Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When are you planning on mowing the hay?

• 24-06-2013 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭

After the rain this Thursday? I see some mowed today. Forecast good from Friday on. Do you think it will rain much Thursday ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

No. Tomorrow. Not much rain forecast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gazahayes

Good loser wrote: »
    No. Tomorrow. Not much rain forecast.

Mine is down today at lunch time spread it out there this evening after fitting new tines and springs to the haybob just to make sure it was going alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭trabpc

Might mow today. Looks nice enough this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Hoping to cut Thursday, crop light enough but better get it done now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭tmboy95

Cut half of it yesterday evening, dunno is there a tiny drop of rain to come some day in the next few days so that's why only half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

On the question of mowing for hay, does it matter if the grass is cut with the conditioner or can I use the disc mower? The crop is fairly light so cutting with the conditioner might be ok to shake out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

RobinBanks wrote: »
    On the question of mowing for hay, does it matter if the grass is cut with the conditioner or can I use the disc mower? The crop is fairly light so cutting with the conditioner might be ok to shake out?

Personally I would use a disc mower. Lays it down better to protect it from a drop of rain that might come tomorrow. Slake it out then Friday. Well that's my plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

Mowed down at home sunday afternoon/evening. Raked in the headlands to wrap, hope that was done today (I'm back up the country at work). Turned the rest of it, will turn it again maybe friday, will have to see how weather goes after that, if theres a drop of rain at all i'll just get the whole lot wrapped, can't afford dodgy hay with the horses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Mowed 6 acres on tuesday pm. Shook out yesterday. Rowed up 5 acres today and wrapped it up. Left an acre in the middle of the field. Hopefully get a few square bales of hay over the weekend?.

If weather is not lookin good, we'll just wrap it up. I see on RTE weather forecast tonight they are unsure about weather on Sat & Sun. Will keep an eye on MT CRANIUM over the next few days.

Got the last bit mowed this evening after tractor broke down yday evening. Broke the mower doing the headland on last run. Looks like I fcuked it up nicely.
    Anyway it's light enough so it should turn into hay quick enough if we get a few nice days over the weekend.

sea12 wrote: »
    Got the last bit mowed this evening after tractor broke down yday evening. Broke the mower doing the headland on last run. Looks like I fcuked it up nicely.
    Anyway it's light enough so it should turn into hay quick enough if we get a few nice days over the weekend.

Really so hard to trust rte/met.Ie. Yesterday weather was to be little wet thurs then at 1 today forecast on rte said Thursday should be ok for most down south. Then At 6 news change again more rain. Think we are caught between a low and a blocking high and could go either way tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Broke the mower doing the headland on last run. Looks like I fcuked it up nicely.

Feckin nuisance. Did you hit the ditch or what?

Head a big lump of rock which must have rolled down the bank. Had a look at it this evening. Oil leaking out, hole in the bed. One of the discs split. :confused:

Weather not looking as good now as promised earlier in the week. Sorry I knocked it now. Might wrap it up to hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Head a big lump of rock which must have rolled down the bank. Had a look at it this evening. Oil leaking out, hole in the bed. One of the discs split. :confused:

Weather not looking as good now as promised earlier in the week. Sorry I knocked it now. Might wrap it up to hell.
    You should so cabbage plants the same day as you mow hay ;););)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

delaval wrote: »

Tried that for a while.

till I got sick of baling cabbage every other year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭kingstown

Knocked mine down Monday about 5ish after getting the weather forecast and that evening. Evelyn after the 9pm news was giving a promise of a good week ahead and the prospect of a even better weekend.. so all was looking good..
    They must have changed their minds every day since..:confused:

Turned it every evening after work and was hoping today would hold good as I recon I'd get it square baled tomorrow (sat).
    We had a nice drop last night / early morning so don't know what it will be like this evening when I get home.

The problem with doing hay and going to work is the man that can give it a chance to dry out after the morning due and give it a turn about lunchtime and have the best of the evening on it will get the hay at least 2 day's so earlier than what I am trying to do.

