do with 80 a week? :eek:

jamesr123 wrote: »
    Fair play lads, I could picture the inevitable ''it's just an excuse you all lazy bastards'' comments which I find insulting really.

The thing I find harder is because of my age i'm only entitled to 100 a week on my job seekers allowance, I mean wtf do you do with 80 a week? :eek:

The thing is you're not supposed to do anything. Live in cheap accommodation, or at home, and don't have unnecessary bills. Trust me, when you're living on your own, €188 doesn't stretch much further :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭Devi

Recessions always hit the young hardest, nothing special about this one. The main reason is that young people will more likely be leaving school/college looking for work. It’s harder to look for a job in a recession than it is to maintain one. Plus young people usually have less work experience so when competing for a job they are at a disadvantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I have found it near impossible to get a job that wasnt I just got lucky. Think I've gotten 2 interviews in past 2 years and neither led to a job. The only experience I had was working in the family business and the 4 weeks of work experience I did in transition year.

Its only thanks to the college Ive managed to get anything this year. A university will let me help teach first years, children and soon secondary school children and do research with postgrad students but if I pack a shelf in tesco they'll come find me beside the pile of burning frozen pizzas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

jacksie66 wrote: »
    I'm 26, a qualified plumber and I'm getting the frick outta here soon. I'm off to new Zealand in October, Christchurch specifically. I'm sick of sitting here getting lectures off people and reading on forums about there being loads of work. I've applied EVERYWHERE for a job, supermarkets, petrol stations. You name it I've probably applied. There is feck all work here and that's why myself and sooo many others like me are leaving. I was actually due to go to NZ today, but my wisdom teeth decided to act the ****head...

My partner applied for a job as an ice-cream man and he got refused twice :rolleyes:
    A lot of these jobs advertised are clearly looking for something that they are not willing to disclose in their advert :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

I'm 26, a qualified plumber and I'm getting the frick outta here soon. I'm off to new Zealand in October, Christchurch specifically. I'm sick of sitting here getting lectures off people and reading on forums about there being loads of work. I've applied EVERYWHERE for a job, supermarkets, petrol stations. You name it I've probably applied. There is feck all work here and that's why myself and sooo many others like me are leaving. I was actually due to go to NZ today, but my wisdom teeth decided to act the ****head...

I remember watching a replay of the late late show a few weeks ago (sad I know).They were asking all the young people in the audience what they were going to do during this recession. They all had college education and A few of them claimed that even with the college and all that they had gotten only 6 months work in the 4 years they had been looking. Every single one of them said they were leaving this kip asap :rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ru5sTwBmWX4 The interviews are at the last couple of minutes....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭echo.lima

Just wanted to put my quid in on this topic.

I'm 23, have been out of work for three years. I returned to college and got the best results in my class and was nominated student of the year, I then took a year out and tried to get another job and was deciding on what I wanted to do for the rest of my life and it hit me one day, I want to be a firefighter so I joined the auxiliary fire service to gain some experience, In 2012 I got offered a place in DCU for a degree course but unfortunaley could not continue as I couldn't afford the fees, So here I am now applying for jobs and not getting anywhere fast.

I've upskilled as much as I could I've first aid training, cardiac first responder, emergency first responder, close protection training am working on my driving licence and am even considering doing an emergency medical technician course and swift water rescue technican course. I'm looking for a part time job and will be returning to do a course in september. I want to work but I keep getting kicked in the nuts, as a result I'm mildly depressed and my confidence is down.

I agree that alot of people in their early 20's dont really care that they arent working and are happy to take the dole for as long as they can but I am not. I feel crap going to my post office to collect my poxy 144 euro every tuesday and seeing the same pasty, lazy, unwashed zombies who are delighted about not having to work.

Employers dont take a second look at me because I'm young and relatively inexperienced but I can say with confidence that I'm tough, robust, hardworking and want to do things with my life.

I gladly and willingly volunteer my time as much as I can for duties and have gained alot of experience in the events sector and have developed my communications and team working ability alot as well as my other interpersonal skills but sometimes I feel its all in vain.

Alot of people tell me to get out of the country but how can I when I cant get a job to raise the funds needed to move abroad. All in all this country is ridiculous and we the youth of Ireland are being alienated. What quality of life can I hope to have?

Sorry for the rant but thats the reality of my situation!

echo.lima wrote: »
    Just wanted to put my quid in on this topic.

I'm 23, have been out of work for three years. I returned to college and got the best results in my class and was nominated student of the year, I then took a year out and tried to get another job and was deciding on what I wanted to do for the rest of my life and it hit me one day, I want to be a firefighter so I joined the auxiliary fire service to gain some experience, In 2012 I got offered a place in DCU for a degree course but unfortunaley could not continue as I couldn't afford the fees, So here I am now applying for jobs and not getting anywhere fast.

