Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling fatigue

• 23-06-2013 9:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭

Have been the bike almost every weekend this year bar one or two but this morning I saw the weather, phoned my cycling buddy and called off our spin and went back to sleep.

And I don't regret a bit of it. I find that I was actually dreading another slog through the mountains this week. So it occurs to me that I might be a bit bored and fed up with cycling.

Anyone else ever feel this way? That you need a break as cycling is taking up too much of your weekend? Also find that since I upgraded my bike from bog standard Giant ocr 4 to decent Giant Defy 2, i'm not enjoying it half so much. I think the heavy frame was much better at absorbing all the lumps in the road you find in County Wicklow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

LennoxR wrote: »
    Have been the bike almost every weekend this year bar one or two but this morning I saw the weather, phoned my cycling buddy and called off our spin and went back to sleep.

And I don't regret a bit of it. I find that I was actually dreading another slog through the mountains this week. So it occurs to me that I might be a bit bored and fed up with cycling.

Anyone else ever feel this way? That you need a break as cycling is taking up too much of your weekend? Also find that since I upgraded my bike from bog standard Giant ocr 4 to decent Giant Defy 2, i'm not enjoying it half so much. I think the heavy frame was much better at absorbing all the lumps in the road you find in County Wicklow.

How long ago did you change your bike? Might just be an adjustment period on that front.

Generally I find that the best way to fuel more cycling is to have an event to aim for or new kit to justify having spent money on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭LennoxR

How long ago did you change your bike? Might just be an adjustment period on that front.

Generally I find that the best way to fuel more cycling is to have an event to aim for or new kit to justify having spent money on!

Changed about a month and a half ago and did the Mick Byrne 160 and W200 on the new bike. I have been fiddling around with the saddle height alright as you do, but it's really just a comfort thing, the light frame means you feel every little bump and all the big bumps in the descents. During the MB in particular I was swearing at all the crappy surfaces on the descents!

But yeah we're probably doing the Wicklow Peaks sportive next week. I think maybe a change of scenery would be good. Never thought I'd get tired of the Wicklow mountains but I may be reaching saturation point now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

It's happened me with road biking, mountain biking, playing music etc.

Sometimes you needs break, sometimes a new bit of gear, even a trinket, will help you stay in love with it.

Don't beat yourself up over it and don't push yourself too hard either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Maybe some long flat sections for a week or two. Find the same routes can become quite boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,873 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

There is the theory that peak form is not physical but rather mental, in that there is really no physical issue with staying at the level you are out (be that W200 form or Giro winning form) but rather the ability, as expressed by Wiggins this week, to continue to put in the effort required to maintain that, be it intensity in training, diet, lack of social life etc.

Certainly for amateur cyclists (the normal racing and leisure cyclists on here) there is no real need for an off-season from a physical stand point, more so from a mental and life balance point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Snap! That's gas, I just switched on here to post a "push on or go home" thread. I was the ultimate reluctant rothaí all morning. Stayed in bed late until all my mates' spins would be underway. Leisurely breakfast. Half-assed preparation. Thought about doing the turbo instead. Checked the forecast several times. Stood looking out the window at the sky for long spells...

Eventually I dragged myself and the bike out for some in the immediate vicinity hill repeats. Did one (1!!) and I'd had enough. I just had no interest in it, & my legs had no interest in it. I couldn't generate or maintain any decent watts, couldn't get my heart rate up.

Upshot of it all was "Fcuk this! I'm going home!" I do wonder what the "right" move is though. If I'd been with friends or (and) on a club spin then I'd have more than likely dug in and stayed out. Or am I better off to listen to my body and be prudent / lazy ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

cycling most of my life do i get pissed off with the bike and whole cycling thing yes quiet a lot to be honest.i would sooner sit at the computer or listen to some radio when the weather is bad i.ve cycled in all kinds of weather the wind probably is the worst it can beat a fella to the ground, but it's when you look out the window and it teaming down you kinda think, what i aint going out in that .unless of course you want to race or be in the leading group with your buddies on a sportive ride, horses for courses.
    if your uncomfortable on the bike change the wheels to 36 spoke maybe 700x25 tyres bit lower pressure and more important than anything else reduce your speed smell the roses .

yeah cycling in the rain aint no fun.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Anyone else ever feel this way?

