Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair 10 kilo challenge.

• 24-06-2013 11:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭

Trying to beat the Ryanair 10 Kg challenge here.

Is an average sized backpack big enough for a 10 day holiday.

This of course in is the case of a man travelling.
    (for women see 'Is an average sized van...')

I can manage to fit two pairs of jeans, four pairs stained 70's orange/burgundy y-fronts, four pairs of socks, 3 t-shirts, two shirts.
    Laptop and cable, phone charger, toothbrush, electric razor and cable, adapter plug. One pair of runners/trainers.

Ill be wearing a full set of clothes (containing 1 wallet with money and cards)at the airport (stupid laws) complete with jacket (containing tickets and passport) and even shoes. Perhaps a pen too if Im feeling adventurous.

Is that enough for 10 days.

(My ma will not be necessary on this trip) (towels/shampoo at the hotel)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

is that all under 10kg, laptop and all?

And are you going somewhere warm?
    Wearing a pair of trousers and bringing 2 (heavy)pairs of jeans sounds like overkill so id replace 1 or 2 pairs of jeans with shorts and more changes of t shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

im pretty sure a laptop is accepted as a womans handbag would be or a mens satchel so the laptop wont be part of the 10kg hand luggage. i stand corrected though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭guttenberg

Are you sure you are allowed an electric razor in your hand luggage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

im pretty sure a laptop is accepted as a womans handbag would be or a mens satchel so the laptop wont be part of the 10kg hand luggage. i stand corrected though

Prepare to stand so. All luggage when travelling with Ryanair must be in the one bag, including handbags/satchels.

The laptop will have to fit into the bag.One pair of jeans would be plenty. They don't weigh the bags, just fit them into that box thingy. Would go for a small suitcase, myself. Easier to fit into 'box' than a backpack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

a handbag is a seperate piece of luggage under Ryanair rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

4 pairs of jocks for 10 days???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭tatli_lokma

They don't weigh the bags, just fit them into that box thingy.

They do actually - if you look like you are struggling to carry or lift your bag they zone in on you with their laser vision and then take the bag to be weighed! So the trick is not to look like it's heavy! So struggle up to the gate with a smile on your face and a nonchalant air! lol

I find that the extra straps etc on a backpack can add to the weight/bulkiness. A small sportsbag fits loads in and because it is pliable can be mushed into the cage thing they have. They hardly ever even bother checking the sports bags unless they are huge, as they know that you can mush them so that they will fit. As I say, the trick is to avoid looking like your back is broke from carrying it. I usually drag it along the ground up as far as the gate before my gate, and then try to look like it weighs a feather and casually sling it across my shoulder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Riskymove wrote: »
    a handbag is a seperate piece of luggage under Ryanair rules

Perhaps you should read the rules again. Ryanair only allow you one carry on bag. They do not allow you to bring on one additional personal item, such as a laptop bag or a ladies handbag. Aer Lingus do allow you that one additional item. Ryanair do not. Everything that you plan on bringing must fit into that one bag.

http://www.ryanair.com/en/terms-and-conditions#regulations-cabinbaggage

CABIN BAGGAGE

Strictly one item of cabin baggage per passenger (excluding infants) weighing up to 10kg with maximum dimensions of 55cm x 40cm x 20cm is permitted. (handbag, briefcase, laptop, shop purchases, camera etc.) must be carried in your 1 permitted piece of cabin baggage.

I'd leave the electric razor and adaptor at home and buy disposable razors at your destination. I'd also wear a jacket with deep pockets and stuff cables, chargers, adaptors etc etc in the pockets. I have found that it's the electrical items and all their equipment, that really bump up the weight of a bag, it's not the clothes. You can always shove them back into your bag, once you have passed the baggage check points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I'd leave the electric razor and adaptor at home and buy disposable razors at your destination.

Probably not an option if the OP has been using electric razors for a while now. Going from an electric razor to disposables would be a painful and bloody experience.

To the poster above who asked if an electric razor is allowed in hand baggae - yes, why ever not?
    I'd also wear a jacket with deep pockets and stuff cables, chargers, adaptors etc etc in the pockets. I have found that it's the electrical items and all their equipment, that really bump up the weight of a bag, it's not the clothes. You can always shove them back into your bag, once you have passed the baggage check points.

+1 carry the AC adapter in your pocket and drop one of the pairs of jeans and you'll have halved the weight of your bag.

Remember the travel rule: plan on what you're going to bring, then halve the amount of clothes and double the money and you won't go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

mkdon05 wrote: »
    4 pairs of jocks for 10 days???

Inside out then back to front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Inside out then back to front.

