Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Escalator Etiquette?

• 23-06-2013 9:00pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5

Do you stand on them? Or do you allow normal people space to walk?

Do you stand on escalators? 107 votes

I stand and don't care whom I hold up
    0%
    I stand but allow others to pass
    6%
    dub_skavNoQuartercherryghostcandy-gal1breadandjamStinickerHellboundIRL 7 votes
    I am a normal person and walk on them
    93%
    Rabiesmike2084tommycahirDiddy KongVeVeX[Deleted User][Jackass]Shaneggggup for anythingLiam90LordSutchShenshenbluto63nibtrixdobsdavedotsmanGarHxtal191JoseJonesXavi6 100 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Stand right, walk left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

I stand but allow others to pass
    Doesnt apply over here. Now feck off back to London or wherever ya posho!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

No normal people are allowed by me, only abnormal ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I stand to the side and let people pass if they wish. Not only do I have fancy pants, I'm sound too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

What does a normal person look like? Just so as I know .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

stand to the right, people who wish to walk use the left.

Any other way of doing it is 100% wrong and you are wrong. ADMIT IT! YOU CANT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Actually, escalators don't bother me too much. Now, fat lazy fcuks standing on airport travelators is another thing entirely. They're there to make things move more quickly you idiots! Not so you can hold everybody up as you actually go even slower!

OK. Rant over. I feel better now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Depends i stand walk and let people pass depends on urgency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I stand on the right gripping the plastic yoke, not for good manners but because I am right handed, and so my right hand is the strongest, and I like to hold the yoke in case someone presses the emergency stop button and I go flying. If people want to walk on my left then more power to them.

Its less of an issue here where most escalators aren't very big, maybe one storey in size, but I have been on escalators in the US and on the continent which were 3-stories in size, and go quite fast, so it suddenly stopping could catapult me a looong way down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 ThatDawg

you own the step below, and the step above.
    Repel all boarders. None shall pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

endacl wrote: »
    Actually, escalators don't bother me too much. Now, fat lazy fcuks standing on airport travelators is another thing entirely. They're there to make things move more quickly you idiots! Not so you can hold everybody up as you actually go even slower!

I always run as fast as I can on those things, it's grand until you come to the end of it and nearly get slapped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

It's infuriating when people stand in the middle of the escalator. The only time it's ever acceptable to block it is if you are carrying luggage. Otherwise, stand on the right and let me by you clown. You might want to live your life standing on escalators but don't force your lifestyle choices on me.

BAH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

If the people are not informed theres no reason for this insanity to stop.

You have to forgive them OP

They know not what they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

I cant tell at times if the escalator is going up or down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Normal people? I stand to the side, but only started doing it after going to London a few times, and getting in the habit after those trips. It's not really the etiquette here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

The hatchet should only come out once the doors have fully closed

and any residual matter should be fully cleaned up by the time they are open again, and compusure retained.

Normal people? I stand to the side, but only started doing it after going to London a few times, and getting in the habit after those trips. It's not really the etiquette here.
    The tip of an umbrella up someone's hole has major benefits for people's understanding of escalator etiquette.

The hatchet should only come out once the doors have fully closed

and any residual matter should be fully cleaned up by the time they are open again, and compusure retained.
    Wrong method of peditravel buddy. Better luck next time.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Tom_Cruise wrote: »

That's what Scientology does to the brain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I do both. No poll option. :mad:

I mean, I walk and I stand and allow others pass. Though not at the same time. Obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

If I'm in a hurry I walk along, if not I stand to one side enabling those in a hurry to pass if they wish to do so.

I make that mistake too sometimes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

It's beginning to be. Mightn't be a bad idea for government owned EScalators to put up a sign - stand on right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

The tip of an umbrella up someone's hole has major benefits for people's understanding of escalator etiquette.

It's not a thing in Ireland, and as someone pointed out, we don't have very long ones in this country. How much time would you actually save?

78 minutes per year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

I find it annoying. If you want to stand on them fine, but don't block the rest of us.

Another trend i notice, idiots stopping at the top/bottom of elevators! Where are the rest of us supposed to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭seaniefr

It's just an Irish thing same as motorway etiquette where someone stays in the right ( fast) lane and prevents everyone else from passing (:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭123 LC

''I am a normal person and walk on them''

But that's what the stairs is for? I choose the escalator so I can go up a floor with minimal effort :P

seaniefr wrote: »
    It's just an Irish thing same as motorway etiquette where someone stays in the right ( fast) lane and prevents everyone else from passing (:-)

There is a slow lane on motorways?! I stay left most of time then right to overtake slower yokes.

There's no such thing as a fast lane.
    It's an overtaking lane.

Always stay left unless you're overtaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Stand to the right, trip the people up trying to pass you on the left. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I'm not lazy. I use the stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭seaniefr

SV wrote: »
    It's an overtaking lane.

Always stay left unless you're overtaking.
    Can you suggest a sign for our motorways with that message 'cause there are an awful lot of drivers that don't get that:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭daedal

sometimes i can't figure out if i'm the one moving or if the world is moving around me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I like to lie down on them and get the free hair cut at the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Ill just leave this here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭daedal

Plazaman wrote: »
    I like to lie down on them and get the free hair cut at the top.

I would stand up and get the free "shoe polish" deal while on your way up. Then, about 5 seconds before you reach the top, lie down to avail of the haircut offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Can you suggest a sign for our motorways with that message 'cause there are an awful lot of drivers that don't get that:rolleyes:

'If you stay on the right, you're driving's sh1te!' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

endacl wrote: »

Love walking on that travelator in Dublin Airport towards the Ryanair gates...I feel like Superman racing a train as I whizz past the mong families heading to Lanzarooooheeeee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

In London you would be pushed out of the way if you blocked an escalator. I wish it was common place here too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

It's not etiquette in London, it's self preservation.

it always amuses me when a tourist decides to block the escalator at Paddington when people are trying to rush from the bakerloo line to catch their train home.

They learn quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭chosen1

lertsnim wrote: »
    In London you would be pushed out of the way if you blocked an escalator. I wish it was common place here too.
    Yes in London that would happen where people are rushing to get a tube on time.

Here if you're using one it's more than likely you're going to the clothing department in Dunnes or something like that. Not that much need for stand to the right etiquette here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Hate it when healthy people block me. I always let people pass.

If things escalate, too quickly I throw a bucket of icy water over her and listen; faking ruud don t want no fake tan on his new suit

http://expressway.paulrands.com/oldsite/photogallery/signs/general/regulatory/images/keepleftunlessovertaking.jpg

How's that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

SV wrote: »
    It's an overtaking lane.

Can we please ban this? PLEASE! It's right up there with the Road Tax/Motor Tax thing. Everyone knows what the person means!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

i initially mistook escalator for elevator, here and posted in accordance with Patrick Bateman :o who says weed can't cloud our judgment and make us slightly psychotic.