Yep, totally lost the enthusiasm since the WW200, though also been working long hours so the energy levels aren't great. Going to Kerry in a couple of weeks, and I know the hills there and the general change of scenery will re-kindle my interest. Supposed to be nice next week, so I might try for a few crack of dawn spins before work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

About every 5 weeks or so I do **** all. I do a little mountain biking or hiking or something instead, and always feel better afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Baking forum that way
    >

(Cycling isn't easy, if it was everyone would be doing it. Stick with it :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Its the rain and cold that bothers me. When you're out in the middle of nowhere and soaked, and you have to keep moving or you'll cool down and possibly get sick.

Theres a great feeling of exhilaration when cycling in the wind, even if its wet. But NOT the cold too thanks very much .

Did someone say baking forum ??:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Maybe get the train/lift somewhere far away and cycle home for a change of routine ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

Double snap!

Rolled over this morning after hearing the wind. I reckon there just isn't any point in slogging through a cycle just for the sake of it.

I had a big week (by my standards) last week, there's nothing wrong with giving yourself a break from it every now and again

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I set goals so each week is a challenge. It helps with the motivation.

Today for example I needed to do at least 100km yo reach this weeks goal. Planed a 140km route. As it turned out the first 75km was in to a fierce head wind so only needed up doing 106km buy enough for the weekly goal.

If j hadn't of set goal I would have given up after 20km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

G rock wrote: »
    Double snap!

Rolled over this morning after hearing the wind. I reckon there just isn't any point in slogging through a cycle just for the sake of it.

I had a big week (by my standards) last week, there's nothing wrong with giving yourself a break from it every now and again

The wind is a signal for you to go out and nab as many easterly Strava KOM's as you can. Poor Beasty has in inbox full of uh oh's from luskdoyle.

Inquitus wrote: »
    The wind is a signal for you to go out and nab as many easterly Strava KOM's as you can. Poor Beasty has in inbox full of uh oh's from luskdoyle.

Meh, no strava for me-i know how slow I am without being reminded by strava!!

Inquitus wrote: »

Meh, no strava for me-i know how slow I am without being reminded by strava!!

Bigus wrote: »
    Maybe get the train/lift somewhere far away and cycle home for a change of routine ?

This is actually an excellent idea. Was just thinking this myself.

I think mentally it's good to take a break every once in a while. If you feel you have to do it every weekend it just becomes a chore instead of a pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

This is actually an excellent idea. Was just thinking this myself.

I think mentally it's good to take a break every once in a while. If you feel you have to do it every weekend it just becomes a chore instead of a pleasure.

Glad you thinks so , and you could push how far you have to go and therefore return depending on the weather / prevailing winds daylight etc.

Plus it'll give you something interest to talk about , even to non cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

Buy a new (even more expensive) bike?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

ror_74 wrote: »
    Its the rain and cold that bothers me. When you're out in the middle of nowhere and soaked, and you have to keep moving or you'll cool down and possibly get sick.

Theres a great feeling of exhilaration when cycling in the wind, even if its wet. But NOT the cold too thanks very much .

Did someone say baking forum ??:p

I cycled out to Blessington yesterday. Gale force wind iny face the whole way, driving rain most of the way and I was freezing. Oddly I loved it, 2 young kids at home means I only get out once a week.

The way home was brilliant with the tail wind.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

ashleey wrote: »
    Buy a new (even more expensive) bike?

Ya, but get one that suits your needs. A lot of guys who don't know their arse for their elbow anout bikes give advice here - aften to buy 'hard' carbon bikes for fellas who don't race. Try 25mm tyres at around 90psi to see if it makes any difference, and go for a few very slow, easy, fun rides - don't punish yourself.

A lot of guys who don't know their arse for their elbow anout bikes give advice here

You're gonna have to cite some examples there High Nelly, or risk losing some of your considerable credibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Ya, but get one that suits your needs. A lot of guys who don't know their arse for their elbow anout bikes give advice here - aften to buy 'hard' carbon bikes for fellas who don't race. Try 25mm tyres at around 90psi to see if it makes any difference, and go for a few very slow, easy, fun rides - don't punish yourself.