And according to opening post they are already stained so they will not be clean starting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

The only question is why you would want to bring a laptop on holiday?
    Even when I am driving abroad with the car (and weight + bulk is no factor) I normally wouldnt bother with a laptop once I have a phone/ ipad to check mails on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

Prepare to stand so. All luggage when travelling with Ryanair must be in the one bag, including handbags/satchels.

my bad. I havent flown with ryanair in a good few years. I fly EI and iv always been allowed a satchel or laptop bag separate. At least i know for future that the satchel will stay at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I'd ditch the shirts, ditch one pair of jeans. Add flip flops and up the underwear to a pair a day. Maybe add a beach towel too. This all depends where you're going. Add swimwear too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Perhaps you should read the rules again. Ryanair only allow you one carry on bag. They do not allow you to bring on one additional personal item, such as a laptop bag or a ladies handbag.

er yeah..thats what I said....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Ive never seen em check the 10kg rule, its the size of the bag they're feckers for and it it doesnt fit in the metal template they will make you pay for it.

Check the bag matches that first.

You could also ditch some stuff and buy cheap clothes out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Riskymove wrote: »
    er yeah..thats what I said....:confused:

Sorry. I misread your post. I thought you meant that under Ryanair rules, you are allowed to also bring a hand bag. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭coleen

I went to Majorca last year for 10 days with hand luggage. I travelled with Ryan Air and I would agree that a case that fits into the frame is important. I has plenty clothes I only wore everything twice. I did a little bit of washing of underware but other than than I was fine ,and I am female. I did not bring a laptop which would be fairly bulky. I would think that jeans would be fairly heavy also but it is quite easy to do.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

JD DABA wrote: »
    Is an average sized backpack big enough for a 10 day holiday.

I spent 19 days in Japan last year and brought everything in a carry on cabin sized bag.
    Where ever I go, I tend to rent apartments with a washing machine.
    (If no machine, you can hand wash a few bits in the sink).
    2 pair of jeans. 6 tops. Jocks and socks. Travel hair straightener. Small amount of make up.
    All toiletries can be bought when you arrive.
    I have been doing this for years with no problem and it's great to just have one small bag to drag around.
    People who bring everything plus the kitchen sink are mad.

Beruthiel wrote: »
    I spent 19 days in Japan last year and brought everything in a carry on cabin sized bag.
    Where ever I go, I tend to rent apartments with a washing machine.
    (If no machine, you can hand wash a few bits in the sink).
    2 pair of jeans. 6 tops. Jocks and socks. Travel hair straightener. Small amount of make up.
    All toiletries can be bought when you arrive.
    I have been doing this for years with no problem and it's great to just have one small bag to drag around.
    People who bring everything plus the kitchen sink are mad.

But shur you cant wear the same thing twice, even if its in a different country.. :eek:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

garv123 wrote: »
    But shur you cant wear the same thing twice, even if its in a different country.. :eek:

Surely this only applies if you are Michelle Obama or the Queen of England?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I bring around 12/15 kilos of stuff in an expandable bag and have the stuff over the excess in a plastic bag on top.

Then I ram all the stuff in the plastic bag into my Jacket sleeves and pockets collapse the top of the bag so it fits into the metal thing and then put it back in again once on the plane.

Never had a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Dump the 2 pairs of jeans. Whatever ones you're wearing can be worn for 10 days grand.

http://www.levistrauss.com/blogs/wash-my-jeans-hardly

Unlike jeans underwear and socks should be at least changed daily.

Since im packing now,

In my ryanair limit 55x40x20 suitcase I have:

2 jeans,
    2 fatman tracksuit pants,(take up the most room)
    1 combat pair of 3/4 length shorts,
    2 belts,
    3 T-shirts
    laptop,
    charger,
    And id have enough room for a load of socks and jocks and more tshirts without filling up the case still.

Totat weight so far is 7.5kgs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Mongarra wrote: »
    And according to opening post they are already stained so they will not be clean starting!

Maybe the OP is going commando for a couple of days, or possibly giving them a quick rinse in the sink in hotel & leave to air dry ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

garv123 wrote: »
    2 jeans,
    2 fatman tracksuit pants,(take up the most room)
    1 combat pair of 3/4 length shorts,
    Are you going somewhere cold? 'Cause if it's a sun holiday I bet you wear the shorts for 75% of the time.

My wimmins (wife and daughters) are forever carrying heavy jeans and hoodies all over the world and never once wearing them.

Just sayin'.

peckerhead wrote: »
    Are you going somewhere cold? 'Cause if it's a sun holiday I bet you wear the shorts for 75% of the time.

My wimmins (wife and daughters) are forever carrying heavy jeans and hoodies all over the world and never once wearing them.

Just sayin'.

Ireland :P

Ive been living in spain for the last 3 months.