Anyone with hay down I hope you get it.. And as we say in Tipp it will be a grand summer when we beat Cork in the Hurling and the Hay saved ......;)

But what can we do, but hope for a least 4 /5 days together with out rain but also a bit of sun and light winds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

kingstown wrote: »
    Knocked mine down Monday about 5ish after getting the weather forecast and that evening. Evelyn after the 9pm news was giving a promise of a good week ahead and the prospect of a even better weekend.. so all was looking good..
    They must have changed their minds every day since..:confused:

Turned it every evening after work and was hoping today would hold good as I recon I'd get it square baled tomorrow (sat).
    We had a nice drop last night / early morning so don't know what it will be like this evening when I get home.

The problem with doing hay and going to work is the man that can give it a chance to dry out after the morning due and give it a turn about lunchtime and have the best of the evening on it will get the hay at least 2 day's so earlier than what I am trying to do.

Anyone with hay down I hope you get it.. And as we say in Tipp it will be a grand summer when we beat Cork in the Hurling and the Hay saved ......;)

But what can we do, but hope for a least 4 /5 days together with out rain but also a bit of sun and light winds.
    Your MO is not going to make hay very easy on you . It would be better if you could be around or at least pay someone to be there to turn it when needs must . What I do any more is row it in before dew falls and dont toss it back out until the ground is dry under it (around one or two o clock ) the next day . Its a bit of insurance too in case rain comes overnight the hay will be alot safer in the rows for a few days if needs be .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

delaval wrote: »

I don't get that one? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

kingstown wrote: »
    And as we say in Tipp it will be a grand summer when we beat Cork in the Hurling and the Hay saved ......;)
    And as we say in Limerick, the hay saved, Tipp bet (both minor & senior)and off to the Galway races;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Muckit wrote: »
    I don't get that one? :confused:

I assume it means you'll get the rain for the cabbage.

I don't eat cabbage myself as my parents told me they found me under a head of cabbage. And I wouldnt like to leave some other poor baby homeless.

Wrapped all of it today. So much for promising a good weekend..........

trabpc wrote: »
    Wrapped all of it today. So much for promising a good weekend..........

Tried to get it wrapped today but contractor booked out til Monday. Fceking weather. They got this week badly wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

The yr weather website is giving good weather from midweek. They'll probably change their minds by tuesday! Bought a second hand mower today would like a chance to use on some hay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I always cut here once the wind dies down or swings to the East. Its very hard to get decent conditions otherwise in North Mayo. I've pencilled in the weekend after next based on tonight's weather models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

whats the obsession with hay lads why not wrap it no shed needed and the extra feed value would pay for the plastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

What is most perplexing is the way that some won't miss weather forecast spend week or more turning hay and tossing and turning in bed only to leave bales in the field until Oct!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Masseymad

mf240 wrote: »
    whats the obsession with hay lads why not wrap it no shed needed and the extra feed value would pay for the plastic.

but hay is clean...you cud feed it and not have to change your clothes for going to mass if ya wanted :p

mf240 wrote: »

Horses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭dzer2

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I always cut here once the wind dies down or swings to the East. Its very hard to get decent conditions otherwise in North Mayo. I've pencilled in the weekend after next based on tonight's weather models

What weather models are you looking at. it seems there will be a lot of dry weather after next thursday but you need sunshine for good hay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

dzer2 wrote: »
    What weather models are you looking at. it seems there will be a lot of dry weather after next thursday but you need sunshine for good hay.

Have the silage to make,thread relevant as want bit of a wilt .....TG it's only ready now as week ahead doesn't look too settled anywhere in Ireland...is it meant to improve at end of week??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I'm looking at the ECMWF model. Certainly looking good tonight for a big pick up in the weather from next Thurday onwards:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I'm looking at the ECMWF model. Certainly looking good tonight for a big pick up in the weather from next Thurday onwards:)

MT Cranium and yr weather predicting the same.

Baled it up this evening. Turned out a lovely day after a damp start. Was in 2 minds. Was going to chance it and leave until the weekend. It was 95 percent right. Would it have been better to let it get wet and hope for the good weekend?? Time will tell but it's done now . Balers racing up and down the road criss crossing each other.

