Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

letters...

• 22-06-2013 4:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,670 ✭✭✭✭

I was just thinking, it's been about 10 years since I last got a letter. Not a bill or junk mail, but an actual hand-written letter from someone I knew. Even before facebook email had taken over from the written word.
    And it's probably been just as long since I wrote one. I think it was a girlfriend who'd moved to limerick. We'd call each other a few times a week, but we would write every week too. I'd take a few hours in an evening and think about what I'd want to say and slowly and carefully put it on paper. I'd have bought a writing pad based on the feel of the paper and had a pen that flowed smoothly with no blotches. And I'd put a lot of care and attention into every page.

Now i can hardly remember the last time I wrote or received a letter.

So how about you guys, when was the last time you wrote a letter to someone? Or even received one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

It was in 2009. And I was really chuffed to get it! Handwritten and all!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭WinterSong

I last sent a letter at the end of April, and I'm sending another on Monday.

Last received one last week.

Very few things as simple can make me as happy as sending/receiving a letter or parcel :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

I love letters. I miss writing and receiving letters. The last one I wrote was to a cousin who lives in Switzerland. That was about 6 years ago. I can't remember the last time I received one :(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

I havent written a letter in a while but i do send them quite often, usually made from scraps of old newspapers and magazines. Or blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭cfc.forever

In this modern era, I have actually never written a letter to someone, the only time I've written a letter is in school but it wasn't directly addressed to someone. Technology has taken over and I think it won't be long for letters to become a thing of the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Grayson wrote: »
    I was just thinking, it's been about 10 years since I last got a letter. Not a bill or junk mail, but an actual hand-written letter from someone I knew. Even before facebook email had taken over from the written word.
    And it's probably been just as long since I wrote one. I think it was a girlfriend who'd moved to limerick. We'd call each other a few times a week, but we would write every week too. I'd take a few hours in an evening and think about what I'd want to say and slowly and carefully put it on paper. I'd have bought a writing pad based on the feel of the paper and had a pen that flowed smoothly with no blotches. And I'd put a lot of care and attention into every page.

Now i can hardly remember the last time I wrote or received a letter.

So how about you guys, when was the last time you wrote a letter to someone? Or even received one?

Things change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Have a old type writer got at a car boot sale, it works great. I use it from time to time.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I've only really written letters to offices or something who specifically asked me to.

And when I was a kid my mam and dad used to make me write one letter every month to my mam(she worked elsewhere at the time). But that was just to teach me how to write and you know parents, she wanted to see things I wrote/drew, we'd still call everyday.

Never actually sat down and went..it's been a long time since I saw my friend x, I must write a letter to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

My handwriting has gone to ****e this last few years.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

It because no one can stick waiting in a line for 30 mins to get a stamp in the post office as the post minister is getting every old womens life story. I would like if it was like France or Germany that you buy stamps from a machine 24/7.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

hfallada wrote: »
    It because no one can stick waiting in a line for 30 mins to get a stamp in the post office as the post minister is getting every old womens life story. I would like if it was like France or Germany that you buy stamps from a machine 24/7.

We buy stamps from a machine :confused: And then stick it in the letterbox right beside it

Well not 24/7 because it's in a shopping centre but I don't think anybody has ever needed a stamp at 2am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,670 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

You can at the bigger post offices and many shops sell books of stamps.

kneemos wrote: »
    Things change.

I know. I can't remember using a payphone for anything more than sheltering from the rain. And I don't even know if eircom phone cards exist any more.
    But...Like WinterSong said, there's something special about sending/receiving a letter. It is different. And not even in the way a book differs from a kindle. It's different in the way someone went to the effort of cooking for you as opposed to calling a pizza delivery place :)
    I'm not mourning the loss of a payphone, but i do miss letters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

People don't write letters to their friends Sean agus Maire as gaelige anymore?.

Well i never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Last time I wrote a letter was 15 years ago.

It was on a typewriter..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

I got given a hand written letter, does that count?

You can at the bigger post offices and many shops sell books of stamps.

I know. I can't remember using a payphone for anything more than sheltering from the rain. And I don't even know if eircom phone cards exist any more.
    But...Like WinterSong said, there's something special about sending/receiving a letter. It is different. And not even in the way a book differs from a kindle. It's different in the way someone went to the effort of cooking for you as opposed to calling a pizza delivery place :)
    I'm not mourning the loss of a payphone, but i do miss letters.

Most people would prefer a text or e-mail these days I'd imagine

miralize wrote: »
    I got given a hand written letter, does that count?