;) great post high nellie .
    To the op i'm thinking your a young guy that likes to climb hills fast if i'm wrong (usually am) put me against the wall and shoot me. if your like me that loves cycling but not out to try and impress anyone then STEEL is your friend as is quality hand built wheels and i mean wheels that has more than 6 spokes.:D tyres are equally important . but look you probably know all this a break is as good as a rest so dont go selling that bike just yet.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭BognarRegis

Maybe you're trying too hard and being over-competitive? It could be stress that's wearing you out. What you might need is a non-challenging spin with a coffee stop and a bit of exploration of new roads. Leave the speedometer and heart-rate monitor at home. Plan to stay out all day if needs be & take your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭get on your bike

;) great post high nellie .
    To the op i'm thinking your a young guy that likes to climb hills fast if i'm wrong (usually am) put me against the wall and shoot me. if your like me that loves cycling but not out to try and impress anyone then STEEL is your friend as is quality hand built wheels and i mean wheels that has more than 6 spokes.:D tyres are equally important . but look you probably know all this a break is as good as a rest so dont go selling
    that bike just yet.:cool:

I agree with this. Havn't bothered with both & feels more enjoyable & stress free for some reason. Still like to go fast :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

You're gonna have to cite some examples there High Nelly, or risk losing some of your considerable credibility.

Thanks for the compliment, or should I beware of Greeks Bearing Gifts?
    If so, a reprimand is deserved as I was trigger happy on this one. That bike should seem suitable.

What irks me, and triggered the trigger, is that if you go to any of the posts here from 'newbies' asking for advice about bikes, most of the time you'll get fellas suggesting high-end carbon bikes with racing geometry. On Irish road these usually produce the ride this poster is complaining of, especially combined with hard tyres. Carbon if fine if the frame is designed for what he wants - e.g. the Specilaized Roubaix or something like that. I have one of those hard and tight carbon frames myself, but for fun, relaxation, touring and longer sportive-type events I use titanium or steel with laid-back geometry.
    Anyway, I stand corrected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

Brian? wrote: »
    I cycled out to Blessington yesterday. Gale force wind in my face the whole way, driving rain most of the way and I was freezing

I was the same myself last night but you just can't beat that feeling of hoping into a nice hot shower once you get home. (that is if someone hasn't turned the immersion off while you're out.:mad:)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

For the last three years I've had goals to keep me on the bike. This year, I've no interest in going out on my own. I spent the winter spinning and core strength with the club, I also did spinning classes in the gym. I play football also. I tried to do gym work but I can't motivate myself. I've no ambitions to race. The only times I've gone out on my own are a couple of cycles to work (40km e/w) as it's a nice cycle and to check the routes for the beginners spins I train. I'm enjoying going out with the club or doing a sportive when I get a chance. Maybe next year I will have goals, I don't know, I will look at next year in August to allow me to prepare but unless a serious whack of cash comes my way, I think I've achieved everything I want to for now but I will continue to cycle in company where I can.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

I was out Wednesday last week for a big spin (vertical and distance - a Wicklow geography lesson in disguise) , I would then normally commute in on Friday after Thursday off , but instead I didn't cycle until today (Sunday) and that 3 days off was a wonder. In addition I think the idea of getting a train somewhere and cycling home is a brilliant one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I was the exact same this morning, had planned an 80k+ spin with a mate and was lying in bed at bed at 7:30am listening to the rain beating against the window praying my mate didnt text/ring to say 'leaving now meet you at...' He didnt and so i went back to sleep and didnt get up till near 12. Its the first sleep in i've had in around 3 months as i have two children and once 6:30am comes theyre awake and on the go. I took up cycling for leisure/health reasons and not to be miserable wet and cold when there was no need to be.

I absolutely love getting out on the bike in the evenings and weekends and I dont care if i get caught in a shower of rain or two while already out but if its raining heavy/windy then i wont go out as i find it near impossible to get warmed up when i'm wet from the outset. I've been out 3 to 4 times a week since the clocks changed and have been so lucky in that i was only caught in one light shower in that time (best part of 10 weeks) Long may that last!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

I understand the op , there are times when I'm on the bike, suffering a bit, and not enjoying it.

One thing for sure, the feeling I get after the cycle is finished is always fantastic, mentally alert, endorphins, sense of achievement that I have just done something really good for my health and well being.

Thanks for replies, interesting that some others are feeling the same. I wonder is it post w200 demotivation kicking in?

Totally agree about leaving the speedomoter and heart rate at home, fortunately never bought them in my ten years of so of cycling. I'm kind of old fashioned that way.

I'm not that young, 32, but I do like to climb fast (as I can). Maybe I have been overdoing it recently. Re steel, again agree. Was drooling over that vintage bike Shay Eliot thread, but not going to go out and spend another grand right now. My bike is aluminium but just lighter than I've been used to recently. But yes, a few non-competitive fun and flat spins would be a good idea.