Same as that here was 100% here didnt have any rain Turned it twice and baled it at 7pm just before the mist. Young lads had their first taste of the old fashion way as we teased out the head land with forks after the haybob.:D:D They couldnt believe the way the hay saved when left on top of the sward and teased out. Both neighbours looking over the ditch at us thought we were mad they are still waiting on the contractor to bale and wrap. The rain is here now and they couldnt ask me as they asked me a few yrs back to get the contrator to drop his price and never paid me.:mad::cool::cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gazahayes

Baled 2 acres today 198 small square bales down since last Monday. Threw it into the shed just as the rain started.

Rained a thing of nothing here after. Damp and dirty but hardly wet the grass after. Could have let it be and baled it up on Friday, however checked the bales this evening. All fine apart from one or two headlands which are heating a bit.

Anyway think I will knock another bit this Friday. May get someone to mow it now though after breaking my mower last week.

Anyone else going to knock any meadows?

Yup I have it in my head to cut 3 or 4 acres on friday but I might leave it till saturday if all next week is promised to be hot . I reckon an extra days drying when its standing makes it easier to save .

Hope they get this weeks forecast right! Last weekend was forcast to be a scorcher on the Wednesday before. Look what happened. Lot of hay had to be wrapped.

trabpc wrote: »
    Hope they get this weeks forecast right! Last weekend was forcast to be a scorcher on the Wednesday before. Look what happened. Lot of hay had to be wrapped.
    You're wrecking my hay buzz man . Im all excited about making a few square bales in perfect weather :rolleyes:

moy83 wrote: »
    You're wrecking my hay buzz man . Im all excited about making a few square bales in perfect weather :rolleyes:

In fairness they do seem a lot more certain this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Have 10 acres knocked since wednesday night .
    Heavy crop that is very green from urea , but id say il get it with the weather thats forecast .
    Mid 20's monday and tuesday with strong sunshine because of a "blocking high" thats over ireland .
    Was out earlier this morning and was a bit hazy , but blue skies and sun making a welcome apperance .

Putting it into round bales so will need to be really fit tho ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Cutting since 6 this morning
    Have 55 acres to knock, Hope to bale it up Tuesday. Fingers crossed anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

5 acres knocked this afternoon

no panic to pick it up. its ready when its ready

5 acres knocked this afternoon

no panic to pick it up. its ready when its ready

Knocked 6 acres this afternoon. Got a friend to mow it. Did a great job and so quick with a8 ft mower compared to my 5ft 6. 4 acres lovely stuff and2 acres of buttercups and light grass and rushes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

I cut some grass yesterday for hay. I like the idea of having a few bales for the cows when they start calving. The calving pin might be easier to keep clean.

I decided to keep this as it went a bit long for the cattle and there was a decent crop in it. Some parts are very heavy so I hope it will be able to dry it out. I haven't much experience with hay.

Have seen several lads make hay this week that made it to sell.....and werent worried about its feed value... to my mind they left it down too long,cut last fri,only baled yday eve or today.....the stuff is burnt from the sun!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Have seen several lads make hay this week that made it to sell.....and werent worried about its feed value... to my mind they left it down too long,cut last fri,only baled yday eve or today.....the stuff is burnt from the sun!!!

I would have thought hay down for 6 days would be ok, as long as it was only turned once.

No? :confused:

Ha ha - tis a great year too, that we are saying hay is down too long :D

I would have thought hay down for 6 days would be ok, as long as it was only turned once.

No? :confused:

Ha ha - tis a great year too, that we are saying hay is down too long :D

Around here you would have to turn hay 3 times and it would have to be crispy dry. I cut last friday morning turned saturday evening, monday afternoon and raked tuesday at noon baled tuesday evening at 6.oopm. Real good stuff smells and feels like hay saved in tramps when I was a kid.:D

Both characters I'm on about are related,stuff was shook out at least twice,do considering it was losing moisture from Sec it was cut they are bound to have shook a lot of the good out of it....was well fit to bale by Tues..... they wouldn't do it if keeping it,are looking for 3 euro in the field,but are kind of lads who will find some victims!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Ha ha. Strange way to save hay!!

We cut 55 acres on Friday the 5th. Turned the 6th, and the headands got a shake on the 7th. All turned again Monday the 8th and rowed up on the Tuesday. Had 3 balers in the Tuesday evening to bale it up. Super stuff. Not burnt, with a touch of green in it still. Its out in the field since near the gate and no bother on it. Very happy with it now