Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dangerous driving video involving cyclist

• 22-06-2013 4:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭

Hi lads.
    Just came across this video a friend of a friend on fb who posted this up and thought it was hilarious.
    If anyone knows the poor cyclist please get in touch with me
    In two minds of going to the guards with this..

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=4765190338035

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Surely theres a way to link back to the original person who added the video...you can also link the actual facebook video...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

I know who it is. Not posting names yet. I don't know who the cyclist is.
    I think the video was just an upload from a fb phone so don't know how to link unless anyone can tell me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭531

Go to the guards, that's my vote. More reasons to than not to, do the right thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

My god, someone posts that to FB, its public, their name, their job visible.

<snip>

I would report it to the Guards. That could have been a nasty accident. A fool like that shouldnt be on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

blahblah06 wrote: »
    I know who it is. Not posting names yet. I don't know who the cyclist is.
    I think the video was just an upload from a fb phone so don't know how to link unless anyone can tell me

Not posting names? It's as clear as day who it is and where he works. I would be inclined to forward it to the Gardai, but also to forward it to his employers so they can see the calibre of employee they pay. This guy is a knob!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Has anyone saved the video before it is taken down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Definitely forward it to the Police.

Think a private message that he has been reported to the police is in order.

EDIT:

Upon further inspection, the guy on the bike is the 'Dean' guy that is also tagged in the video. It's still dangerous driving of course, but they seem to know each other

Zyzz wrote: »
    Definitely forward it to the Police.

Think a private message that he has been reported to the police is in order.

EDIT:

Upon further inspection, the guy on the bike is the 'Dean' guy that is also tagged in the video. It's still dangerous driving of course, but they seem to know each other

That will just prompt him to take it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭NTC

I think a public message that it has been reported to the gardai.

No need to do that to anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭jjpep

What an a$$hole!!

That will just prompt him to take it down.

See my edited post.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Do not post any personal details here even if they are clear from the FB page - let the Guards deal with it

Beasty

See my edited post.

So what if they know each other? Its still dangerous driving. They are not the only road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,873 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

on my phone so cant see it to well but apart from being ar5ehokes it hardly constitutes dangerous driving. The guy on the bike certainly panicked but he should have just held his ground.

Hardly something the guards are going ti be worried about.

So what if they know each other? Its still dangerous driving. They are not the only road users.

Ok bro calm down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

He knows him, so? Horseplay with a car can end just the same as if it were plain old dangerous driving, someone who can't see that shouldn't be driving. There's playstation for that kind of juvenile carry on.

Ok bro sis calm down

FYP ;)

Sorry, didnt mean to sound sharp. Just meant that the fool driving is still a fool regardless of whether he knows the cyclist or not. Dont think the cyclist realises its someone he knows during the incident.

I really don't think it's that dean chap on the bike sure slow the video downs and compare it.
    If it was the Sean guy then the original chap would have said so in the pair for the video.
    Sean and dean are more then likely the ones in the car Hense the tag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

have the Garda got a facebook/social medja division?

To be honest I dont see they can do anything about it, maybe a bit of a talking to for the driver, thats about it.

Ye even if they are mates imagine running into someone like that on the road.
    Thank god I bought a contour roam 2 earlier this week as I was starting to get nervous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I really don't think it's that dean chap on the bike sure slow the video downs and compare it.
    If it was the Sean guy then the original chap would have said so in the pair for the video.
    Sean and dean are more then likely the ones in the car Hense the tag

The chap on the bike in the video and this 'Dean' guy on facebook look the same. I reckon it's a 'prank' rather than a random cyclist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

Don't think there is much the guards could do unless the cyclist makes a complaint which if its a prank he probably wont. The video shows dangerous driving but it doesn't make clear who is actually driving the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Ye even if they are mates imagine running into someone like that on the road.
    Thank god I bought a contour roam 2 earlier this week as I was starting to get nervous

How is a video camera going to protect against dangerous driving?

Lumen wrote: »
    How is a video camera going to protect against dangerous driving?

Not necessarily there and then..but if its submitted to the guards and action is taken to the dangerous driver (ie penalty points/fine/caution), they may rethink their actions and become a safer driver..

o1s1n wrote: »
    The chap on the bike in the video and this 'Dean' guy on facebook look the same. I reckon it's a 'prank' rather than a random cyclist.

It's not a prank spoke to the guy they work together apparently and noticed him coming home from work.
    Anyway drivers like that prank or not shouldn't be on the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

The video has been taken down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Yeah I saw somwthing about this on broadsheet, but when I clicked the link the article was down from there as well...

If anyone saved the video could you PM it to me, I'm really curious now! :)