Won't be selling the bike don't worry, just a little break. Went for a run instead today. I'll say one thing for it, it takes up a lot less time in your day.

Have to say, with the exception of getting cold and wet on a few spins over the winter, I've never gone on a cycle and regretted it afterwards. Sometimes its tough going, but thats just the nature of it, always happy I went when I get back.

Another idea, OP, is another bike just for slow spins. One that you might use for going to the shops, like a fixie. You can use that for recovery spins, or just knocking about without all the gear on. I find its a nice break at times ( while still getting the kms in :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

A lot of self pity going on here!

Think how lucky you are that you can cycle long distances. Too cold too wet no excuse, just dress for it.

Drive a lot with work. Ever day I see cyclist, touring or out for spin, I think lucky ba$tard.

If bored, mix it up. Change route, go faster.
    Best of all get mtb.

@astramonti posted a motivational video in campervan thread yesterday which might open an eye or two...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

For the last three years I've had goals to keep me on the bike. This year, I've no interest in going out on my own.

I think I've achieved everything I want to for now but I will continue to cycle in company where I can.
    You are welcome to join me in the evening any time :).

ford2600 wrote: »
    A lot of self pity going on here!

Think how lucky you are that you can cycle long distances. Too cold too wet no excuse, just dress for it.

Drive a lot with work. Ever day I see cyclist, touring or out for spin, I think lucky ba$tard.

If bored, mix it up. Change route, go faster.
    Best of all get mtb.

@astramonti posted a motivational video in campervan thread yesterday which might open an eye or two...

Theres self pity and then theres self preservation.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Seweryn wrote: »
    You are welcome to join me in the evening any time :).

Cheers but my midweek is Mon: cycling with club, Tue & Wed: Football, Thu: cycling with club, Fri: work or league of Ireland match.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

someone said something about doing the wicklow 200 as a possible cause earlier. there is some truth to this if that was your goal and why you did all the mountain training, the goal is complete so now its "ahhh uuhhhh :("
    so you need new goals, plus a bit of downtime if you were getting psychologically burnt out which it sounds like.

every year I finished the marmotte I said never again :mad: but time is a great healer :rolleyes:

if youre not enjoying your bike riding youre doing it wrong in some way...for yourself personally. if you're use to pushing on and through things then when you get something like this pay more attention to it, in the same way as we ignore what feels like a wall, then when we get to go through a couple during a session we learn what a real one feels like and to know when we are getting close to one and back off a bit without going to hard and into the red for the energy and time/terrain we have left in the session

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Rest is good when you're doing exercise. That's how the human body adapts. Joe Friel in his book says 'If in doubt, leave it out'. Onle rarely it is beneficial to push through a tired state and it would have to go along with a lot of motivation.

Take it easy for a week or two, put your feet up and watch some movies or whatever you like. The endurance won't go anywhere in that time, and to get the top end bit back you might need one or two hard sessions after it, if that's of any worry to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 parttime77

hey maybe you need to try regular different routes , thats what I do .What routes do you take in wicklow , is it the N11 .

parttime77 wrote: »
    hey maybe you need to try regular different routes , thats what I do .What routes do you take in wicklow , is it the N11 .

The n11? My god man, what do you take me for?

parttime77 wrote: »

Possibly the most boring route in Wicklow I'm always amazed at the number of cyclists on it..

Possibly avoiding the hills :D

Mr.Fred wrote: »
    Possibly the most boring route in Wicklow I'm always amazed at the number of cyclists on it..

Possibly avoiding the hills :D

Or bumping up the average speed before strava upload ;)

haha I always find it easier to do that in the car... ;)

oops did i say that out loud :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭bambergbike

Did the train thing today, new routes are always good. I had done a roughly 160 km route I'm familiar with on Sunday (from my own house to my sister's). I had then gone out for a quick cycle with her yesterday, up a medium mountain. When I started cycling home today - back up the same hill again - I noticed straight away that my legs would hold up to a day in tourist mode and that anything else would be a struggle. So I stopped to admire a family of Egyptian geese at the water's edge (two adults, three grey and white-flecked goslings) and then I went bouncing around on gravel tracks in all sorts of places I've never been before and finally ended up at a train station 60 km from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 parttime77

ye it can get a bit boring , espeacaily if ur on ur own , as you mentioned get ur average speed up.anyone else do this route fancy joining me?