Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Something's gotta give.....'

• 23-06-2013 12:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭

Winter 2012/Spring 2013 has gone hard on the vast majority of us, with increased spend on fodder and meal, and now extra fertiliser to make a second cut of silage. So what things are you cutting back on now to make up for the extra spend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Muckit wrote: »
    Winter 2012/Spring 2013 has gone hard on the vast majority of us, with increased spend on fodder and meal, and now extra fertiliser to make a second cut of silage. So what things are you cutting back on now to make up for the extra spend?

Jaysus Muckit, I dunno, Tesco's Market Value is all I can afford. Any chance of a whip around?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Muckit wrote: »

If there is anything that can be cut , the hard spring is not your main problem. Personally I am only taking 1 holiday this year!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

We were going to sell of most of the cows , and just carry a small few stock over the winter . But if we can make a decent pit of silage in the next week and keep enought ground out for a good second cut ld say we will keep them and buy in a few extra bulling heifers or in calf cows .

I think there will be a few pound for springers or cow and calf in the spring so hopefully they will pay for extra grub and fert .
    I cant think of much to cut back on at the moment as I don't spend too much on them as it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭RaggyDays

Its hard to cut numbers this year theres no market for cull or lightweight stock and this is what needs to be got rid of. So for me I`m now carrying a third more stock this year than last and will now make exactly twice as much silage.
    Looks like I`ll be finishing stores and cull cows myself rather than give them away in the mart. The only plus I see is that theres going to be a scarcity of heavy finished cattle within the next 6 months
    (As for something gotta give..
    I reckon the farm is under fierce pressure with all the extra stock and increased amount of fertilizer used. Just as long as the soil doesn`t get completly f$%^ked up)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

'Work harder to stay standing still':confused:

Extra costs like VHI, accountants, water bills/leaks, casual labour and building maintenance have the potential to save a few grand.:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I guess I'm lucky that I'm so flatout usually that I defo don't have time to spend money anyways ha, drawings have most certainly been at a minimum, things like rearing extra heifers, buying in replacements etc all suck cashflow very quickly. I couldn't imagine having to try support myown family off what the farm is generating at the second, certainly not while my parents are still part dependent on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Changing accountant saving €1000 for the same service. Convert petrol car to LPG saving €1500/year. Sell most of the livestock before winter if the price is right. Try to get the wife to stop smoking save €4k/year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

realistically would you do without vhi?

whelan1 wrote: »
    realistically would you do without vhi?

For me without it, I'll just pray to fook I don't get sick..., didn't bother renewing mine when the folks turfed me outa the nest a good few yrs back . Worst case I'd be flogging on some cows or land if it came to it ha, but I'll take my chances while I'm young and healthy! But certainly a hell of a lot of families etc who need it more than me just don't have the money to renew. Scary that it comes to that.

Do you personal accident cover if say you broke your arm and can't milk. Would you have enough cover to bring someone in?

Some people under pressure will reduce insurance cover, the first of many backward steps. With such financial pressures people will be very quick to claim and our courts are handing our farcical judgements.
    Public liability, workmanship compensation, house, vehicle full comp inc power machines and a policy for yourself if injured are costly but essential IMO

delaval wrote: »
    Do you personal accident cover if say you broke your arm and can't milk. Would you have enough cover to bring someone in?

Yep got fbd cover for that, we needed it 2yrs ago after an accident on the farm and it was certainly very helpful then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

the berth in Puerto Banús is gone:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Couldn't get anything bigger than the tender in there without dredging anyway :)

Still, needs must.

I think we're going to have to get rid of the bloody dishwasher.

Have to get one of those electric ones instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Dunedin

i am going to drop the mistress - hotel stays becoming expensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

On a serious note, its the jobs we had earmarked for doing that will have to wait til next year. The most obvious one is a 23 acre block that needs reseeding. Unfortunately buying extra fodder killed the funds for it. Such is life.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Yep got fbd cover for that, we needed it 2yrs ago after an accident on the farm and it was certainly very helpful then.
    yes have used the fbd cover in the past, just be wary when you are getting quotes for farm insurance, the last 3 things i rang up about where not covered, so what are we paying for??????