I've upskilled as much as I could I've first aid training, cardiac first responder, emergency first responder, close protection training am working on my driving licence and am even considering doing an emergency medical technician course and swift water rescue technican course. I'm looking for a part time job and will be returning to do a course in security operations and administration in september. I want to work but I keep getting kicked in the nuts, as a result I'm mildly depressed and my confidence is down.

I agree that alot of people in their early 20's dont really care that they arent working and are happy to take the dole for as long as they can but I am not. I feel crap going to my post office to collect my poxy 144 euro every tuesday and seeing the same pasty, lazy, unwashed zombies who are delighted about not having to work.

Employers dont take a second look at me because I'm young and relatively inexperienced but I can say with confidence that I'm tough, robust, hardworking and want to do things with my life.

I gladly and willingly volunteer my time as much as I can for duties and have gained alot of experience in the events sector and have developed my communications and team working ability alot as well as my other interpersonal skills but sometimes I feel its all in vain.

Alot of people tell me to get out of the country but how can I when I cant get a job to raise the funds needed to move abroad. All in all this country is ridiculous and we the youth of Ireland are being alienated. What quality of life can I hope to have?

Sorry for the rant but thats the reality of my situation!

I'm very similar to you there mate. Only difference is I wish to join either the gardai or maybe the ambulance service. I got my drivers license sorted, done my ECDL courses, I have applied for a security course and might apply for a paramedics course, i'm starting with the civil defence in september and I really can't wait to get back into a social setting and i'm hoping to have training very similar to what you'v got :D I reckon if I do the 2 college courses it'll hopefully keep me busy for 2-3 years. If I get a part time job in that time it would be great :D:D

As for lads delighted to get their doles, I see a lot of that. I actually know a guy who gave the dole up because signing on was to much effort for him:rolleyes: He now sponges off his ma and da every week. The only thing that keeps me going is that when work returns the likes of us will look better than all them lazy bastards.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Out of desperation I have applied for college mainly just to kill a few years,

FFS. You listen to the radio and "the country is f^%ked", and then you hear young people going to college to stop them being bored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

What do you want to do? Whats your passion?

syklops wrote: »
    FFS. You listen to the radio and "the country is f^%ked", and then you hear young people going to college to stop them being bored.

I don’t think Irish people in general realise the benefits of a college education. Its something I’ve only realised myself in the past couple of years, before that I used to think it didn’t matter.

The way I see it now is the days of walking into a job after doing your leaving cert are gone, it’s a numbers game now. 400k unemployed with maybe 10k jobs at any one time, you have to stand out by getting a masters etc. Not saying a masters is going to guarantee you a job but it increases the probability of you getting one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭xxlauraxxox

im 27 and feel very lucky to have a job its only working a shop but im lucky enough to have a 39hour a week contract im into my second week of my annual leave (summer holidays) and im bored off my tree I feel sorry for ye guys not working dunno how ye do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

I think that this generation will be one with mental health problems as a result of being inhibited from developing skills, succeeding... However many young people can fall back on their parents and live at home. So I think young families with large mortgages and young children to feed could end up suffering more from job loses. I read a story about a father who lives in the middle east, his family is here and he can't be there for his kids because he's the sole earner, that must hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

I am 20 and apart from work experience in school, I have never had a part-time job in a shop, cinema, anywhere!
    So it is so bloody hard and depressing when nearly all shops or any workplace these days always want someone with at one-two years experiance. It is even more depressing to see all my classmates somehow getting part-time jobs even in the recession. I applied online for jobs, no luck and a disavantage for me to actually walk in and hand in my CV in shops is that I live in the countryside and I can't drive so those rare moments I actually do get driven in I either completely forget to bring my CV with me, or the motivation I have to look for jobs is completely gone.

Does not help either that I grew up in the typical negative Irish begrudgery type of household. If I mentioned anything about jobs, family members would say "They are no jobs left at all!" and they did not support the fact that I was at least trying to look and be positive about the situation, but now these days even when I see a vacancy sign on a shop, I lose all confidence in trying to be hopeful in applying for it.

I mean the other day a family member was telling me that "Realisticly, shops get loads of CVs coming in so it is hard to know if they will look at yours".

While that might be true, i mean that is just off-putting and negative at the same time, it's like saying "You might as well not bother applying at all, because they get loads of CVs, so you are just wasting your time!"