Since it's my thread I'm going to say yes :) I think my point is someone going to that effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I use letters all the time. A-Z

Since it's my thread I'm going to say yes :) I think my point is someone going to that effort.

Nearly as much effort in an e-mail as a letter.I'd be more concerned with what's written than how it's written.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Sent one to UPC in April
    Used stationary writing paper, not the stuff used for printers, and a fountain pen with indigo ink.
    The letter itself actually looked good, just from an aesthetic point of view, which was good as the content berated the feck out of their customer service.
    After that I have promised myself to hand write more letters.

Boombastic wrote: »
    I use letters all the time. A-Z

I'm thinking of 4 of them right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

the last handwritten letter i received was late last year from a guy i hung around with as a teen,who found himself who found himself locked up in a belgian prison,I've never sent one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

It because no one can stick waiting in a line for 30 mins to get a stamp in the post office as the post minister is getting every old womens life story.

She needs a Junior Minister to share the portfolio with. More hands less work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

I used to write
    I used to write letters
    I used to sign my name
    I used to sleep at night
    Before the flashing lights settled deep in my brain
    But by the time we met...
    But by the time we met
    The times had already changed
    So I never wrote a letter
    I never took my true heart
    I never wrote it down
    So when the lights cut out
    I was left standing in the wilderness downtown

Now our lives are changing fast
    Hope that something pure can last

It seems strange
    How we used to wait for letters to arrive
    But what's stranger still
    Is how something so small can keep you alive
    We used to wait
    We used to waste hours just walkin around
    We used to wait
    All those wasted lives in the wilderness downtown

Ooooo we used to wait
    Sometimes it never came
    Ooooo we used to wait
    Sometimes it never came
    Ooooo we used to wait
    Still moving through the pain

I'm gonna write a letter to my true love
    I'm gonna sign my name
    Like a patient on a table
    I Wanna walk again
    Gonna move through the pain

We used to wait for it
    Now we're screaming
    Sing the chorus again
    I used to wait for it
    Hear my voice screaming
    Sing the chorus again

Wait for it!
    Wait for it!!
    Wait for it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 jackstapleton

I haven't written a letter since the late 1990s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I send them often enough. Even though it's not practically any different to an email it feels more personal. My handwriting is and always has been absolutely terrible though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Cassi 202

So how about you guys, when was the last time you wrote a letter to someone? Or even received one?[/QUOTE]

Just this week, I've a pal in the US we snail mail ALL the time!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

I don't think I've ever written an actual real letter. I've written some for school assignments in Irish and English classes but I don't recall ever posting an actual hand written letter to anybody. I'm 25 too so it's not even like I'm that young. I've had access to email and social networks since my early to mid teens so I would never have had the need to write one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Can't remember the last time I sent or received a hand written letter (if ever) - but this thread reminded me of this: http://www.ted.com/talks/hannah_brencher_love_letters_to_strangers.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Actually got one yesterday...from a girl! *swooon* she's on the other side of the atlantic and sent me a type of care package full of things I can't get here. Anyway..she's a ride, and I shall reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

After the next great war we'll all be back writing letters.

And they'll be delivered by Kevin Costner via horseback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I received a letter this past week, from a beautiful girl that I have become very taken with in Galway. She sent me a copy of The Catcher In The Rye. I had written to her a while back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Yes but not that often.

I've noticed too, my writing is completely different on paper than it is on screen. It's like two different people writing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Probably a more private and definitely a more intimate way of communicating these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

This is one of the nicest threads I've seen for a while. I pick a name, could be a friend or relative, and write them a letter, for no reason, just to surprise them. Most times they are chuffed to get a real actual hand written letter, but tend to reply by email!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Wrote one a few weeks back to my parents and included some photos of their grand daughter. They aren't computer literate and as I live abroad its the only way. I feel sorry for them, especially when I see people of their generation on tablets and laptops giving it socks. Back in Ireland now for a month or so. Trying to educate them, but its like talking to a wall. I reckon I'll be doing more letter writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I hope handwriting doesn't die out in the future. The personal touch as they say, some people have beautiful skills. I myself write in illegible scrawl. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

.. sometimes letters are the only way to a girls heart.

and as a receipt of purchase so she can prove in the aftermath out how she owned you; and pretty much still does :( there is no reneging own what is written.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

I was born in 1992 and have never sent a written letter. Although I think in 15 years we'll look upon facebook messaging with the same fondness that you do written letters. I wish we still sent written letters though, nothing satisfies me more than writing with a nice fountain pen!