On a serious note, its the jobs we had earmarked for doing that will have to wait til next year. The most obvious one is a 23 acre block that needs reseeding. Unfortunately buying extra fodder killed the funds for it. Such is life.
    its a matter of survival around here this year ,most of my great plans at the begining of the year have been shelved:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

there will be some great bargains in stradbally this September :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

The three bay lean-to extension has been reduced to a 1 bay, the kilometre of roadway has also been reduced to 150 metres, the purchase of a new 7 foot disc mower has been put on ice for a year... That should cover the extra costs :-)
    Also I'll be fattening & finishing all stores by the end of November rather than wintering them and finishing next June...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭PMU

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Changing accountant saving €1000 for the same service. Convert petrol car to LPG saving €1500/year. Sell most of the livestock before winter if the price is right. Try to get the wife to stop smoking save €4k/year.
    who does these conversions,Sam?

yes have used the fbd cover in the past, just be wary when you are getting quotes for farm insurance, the last 3 things i rang up about where not covered, so what are we paying for??????
    It's not up to an insurane company to insure you rather it's up to you to have the correct level of cover. This is one job that deseres time and attention. It's an area where a slip up could cost you your business

Have you now listed those 3 items on your insurance?

It's not up to an insurane company to insure you rather it's up to you to have the correct level of cover. This is one job that deseres time and attention. It's an area where a slip up could cost you your business

Have you now listed those 3 items on your insurance?
    did 1 at last renewal and will put other 2 on at next renewal, just because the price is cheaper than the rival doesnt mean everything has the same cover. A few years ago we had antibiotics in the milk, we where with hibernian at the time and they covered our tank of milk as well as the lorry, fbd wouldnt have done this

Going off topic here now, but is there a list anywhere of what is covered as standard, and what extras do any of yous have? We have some sort of joint farm/house insurance with FBD, but other than that I don't have a clue what it covers! A big cheque gets wrote out every year for them, and that's about as much as I know about it :o

did 1 at last renewal and will put other 2 on at next renewal, just because the price is cheaper than the rival doesnt mean everything has the same cover. A few years ago we had antibiotics in the milk, we where with hibernian at the time and they covered our tank of milk as well as the lorry, fbd wouldnt have done this
    So to recap the 3 items were not covered therefore they were right not to pay. You have since mentioned 1 and if either of the others reoccur you still have no cover. You can get items covered between renewal dates.

Our cover will not protect our milk in the lorry but all other milk as one cannot make a claim against one's self. You were lucky to get paid I must check this in the am.

So to recap the 3 items were not covered therefore they were right not to pay. You have since mentioned 1 and if either of the others reoccur you still have no cover. You can get items covered between renewal dates.

Our cover will not protect our milk in the lorry but all other milk as one cannot make a claim against one's self. You were lucky to get paid I must check this in the am.
    wash down pump was not specifically mentioned under parlour contents, windscreen of digger not covered or windscreen on my dads jeep.... might be an idea for others to specifically mention these things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

PMU wrote: »
    who does these conversions,Sam?

There's 2 places in Cork and nearly one in every county. The most of them have Polish mechanics who have plenty experience converting cars to LPG.
    http://www.cargassystems.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

im gona suspend reseeding this year, no buildings. just the necessary repairs. Feedbills have caught up with me and also superlevy fears, so cutting down on trips to the carribean from now on:D:D

Its crazy to see people think reseeding is considered a expenditure that can be put off. Cutting off your nose to spite your face comes to mind. Im not a fan of grass but poor grassland cost serious money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

In fairness you are right bob, but with feed bills I won't have the cash flow to do it until next year. The block that wanted doing was done 9 years ago so is probably not too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i agree bob, but if its still producing good grass dont think its necessary. my auld lad has a field that hasnt been receeded in over 25 yrs and its the best field in the place despite everywhere else reseeded. If your grazing tight and in a rotation, right fertilliser sometimes its not required as often

agree lads but if somewhere isnt producing, dont wait to reseed, find it somewhere. Some of my new leys are nothing to shout about if anything performing poorer than older stuff.