:(:(:(:(:(

rox5 wrote: »
    so those rare moments I actually do get driven in I either completely forget to bring my CV with me, or the motivation I have to look for jobs is completely gone.
    (

And then you wonder why you can't get a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Id rather be 23 and unemployed then 50 and unemployed, at 23 at least you have years ahead of you for training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭RealistSpy

You know @syklops if you have nothing nice to contribute why bother? Looking at all your comments you have nothing great to say about anything. Some people are actually trying but you seem to be looking for the bad.

RealistSpy wrote: »
    You know @syklops if you have nothing nice to contribute why bother? Looking at all your comments you have nothing great to say about anything. Some people are actually trying but you seem to be looking for the bad.

I think syklops is right but could give more constructive advice :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

It's common sense really,

In boom times employable young people are scarce and jobs are common,
    so most people can find a job easily.

In recession times jobs are scarse and emplyable young people are common
    so employers can afford to be a lot pickier.

Recessions always hit the young hardest and with each year that
    goes by more and more young people are churned out of schools
    creating even more competition for jobs.

RealistSpy wrote: »

Well Im sorry but what do you say to a person who says "when I get driven into town i forget my CV or my motivation is too low for getting a job"?

Constructive advice: Don't forget your CV when going looking for a job. Hitch-hike into town if you can't get a lift.

Like I said..no support, no enthusiam from my family members, no one ever pushes me to do something great, so it is no wonder I can't get a job, because people just belittle me about this stuff all the time.

Well Im sorry but what do you say to a person who says "when I get driven into town i forget my CV or my motivation is too low for getting a job"?

Constructive advice: Don't forget your CV when going looking for a job. Hitch-hike into town if you can't get a lift.

How about nothing at all? Or even the contructive advice you just written here. Anything is better than the stupid comment you gave me.

How many times have you gone into town and forgotten your CV. The way you wrote it it was like it was a regular thing.

Like I said..no support, no enthusiam from my family members, no one ever pushes me to do something great, so it is no wonder I can't get a job, because people just belittle me about this stuff all the time.

Support is important but when it is lacking you have to find other reasons to stay motivated. Such as getting paid, meeting new people, improving your C.V. and your outlook on life. If you don't do something different then nothing will change. You should get a professional to look at your C.V. and cover letter. Go to your nearest job office, send your application via email / post to places. Make it your goal to apply for a certain number of jobs every week. If someone at home isn't being supportive then tell them they aren't helping, that you need positive support at this time. It's up to you! No one else can do it for you.

Theres a very good thread somewhere on here on difficulties in business today and one that was brought up was difficulty finding quality employees. It was agreed that when applying for jobs, don't do what most people do which I call the shotgun approach, where you send as many CVs as possible. Instead, be like a sniper. Target who you are applying to, and tailor your CV and cover letter accordingly. If you are leaving your CV into a music shop, mention your love of music. "I have quite an eclectic taste in music and I am familiar with numerous genres including pop, Classical and Jazz". If you are applying to a book shop mention your love of books and reading. If you are applying to McDonalds, mention that you are a fan of McDonalds and would love an opportunity to work with them in your cover letter. It doesn't sound like much, but by mentioning the brand they know you have put in a bit of effort which is what you want in any employee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

My younger brother is over there nearly a year already, same age as yourself. He's a carpenter and could literally work every single hour of the week if he wanted to. Loads of work over there, and his employer is sponsoring him to stay on past the year.

Myself? 29 and off to London next week. It isn't too difficult to find work in Dublin for me (I'm a software developer) but my partner is a civil engineer and there's nothing here for him. 2 years on the dole after graduating with a masters before getting his job over there. I'll be starting my new job in about a week and a half and taking a pay rise of about €7k in the process.

Devi wrote: »
    I don’t think Irish people in general realise the benefits of a college education. Its something I’ve only realised myself in the past couple of years, before that I used to think it didn’t matter.

Well to be honest I think the majority of irish people would just like to get into a job instead of having to go to college?

Reason I say that is my circle of friends and even my brother are going to college now simply to have somthing to do. They never planned on going but I suppose that's just the thing to do now. Maybe i'm wrong but from what i'v seen around me college just seems to be a place to go until somthing better comes along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

It's hard to get the first job with no experience. Once you get a foot in the door it's easier to turn it into something more permanent. Being unemployed for years is dangerous, there is a risk you'll never start / go back to work. If I was in the situation with no experience and no qualifications or at least none in demand I would get some work experience for free and then try temping. I reckon if you can get some basic office skills you can work in a wide variety of industries and it opens a lot more doors than hanging around applying for jobs and hoping for the best. Volunteering is a great way to get something worthwhile on to your CV

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Id rather be 23 and unemployed then 50 and unemployed, at 23 at least you have years ahead of you for training.

Your totally right, young people have to realise they will get their chance one day if they make it happen. However, on the other hand statistically you are more likely be unemployed if you’re 23 than 50 and that’s why young people feel like they are having a hard time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

I'll be starting my new job in about a week and a half and taking a pay rise of about €7k in the process.

In fairness, in London, you'll need it! You'll probably have the same disposable income you have now, even if it's Dublin you living in at the moment. London is insanely expensive. But I'm sure you know all this! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭lauras91

I have to agree with a lot of what is said on here, I'm just finishing my MA and I've very little hope of jumping straight into a 'good' job. If you're not in the IT/Software/Pharmaceutical/Finance sector there's even less of a chance of getting a job. That being said, I currently work as a waitress in a hotel, and have worked in waitressing/retail since I was about 15 (7+ years) but that experience doesn't mean much when applying for office based jobs!
    I'm very grateful for my job, and wouldn't have been able to do my masters course without it but I actually do feel like working in my current job will hold me back from starting my 'career', if I was collecting the dole (or even If i just had more time on my hands) I would be able to take on internships and work experience which would provide me with better experience...
    However, I'm not going to quit my job to go on the dole, I'll just keep looking out for suitable jobs and try to stay positive!

lauras91 wrote: »
    However, I'm not going to quit my job to go on the dole, I'll just keep looking out for suitable jobs and try to stay positive!

I used to have my doubts about college, finding jobs, etc and just go on the dole, but I really don't think I would enjoy that. I mean how can anyone survive on 100-200 a week, when you have to pay for bills, food, etc? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 OguchiOneywu

I myself am 20 and can't find a job of any sort aswell, it's an absolute nightmare I'm in a college course I hate and I can't get any money to move out or do anything with myself. Everytime I go into a shop or whatever they laugh at you for having the audacity to come looking for work. You get your old biddies aswell offering their wise opinions that people think certain work is beneath them when it couldn't be any further from the truth. Even worse you see people younger than you sorted out with jobs cause their Daddy knows the right people. Everyday is the same being castigated for being "lazy" by the usual clowns it's enough to drive anyone to drugs or worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 enjoy2013

Really sad to read this stuff. Keep on trying guys. There's a site, ecdl.ie that's giving out free ecdl training that might help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I used to have my doubts about college, finding jobs, etc and just go on the dole, but I really don't think I would enjoy that. I mean how can anyone survive on 100-200 a week, when you have to pay for bills, food, etc? :confused:

188 is quite easy to live on for a single person without children. I live on about that a week no problem and can pay rent, food, electricity, oil, broadband and have money to save.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭HelpImAlive

I'm 20 and a college-dropout twice over (guess it just wasn't for me, at all, or else I'm just terrible at picking courses - not sure what one).

Dropped out of my hospitality related degree (first year) at the end of May (passed all my exams somehow.. with a GPA of 70%) and then tried to find a job. Somehow successfully applied online for a job in a fast-food outlet (advertised as 20k per year/39hr week). Went for the interview and got the job, delighted with myself.

Time rolls around to sign the contract and turns out the positions only part-time (as they only do part-time hours for cashiers?) but you can work full-time hours under the contract (not even sure if that's legal?! :confused:). So now 3 weeks in, here I am having worked 20 hours for the past 2 weeks and only getting 10 hours this week. I know it's a job and all but I'd literally earn more on the dole for some weeks in this. Worst thing is I travel about 20km into work and 20km out of work each day for the job. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Stevie Wonders Bifocals

I'm 20 and a college-dropout twice over (guess it just wasn't for me, at all, or else I'm just terrible at picking courses - not sure what one).

Dropped out of my hospitality related degree (first year) at the end of May (passed all my exams somehow.. with a GPA of 70%) and then tried to find a job. Somehow successfully applied online for a job in a fast-food outlet (advertised as 20k per year/39hr week). Went for the interview and got the job, delighted with myself.

Time rolls around to sign the contract and turns out the positions only part-time (as they only do part-time hours for cashiers?) but you can work full-time hours under the contract (not even sure if that's legal?! :confused:). So now 3 weeks in, here I am having worked 20 hours for the past 2 weeks and only getting 10 hours this week. I know it's a job and all but I'd literally earn more on the dole for some weeks in this. Worst thing is I travel about 20km into work and 20km out of work each day for the job. :(

It's perfectly legal to be working full-time hours on a part-time contract

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

lm 21 never went to college but went to FÁS. atm lm working part time as a waitress, very very lucky to have the work. l was unemployed for almost a year. so sickening, dunno whats happening in sept cause the hotel get very quiet, hate the thought of it, feels like theres no hope in the future :(